We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic place”
Review of Fond Restaurang - CLOSED

Fond Restaurang
Price range: $31 - $124
Cuisines: Seafood, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Romantic place”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I spend a wonderful fish meal and a delicious appetizers of potatoes and soaps.
also there were a lot of wine types as you like.
really it was very very romantic place to go specially with your partner ;)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful meal!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I loved this restaurant! Delicious and interesting food in a great location. The vegetarian offerings were very good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank temh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Everything was lovely at Fond”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The tasting menu was superb. The presentation of each dish was exquisite without being overly fussy. Service was warm and friendly. We celebrated a special occasion the night we were there. I have 1 tip for people new to the city looking for this restaurant at night: Walk right up the stairs towards the city's art museum (past the Poseidon statue) at the end of Avenyn. The restaurant is located at the left hand side of the museum much like it is 'part' of the museum. DO NOT TRY TO WALK towards the adjacent side street to look for the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girllovespink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plain food - plenty of wine”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not much to say about the food really. Plain food at fair prices. The winelist however was extremely long and with my limited knowledge also far too long to make a decision. On the positive side was that we were allowed to taste the wines that we ordered (by the glass) not only to test the quality but also to see if they suited our tastebuds.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cirlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Sweden”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is an outstanding restaurant. Stefan Karlsson - owner, chef - is an imaginative creator of sublime Swedish cuisine using fresh local products. Our meal was fabulous, definitely - if only slightly - better that our meal at Mat's Bar (Michelin 1 star) in Stockholm.

The room is an interesting mix of rustic and classic Scandinavian contemporary. Karlsson is clearly in charge and makes certain that his clients needs are met. He was happy to provide me the recipe for his version of native dark molasses bread, similar to than made by my grandmother.

It is an expensive meal, but not the highest amount we've ever paid. If you're looking for a first class dining experience in Gothenburg, Fond is not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fond Restaurang also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing