We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
122
166
113
51
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
122
166
113
51
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port area nice hotel hotel is located breakfast area breakfast buffet is would stay here again pools wintertime archipelago suitcases sweden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 471 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Contrary to what its pictures suggest, this hotel is slap dash right in the middle of a harbor area. We booked Arken as a romantic getaway, where we could walk around in nature, visit the spa, and have a good time.

However, upon arrival you discover that the hotel is located in an industry area, has tiny rooms, and overall is of an unattractiveness that I've only seen in more industry areas in Asia.

Also, the service was not great. I've had to walk back to my room (which was very far from the reception) several times to check things online that the hotel offered, which turned out to be wrongly told by the reception personnel.

After one noisy night we decided to stay in the city.

The fact that there is Virtual Yoga also surprised us. No real yoga teacher, just a youtube playing on a big screen in a nice room in the spa.

A lot of facade, but not a nice hotel for couples.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Conference hotel and NOT the cosy boutique hotel they would like to be! The spa is nice, nothing fantastic, but nice and clean. Restaurant is fine, nothing special, but good service and decent food.

The hotel is a study in itself - I would call it a mix between a Motel and a Conference Center. In some places they have tried to make it cosy with soft furnitures "boutique style" but it doesn't make it a Boutique Hotel!

Bad stuff
-Average/bad service
-A little to cold (cold wind from the central heating system) in the common areas
-Expensive food and drinks
-To much noice from to many people from conferences - in common areas and lobby
-Rooms are VERY small (we booked a "Small" room though) - first room we got was without heating, second room was not cleaned properly and had dirty towels
-Location is in the middle of an industrial port area

Good stuff
-Spa was okay
-Breakfast was okay

Room tip: The "Small" rooms are VERY small if you are two persons
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelKuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

The hotel is set in an industrial areas (The main port) where it is nestled into the rock (not the tranquile setting you think when you look out of your pool at ships) The receptions could do with a bit of customer service training as they were so unhelpful it was like you dragged them from bed to do there job. Note to the wise because customer service wont tell you this. We booked an evening spa session (because the 2 pool spa was fully booked out the next day - Yes just because you are a guest in the hotel doens't mean you actully have any rights to using the facilities you pay through the nose for) when we did we told the reception we have just traveled for 4 hours to get her and were peckish, if the resturant was open for food. She told us yes but you have to hurray as they are

Room tip: Suites are big but the bathrooms are rubbish the shower curtain is straigh out of a camp site
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connollryanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

Was there for an evening and dinner.The check in was smooth and took around 5 mins.The spa itself was good but i'd say kinda overcrowded. But anyways all went well and in the evening we arrived at the restaurant for dinner. It was around 7. What to say, there was already a line for entering the restaurant.
Took us 20 mins to get a table. Another 20 mins for the waiter to arrive and take the order. Another 30 mins for the food and drinks to arrive and that after having waved to the waitress many times (atleast for the drinks to be brought). The food was average , but to be honest I didnt feel welcomed. The food doesn't taste good after hours of waiting. The dessert buffet is not a buffet , atleast I wont call it a buffet as it was very limited. I am not sure if i'll return and thats just based on the restaurant experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Nitin_3686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Had brunch in the Arken Spa restaurant. Whilst it was slightly on the expensive side it was still good value as you could eat as much as you wanted. The quality of the food was good and there was plenty of choice of both hot and cold food.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews