We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gabriel Fisk- & Skaldjursbar

Gabriel Fisk- & Skaldjursbar
Ranked #48 of 1,227 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Was very disappointed to this tourist famous restaurant at Feskekorkan. We know this restaurant from the travel guide and online with all the good reviews and comments.

My family and I arrived around 12;00p.m that day and waited for a table for 4 people, the waitress said they were full but we shall be okay after 20 mins. I stayed and wait because we did not expect it won't be long because there were a group of people already paying and leave. The group of people left after 10 mins, however the waitress didn't not clean up the tables for us and let us waited there for half an hour. Somehow, there was another pair who was behind us asked for a table, and they cleaned up the table right away for them. In total we waited for 45mins for nothing.

Baked fish- nice fine smash potato with cream sauce. Great taste only a little salty after taste.

Fresh French oyster - fresh & salty. too bad there is only one selection.

M salmon - nothing special and never understand why this dish will be the last need us to wait for ah hour an 15 min for a raw salmon and a baked potato

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    66
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a fantastic lunch! The restaurant is inside Feskekorkan market “The church of fish” and it serves fish of higher level. It was really difficult to choose among the various proposals of the menu, but in the end I went for the lobster soup and for the half crab. The lobster soup was the best I ever had and the crab was gorgeous. What else can I say? Find the time to come here for lunch, especially if you are hungry because the food is great and the portions are really generous! Beware that the restaurant is open only when the fish market is, so it is closed for dinner and on Sundays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food was good but we were kind of snookered into an absurdly expensive meal. Snookered by the owner and chef himself! We went in with a positive attitude and he was very nice to us and then stuck us with a bill that was absurd. And he kept giving us things we didn't ask for then then charged us a huge number. We felt mislead and taken advantage of by a greedy owner. The worst part is that it took some of the shine off of an otherwise very positive visit to Gothenburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
665 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A must in Gothenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everytime I visit Gothenburg, I visit Gabriel. Situated in the fish market called "Fish church" (you will understand why when looking outside), this restaurant always serves fresh fish and shellfish. If you do not know what to take, please try the catch of the day (Dagens fångst) or start with some shrimps at least. Wine by the glass is served here. Quite crowded, but the friendly staff usually find solutions to that problem. Spectacular view of the fishmongers...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gothenburg's freshest fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Situated within Gothenburg's fish market, Feskekörka, this small restaurant is open only when the market is open - daytime from Tuesday to Saturday. It can be a bit cramped with limited space and lots of people standing around the bar/kitchen for champagne and oysters wile waiting to sit and tackle mains.

Obviously you won't be served anything other than the freshest of fish and seafood. Delicious lobsters, crabs, shrimps, salmon and oysters are all on offer. In fact when it comes to oysters, chef Johan Malm is a multiple oyster opening world champion, so shouldn't take too long for them to be served.

When we went my partner and I had the 'marinated salmon with creamed potatoes', and, 'fried herring with mashed potatoes and lingonberry'. Both fish were fresh and cooked to perfection, accompaniments were also lovely. Yet somehow it was no more than one would expect from a restaurant situated within the fish market and with slightly higher than average price tags.

Overall I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Gothenburg, but certainly not a place for a romantic meal or a night out (only open daytime).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriel Fisk- & Skaldjursbar also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Gabriel Fisk- & Skaldjursbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing