We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Gothenburg”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Best in Gothenburg”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This small boutique hotel is crammed full of Scandinavian designer touches and charm. The rooms are of a reasonable size and fully equipped. The room we stayed had a balcony overlooking the Saluhallen, resplendent with a huge horse light/installation, great place to have breakfast or sip tea when the weather is nice. Service is quick and efficient. Location is very central with many shops and boutiques on your doorstep, but quiet due to the double glazing. Great food in Gothenburg, but really recommend you book Fond, which is about a 10 min walk away. Best meal we had in Gothenburg.

I would say this is probably the place to stay in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Better rooms are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzydez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we are working with the Hotel Avalon gets really happy when we hear that you as our guests thrive and simultaneously appreciate our focus on design, comfort and service.
Getting feedback from you also means that we are constantly working on the development of our product and our services. Welcome back to us at First Hotel Avalon next time you visit Gothenburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    269
    47
    20
    6
See reviews for
86
470
55
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is unnecessary marketing the superior room with the prospect of getting something extra as a balcony or a circular bed. When the room is in fact a standard room without these perks, with a view of a backstreet, you are bound to be a bit disappointed even if you didn´t really needed a balcony in January or knew what to do with the mini gym.
Nice quality furniture, splendid bathroom, soft bathrobe and a comfy bed lifts the experience. The light by the bed were chillingly icy, the tv screen too small for the room, the mini bar - as usually - ridiculously pricey and I missed a shelf by the tub. The brochures and pamphlets had a far too dominant position on the main wall and the old photography next to it seemed oddly out of place. The emphasis on it being a design hotel gets a bit ostentatiously at times, it would be more hard hitting if that would speak for itself (which it could)
Very nice breakfast in a pleasent, calm environment. Superb location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erication
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalonhotel, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Your feedback is very important to us. In this way we know how we can improve.

I am sorry to hear that the room didnt exceed your expectations. I am glad to hear that you liked our breakfast.

I hope that you are willing to give us a second chance and I will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for in in the city centre which makes for an easy stroll around the attractions of Gothenburg. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and wet room style bathroom well appointed with a selection of complimentary toiletries. The door to the room must have been 10cm thick, something more likely seen on a safe!

The buffet style breakfast provided for a wide selection of food including traditional fare.

Only minor gripe was we missed being able to use the rooftop hotel pool due to the morning opening hours starting after check out. Would recommend and stay again.

Note if you are driving parking is an extra charge and available on a limited pre-booked basis

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthere80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at First Hotel Avalon.
You are more than welcome back,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The First Hotel Avalon was a great experience all round!
The city centre location is absolutely spot-on – a short walk to any of the downtown action and the waterfront.
Reception and staff were very friendly, there is a bar on the ground floor which is chilled and in which you feel really comfortable – even when alone. The hotel restaurant I didn’t try but I’m sure it’s excellent, and the breakfast was packed with good health food and a gazillion choices! .
My room – 82 on the fourth floor – overlooked the town square and had panoramic windows all across the front which were great and you didn’t feel like you were in a goldfish bowl. The contemporary design was bang-on for my tastes and I felt immediately comfortable.
The bed was super-comfortable and the high thread count sheets and soft plump pillow selections perfectly sleep inducing!
The bathroom featured fluffy towels, quality toiletries and a great design / layout. For some reason .. there were two toilets which I thought was possibly a bit OTT … and also a shower – it’s always good to have the choice!
I have to say that I had to do a little furniture re-arranging to make the room work and set my office up – there is a pull out section to the right hand side of the room wall cupboards that makes up the desk – a great space-saving idea that maintains the sanctity of the environment for those not on a business trip!
The WIFI was fast and efficient with plenty of bandwidth, and you could get as many devices connected it as you wanted!
I will definitely stay there again and would recommend it any time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback , that is very important for us who work with First Hotel Avalon. I'm glad you slept well and that you liked our selection of our breakfast buffet, we greet you a warm welcome back to us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Avalon when we celebrated our anniversary and couldn't be happier with my fiances choice. Beautiful hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had and it was lovely sitting in the morning sun whilst eating it. Can warmly recommend this hotel and looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EliAnn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear EliAnn86,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very appreciated for us to receive and it allows us to develop and refine our hotel even more. Wonderful that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us at First Hotel Avalon, you are more than welcome back to us!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was so happy with my stay at Hotel Avalon, I decided to sign up for TripAdvisor to review it! As I wanted everything to be perfect for my boyfriend's birthday weekend in Gothenburg, I decided to book the top hotel on TripAdvisor, and upgrade to a superior deluxe room. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, with famous designer pieces such as Arne Jacobsen's Swan chair. Our room had a bath tub in the middle of the room, a French balcony overlooking Kungplatsen and the best bed I've ever slept in. The location couldn't be any better, you are right next to all the shops, bars and restaurants! The hotel breakfast is very nice, not your usual fry-up but a very tasty buffet of Scandinavian specialties including a selection of herring, rye-bread and cheeses, exotic fruits and berries, biscuits, cakes, cereals, cold meats, yoghurts and many healthy options too. The atmosphere at the outside seating area of the bar is fantastic on a summer's eve. Every detail is carefully planned, and although far from cheap, its excellent value for money and a treat most people can afford. We both had a great time and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheezedilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Cheezedilla,

Thanks for your respond on our hotel - First Hotel Avalon in Gothenburg, it was a pleasure for us to have you and your boyfriend as our guests, you are more than welcome back! Take care!

Your sincerely

First Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Incredibly stylish and great hotel. Staff was extremely polite and service-minded. Everything was incredibly smooth and it was a true pleasure to stay there. Rooms were lovely, modern and inviting. Restaurant was great with great service and a professional attitude. Everything about this hotel was exemplary and worthy of a top grade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing