We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu is a bargain”
Review of Fond Restaurang - CLOSED

Fond Restaurang
Price range: $31 - $124
Cuisines: Seafood, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasting menu is a bargain”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Do the Tasting menu (Avsmakningsmenuen) and you wont regret it. Great service and even better food.

Only downside was the bit too warm wines:)

More at http://Gastromand.dk

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diedamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When you pay top dollar at a restaurant, you expect something special ... or at least to be satisfied. Fond used to deliver on this but I have heard there was a change in ownership; it's certainly not what it used to be. Expensive salty food these days.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stefan”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a Nice atmosphere place- Stefan Karlsson has invented some good dishes- like the pankofried crayfish/lobster
Our main was cod- very delicious- just a bit salty- the wine list is nice- a bit pricy- but I would love to
Come back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The little extra.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A the way a fantastic evening.

Took my family out for dinner as a christmas gift.
From the moment you come in through the door the service is extra and all in the staff is very nice.

The taste menu would probably be the best choice for the evening made up by 7 courses, but i´m no fish lover an almost half the courses was fish.

For starters we took the classic crayfish, as i'm gluten intolerant zoo they grilled mine and the other ones was fried, very nice and the sauce was fantastic.

For the main course i took the double beef and that was also perfectly cooked and with loots of taste.


This is the place to visit if you want the extra, you will not get disappointed or ruined.

Guaranteed to go back in the future

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engineer_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
göteborg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“jan”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made a reservation for Easter Saturday since we were excited to try this Michelin rated restaurant that we had walked by on previous trips to Sweden. We are real foodies and love seafood

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janG_teborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fond Restaurang also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing