We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magnus & Magnus

Magnus & Magnus
Reserve with
Magnus & Magnus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,239 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $47
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Magnus & Magnus or M2 is a cosy restaurant in the hart of Gothenburg with a capacity of 44 seats. We have been there for 15 years and established ourselves on Magasinsgatan. The kitchen serves a mix of Asian, French & Scandinavian dishes in a relaxed atmosphere both suitable for business & romantic dinnersOur speciality is the M2 "4" menu with pairing wine menuWe are open Monday-Saturday During the weekend we have 2 seatingsPlease make a reservation to avoid disappointmentKind regardsM2
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I live in GBG and still after many years i have not been to this cozy hide away restaurant.
I went with 2 friends and emidetly when you enter the place you feel a welcome atmosphere.
Except from us all others are couples and i can see why due to the romance atmosphere.
We had the 2 course for 395 and i had Zander which is a lake fish of very high quality.
I can´t remember the name of starter but it was really good.
Before starter we had some small soup and it was yammi.
So was there home made bread and cheese butter.
We took wine at the res chooice and they fitted perfectly.
My friends had the duck and found it very nice as well.
As desert we shared a cheese plate with 5 different kinds and bread.
I would expect another bread here but same.
The staff is another thing who makes you feel cared and everything feels very professional and it feels like you are in "their home".

920 kr for 2course and one shared desert and 3 glas wine is not cheep but you gets what you pay for indeed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    88
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went here for Valentines.

It was decorated accordingly with red heart shaped balloons! Maybe a bit too much, but after all if you're in a valentines mood it is cute !

They had a valentines special menu (meaning their choices from the regular menu) that can be ordered as "m2s 4" on ordinary nights at SEK495.

Starting with corn soup on the house - yummy!
- King crab and scallop - the crab dumpling was dull (my partner agrees) and I wouldn't order it again.
- Pork terrin and foie gras - the pork was absolutely delicious! The foie gras as well. I would order this every time!
- Our choice of main course meaning either beef and pork OR pike perch and oyster. We had one each and both were really good, especially I was amazed of the meat dish! The pork was the best kind of pork ever! I wish I could have it for Christmas every year!
- Coconut ice cream, blood orange and pine apple in Campari and pistachio. I must say the dessert was a real disappointment. It was really really good, but after those first courses I wished for a REAL dessert not "just ice cream".

Accompanying this 4-course-menu we had the wine menu at SEK495.

Well worth the money! Definitely.

The food is Michelin class but the service has some flaws. There was unnecessary waiting time a couple of times and they served red wine before they realized it was a white wine dish - we overheard the waiter did the same to yet another couple... but kudos for leaving the extra glass at no extra charge at our table!

They has this extra feature "Loftet" - for smooth and flexible guests! You actually get to climb the stairs to the loft for complete privacy. Fun but not for everyone.

They accept AMEX.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nisse2ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothen, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No surprises - our high expectations fulfilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been eating at Magnus & Magnus irregularly for some years now and we have come to know the restaurant as a place that never lets you down. Between the aperitif and the espresso we are guided through a solid menu of excellent dishes. The waiter was new but very professional - our compliments to a great choice of wine. The interior is as warm and inviting as you could wish for on a cold winter's day. Overall the kind of reliable quality that makes us come back ... and back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Minuscule in size yet intimate and romantic with attention to design and presentation, Magnus and Magnus pleases in every way. With an attention to detail that begins with a board of rye and white bread along with a crispy flatbread with a touch of cumin, the food is incredible. We ordered the three course menu and decided for the wine pairing to accompany the courses. The staff are role models for any restaurant that wants to be successful. M&M is worth the investment for a dinner to remember.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuque, IA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We love our food and went there for our anniversary. It was amazing, one of our best meal this year... Service and ambiance was great. Amuse bouche was a crayfish soup with parmesan crips, and dill tapioca. It was delicious. We were served the most interesting and delicious bread ever (cumin crips, brown bread and garlic sourdough). The meal was creative and exquisite. Really really good. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnus & Magnus also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Magnus & Magnus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing