We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

You will not go wrong with this hotel, it is plonked right in the centre of Gothenburg leaving everything within walking distance in the City Centre.
Travelled in April therefore the pool was still closed, however, the cafe bar part of the hotel was vibrant and a nice area to sit and people watch!
The hotel itself had good facilities and I slept like a baby!!
All round great place, and recommended for a wide age group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, it means a lot to us working with Hotel Avalon, welcome back, the sun is shining and the pool is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    246
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
439
51
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

One of the coolest design-hotels I have ever stayed in. Some minor maintenance things to look at in the room (a crack in the mirror and a screw missing in the bathroom door lock) but nothing big enough to ruin the great overall feeling.
Super sweet and professional receptionists and masterful bartenders, combined with the great location, made this a very memorable stay. I'm already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you had a good experience at our hotel, we are proud of our employees and are particularly happy that you felt really good service. For maintenance, we work continuously with this and are sorry that you experienced some areas that were not quite ok. These have now been resolved, and we at the Hotel Avalon hope that you will soon come back and be our guest, welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotheburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

In the heart of Gothenburg this medium-sized deign hotel is situated. The hotel is equipped with excellent hotel bar & restuarant, Sky pool, friendly personnel and nice rooms Feng Shui-style.
We do recommend a visit at Avalon Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, and that you choose to recommend our hotel to other travelers here on TripAdvisor, we are very excited and hope that we will also have the opportunity to welcome you back to us at First Hotel Avalon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and the staff is wonderful. My problem with this hotel is that everything has been designed to be as non-functional and as impractical as possible. While one can argue about aesthetics (e.g., I found the picture of naked women in the hallways kitschy, but others might find them amusing), the hotel is just poorly designed. The rooms have poor lighting, there is no desk in the room, etc. Why put a small build-in night stand far away from the bed, but close to the bathroom so that it’s nearly impossible to exit the bathroom without banging your shins against it? I would not recommend this hotel if you are visiting on business. If you want someplace different and you are on vacation, it might work if you don’t like to stay at “cookie cutter” hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalonhotel, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us at First Hotel Avalon. Your views and thoughts are vital to us and will be presented to the management team at Avalon in order to improve our services.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again!

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

What can I possibly say, having been upgraded to the Penthouse Suite, with a private jacuzzi, swimming pool, etc.
Just amazing - totally unexpected and a real bonus looking out at the twinkling lights of Gothenburg.
Furthermore, the hotel is ideally placed for central shopping and business, and service was very friendly.
I can't wait to come back - even if I don't get the upgrade next time around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Great with positive surprises! Our penthouse suite is fantastic, we think, and are especially pleased that you share our view, it is important for us!
Welcome back to your friends at First Hotel Avalon

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at 3 other hotels within Gothenburg with a 4/5 Star Hotel rating, but the Hotel Avalon just beats them hands down.

Location, central to Gothenburg, not noisy, vibrant. Staff, helpful and polite.

Rooms, large in size, clean and calm design full of technical and functional design.

As well as the usual functions it also includes a video and audio port to plug your laptop in to the TV so you can watch recorded TV/Movies from your laptop.

Additionally there is a small laptop table, a pull-out writing desk, a glass cabinet, room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hair dryer, etc...

Internet connection is good, occasionally slow but no disconnects (unlike other hotels).

Would I stay again? (I already have, this is my second visit within the last month).

Room Tip: Have only been on level 5 and both rooms have been of an excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thordom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi, Glad you are happy with us at our First Hotel Avalon in Gothenburg!
Obtaining feedback from our guests is very important for us at the hotel as we always want to improve our services. You are always welcome back to us!

Happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times now, and I always come back. It is not only because it is centrally located and I always get excellent service. No, I stay here because Avalon have the best beds with incredibly delicious linens and pillows.

Breakfast is also just great and it's nice to sit and look out on the busy morning traffic. I can happily recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I normally stay at the upper floors, deluxe rooms with floor to ceiling windows. Fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, and that you appreciate our beds, although the overall experience is important for our hotel, it is of course a must that our guests sleep well with us.
Waking up refreshed and then take part of our breakfast buffet is a good start, welcome to more days at First Hotel Avalon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Nordic Choice Hotels, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing