We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you can!”
Review of Koka

Koka
Ranked #13 of 1,279 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swedish, Scandinavian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go if you can!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We dine in many good restaurants, but our dinner at Kock och Vin was one of the most interesting by quite a margin. The name is a pun on coq au vin and there was no sign of anything that might be Bjorn's Bar when we went in June 2013, so I hope this is the right place. Each course was a surprise in its own way, but avoided gimmicks. The restaurant is smart and was full (you have to book) but not pretentious. An extraordinary experience on the night we went. Good for romance, even if you're married. Faults? Why don't they re-locate to London?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 124Brian124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    68
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really classy gastropub”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Finedining bar, really good wines in a gastropub like atmosphere. Top of the line food. This is the "backpocket" to the Michelinn star Kock & Vin restaurant on the floor above. It is to be noted that Tripadvisor has this restaurant paired whit the bigger "brother" which is something completely different but whith the same staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bjorns Bar - really tasty”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bjorns Bar is really friendly, lovely food. All cheese and cold meat starter plates for sharing; then two or three (carnivore / vegetarian) mains to choose from. Really tasty, as befits the restaurant upstairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So many special extras”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I had a truly memorable dinner at Kock & Vin. There were so many delicious surprises and extra touches including special amuse bouche before beginning our dinner. Dinner is fixed by the chef so diners choose the number of courses with or without wine. The rest is a delightful surprise. In addition the kitchen had to deal with my serious gluten allergy which they did brilliantly including serving me gluten free bread.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very creative restaurant. Nice personal and family welcome place.
But I wouldn't visit this place often. I was there 2 times and it's enough for me. Because menu of this restaurant is limited.
The restaurant is not so big but very charming. It's not a french cuisine actually.
They are serving food on stones and wood, which looks not usual and funny. Downstairs they have a noisy pab bar, however you can not hear it in restaurant!
I was very impressed first time, second time it was just normal warm feeling.
The price was also good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YaTalullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koka also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Koka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing