We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Restaurang Sjomagasinet
Ranked #3 of 1,240 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $292
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is one of the places you should not miss, when visiting Gothenburg. Their expertze is seafood, as the name implies: The Sea Bar.

Friendly, in a cozy part of town (the street in front is for pedestrians, only).

What you choose is up to you, but it will be an experience, no doubt about that!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tord55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    144
    36
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sverige
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top food, top service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Sjömagasinet last week for business dinner.
The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere with interior of an old ship and a cosy fire place.
Situated in the docks just by the pier the location is great.
The food was excellent, especially the starter we had which was the Seafood platter.
It was good enough for two persons and tasted fabulous.
The owner Ulf recommended us really good wines and the service was great.
I will definately come back on my next trip to Gothenburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of the line...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A top of the line seafood restaurant, nicely located in the harbour off Gothenburg.
Mr. Wagner with staff has done a great job....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A star to Ulf Wagner and his team!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very nice experience on Good Friday at Sjömagasinet. I haven't been to the place since Mr. Wagner took over after Mr. Mannerström, but I must say he has done very well with the place! I am glad the restaurant got the Michelin star back, even if I must say that it was not fully up to standard.
Ambiance: The restaurant is situated in an old warehouse directly in the harbour. This is not a bad thing rather the opposite. Inside the restaurant is quite rustique and cosy. You will immediately feel at home. A little minus for the smell in the entrance...
Food: We all had Mr. Wagner's tasting menu, which was a great choice. It started of with some crisps consisting of beetroot and parsnip with a truffle dip. After that an excellent amuse-bouche. Of the four courses the fried cod needs a highlight! It was perfectly fried and the truffle jus was soo good that we had it all... The cod was served on a terrine of beef marrow! Just great!
Wine: The sommelier gave us very good recommendations for a wine which nicely went along with all of the menu (not an easy thing).
Staff: Not at one star level, except for the sommelier Mr. Montes, who did a great job with the wine and also was both fun and service-minded. Thanks!
Coming back? Yes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So much more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We went there yesterday- the sewage smell when entering the restaurant was not good- my wife has lobstersoup- very good- i had lobstersallad-mediocre
We both had cod- it was good- but no stars- the service started very well- in the end it dissapaired- when leaving the restaurant we had to find our own clothes and none said goodbye

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurang Sjomagasinet also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Restaurang Sjomagasinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing