We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best place in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kielo

Kielo
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Joensuu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Probably the best place in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had our doubts on which wine to choose. The waiter offered to open one of our options and let us try it. We did so and did not like it and chose another one that were more to our taste. Super service.

We had the mixed starters which was impressive, and two different main dishes. Mine. some limousine cut, were slightly dry but the deer steak my friend had was excellent! Nothing less.

I have a feeling this is the best place in Joensuu and definitely a very good way to try out Karelian food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPharvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly servicemin aerage ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Surprise menu was a well composed package, the five course menu culminating in the fourth and the excellent dessert. With wines we trusted the recommendatioms, which were ok but you might want to do your own choices. Service was very friendly. If you are for well balanced combinations of mostly local ingredients, Kielo is worth a visit .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
“it's worth trying this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

excellent service, many new taste experiences, beautiful portions, menu consists mainly of local ingredients.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ida e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Local gourmet food specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very skillful kitchen. They look for local producers and aim at refining their products into contemporary dishes with grace.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jukka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants in the world. Perfect food, made with local ingredienst, and apparently staff & owners are very passionate about their restaurant. The suprise-Menu doesn't fail, we really, really recommend to try it! Fish, meat, veggies, everything is good. And one could easily rely on the recommended wines, they do know what they recommend. Do NOT miss this if you are in Joensuu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarrrtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kielo also viewed

Joensuu, North Karelia
Joensuu, North Karelia
 
Joensuu, North Karelia
 

Been to Kielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing