We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Funky and clean, with spa bath in room. Good central location, would go back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyglobetrotterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed in superior room with my daugther of 18. Arrived early (12) but were allowed to check in at once. Big plus and a good start! Room was lovely, interior and colours well designed. We even had a hot tub in our bedroom. Bed lovely and room quiet even though right in the city center. Spectacular outdoor pool at 8th floor, allowing you to swim "outside" the building. Reception area, corridors and indoor breakfast room felt a bit too small and dark to my liking (particularly the corridors). With nice summer weather we had breakfast outside, so weren't bothered by it really. Very nice selection, with high quality tea(!). Location of hotel could not be more perfect for a city break, right opposite the foodmarket "Saluhallen". Plenty of shops, restaurant and bars at your doorstep. The hotel bar seemed popular. Would definitely recommend the hotel and stay here again at a later visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a trip around Scandinavia.

We booked via Hotels.com and the room description was Room with a Bath, it was the more expensive option but we'd travelled a long way and a bath sounded good!

We were not disappointed, the bath turned out to be a jacuzzi bath, fantastic!, the flat screen tv could be turned from facing the bed to facing the bath so a real relaxing treat. Tea and Coffee in the room, a huge safe with a plug so you can easily fit in a laptop and charge it.

As per most of these style rooms, the toilet/bedroom divide is a door that leaves a gap, also there is no screen for the shower and as its really powerful you can get the floor very wet quickly, we had to get new towels after one day because we had to mop up the flood on the floor!

There is a pull out clothes wire in the toilet/shower room - very handy.

The breakfast good but it wasn't the best ever (described by Rough guide) and when we arrived at about 10am Friday morning it was packed, however the next morning when we arrived at about 8am it was fine. Room service was limited in choice but the burger was excellent and as per everywhere in Scandinavia, getting gluten free bread was no problem.

The pool was tiny, we went up to have a look, it is also only available 12-6pm I think the penthouse suite has the area the rest of the time as the hotel advertises a room with a pool. I imagined a bar and terrace and small pool but there was no bar just a few tables, some sun loungers and a pool about 3-4m square'ish.

Gothenburg looked nice, it was raining on our day there and I had a shocking cold after our travels so we took a walk to the harbour and up to the art gallery, the hotel is very central to everything, the street is busy with people sitting at the restaurants and cafes and there is an indoor market next door. The windows are great at soundproofing though if you prefer.

Parking is valet, only took us 2 times round to get to the hotel, it looks like you can't drive down there but its fine to get to the hotel, just stop outside and they will park for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a jacuzzi bath
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrssparklesboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for a night in the beginning of June. We had a nice room with a bathtub just beside the bed! The beds were comfy though a little too soft pillows for me. The hotel has a cool design and the rooftop pool was nice even it´s pretty small. Perfect location and nice staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaistockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Hard to fault this hotel.  Very spacious room. Excellent bathroom with a deep bath and power shower.  Free wifi in the room.  Excellent breakfast included.  Free bike rental. Excellent location in the city. Only complaint, twin bed instead of double, crazy prices in the hotel bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neiloconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel location was great the staff where nice and food was good the restraunt and bar and out side area where very nice although the buffet was a bit crowded in the mornings at breakfast. But the big disappointment was the room. we paid extra for a superior double room it was sold as an extra spacious room but when we open the door it is one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in, there was defiantly not room for two people and what made matters worst was they had put a large chair in the room in front of the fold out desk if you wanted to use the desk you would have to put the lounge chair out in the hall way so that you could get the fold away chair from the walldrobe to sit at the desk. there big selling point was the hotel had a certificate for its feng shui well I can tell you it was not a carm experience in this room with two people .Do not pay extra for this room (20 on the 5th floor )as it really is not worth it. The bathroom was big but a waste of space for the size of the room. the pool was only open 12 to 6pm. We will not stay again as I feel we where conned into pay extra for nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aglane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was a final 2 night stop for our Scandinavian holiday in July and the Avalon was a fabulous place to stay. It is right in the heart of the city and close to all the major sights, shops, cafes and restuarants. The staff were pleasant and very efficient and the hotel oozed style from the lobby, the lifts, the signage, the iconic swedish furnture etc. Our room was large and had a superb bathroom and great shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and you are given a choice of pillows. Other nice touches were bathrobes, an ironing board, a safe, tea and coffee set and slippers. The room was quiet and very clean - very little to fault.
As for the breakfast it was the best i've ever had in a hotel and i've had quite a few! The choice is superb and you can fill up for the day - hot dishes with scrambled egg excellent and cold dishes including smoked salmon, variety of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries together with superb bread and crispbreads etc.
Just one negative - the hotel assumes that everybody now travels with their own computer...wrong we would have liked to have seen some PCs available in the public areas. We were told we could use the one at the Concierge's desk in the lobby which wasn't convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $203 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing