We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in the heart of Gothenburg”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Göteborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern hotel in the heart of Gothenburg”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Avalon when we celebrated our anniversary and couldn't be happier with my fiances choice. Beautiful hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had and it was lovely sitting in the morning sun whilst eating it. Can warmly recommend this hotel and looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EliAnn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear EliAnn86,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very appreciated for us to receive and it allows us to develop and refine our hotel even more. Wonderful that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us at First Hotel Avalon, you are more than welcome back to us!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    269
    47
    20
    6
See reviews for
86
470
55
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was so happy with my stay at Hotel Avalon, I decided to sign up for TripAdvisor to review it! As I wanted everything to be perfect for my boyfriend's birthday weekend in Gothenburg, I decided to book the top hotel on TripAdvisor, and upgrade to a superior deluxe room. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, with famous designer pieces such as Arne Jacobsen's Swan chair. Our room had a bath tub in the middle of the room, a French balcony overlooking Kungplatsen and the best bed I've ever slept in. The location couldn't be any better, you are right next to all the shops, bars and restaurants! The hotel breakfast is very nice, not your usual fry-up but a very tasty buffet of Scandinavian specialties including a selection of herring, rye-bread and cheeses, exotic fruits and berries, biscuits, cakes, cereals, cold meats, yoghurts and many healthy options too. The atmosphere at the outside seating area of the bar is fantastic on a summer's eve. Every detail is carefully planned, and although far from cheap, its excellent value for money and a treat most people can afford. We both had a great time and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheezedilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marknadsavdelningen, Public Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Cheezedilla,

Thanks for your respond on our hotel - First Hotel Avalon in Gothenburg, it was a pleasure for us to have you and your boyfriend as our guests, you are more than welcome back! Take care!

Your sincerely

First Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Incredibly stylish and great hotel. Staff was extremely polite and service-minded. Everything was incredibly smooth and it was a true pleasure to stay there. Rooms were lovely, modern and inviting. Restaurant was great with great service and a professional attitude. Everything about this hotel was exemplary and worthy of a top grade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel Avalon has a perfect location. It is close to shopping as well to restaurants and bars. You can walk to and from the Centralstation. It only takes 5-10 minutes.
Some of the rooms are very nice but some rooms has a different layout aspecilly for the bathroom and toilett. In some rooms the shower is ine same smalll area as the toilett which means you sit in a puddle of water, whenyou had your shower.
The bar is very nice and seems to be popular among the "right people" in Gothenburg. The bartenders makes excellent coctails but they are at the same time very posh and some of them have a not so nice attitude. A bit full of them selves.
The Breakfast is excellent regarding the choises and quality. The one negative thing is that it is very crowded and the logistic is not ultimate. it will take a while before you have found everything.
I have stayed here for at least 5-6 times and I always return because it is a very nive hotell.
The staff in the reception is very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying home and it was the nicest place we stayed in in Sweden. The location is excellent- central to many restaurants and the buzz in the city. The rooms are unusual and luxurious- the bath was in the room! Fabulous towels and robes. The breakfast was top class.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkcam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Situated in a very nice part of town (Kungstorget) is this gem of a design hotel. It features a nice bar, lounge and reastaurant. The hallways are decorated with carpets and fancy pop art. Blended with soothing music. The rooms are fresh, nice big bathrooms, seperate shower and bathroom. The breakfast buffet was great.

The rooftoop features a stunning pool in glass, sticking out from the main building, transparent from the ground. Very cool.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor, top floor for normal doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am staying frequently in Gothenburg since many years and have tested many different Hotels. The Avalon is a refreshing change with very nicely equipped rooms, perfect breakfast and the most central location to Shops, Bars & Restaurants. Nothing negative to say, maybe just that the Avalon doesn't have a Spa area, but a nice rooftop pool (only attached to a suite).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing