We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but nice”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pricey, but nice”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night while visiting friends in Gothenburg. It was a nice boutique hotel in the old part of town. The rooms were basically furnished in the minimalist Swedish style. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast spread was awesome, a great range of choices available. The toiletries provided were also nice. It did take us about 20 minutes to work out how the shower worked, even our Swedish friend couldn't figure it out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    144
    51
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
130
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Well located and well run. Very friendly with pleasant rooms, free wi-fi. Excellent breakfast. No gym but close to park which was good for 3 km loop for running. Suitable also for kids. Nice lobby with well frequented bar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice hotel, strange lobby that becomes a night club some days a week.
There is a small patio inside the building, and the rooms on the inside faces the patio.
We could not sleep because there where s much sound from the people, drinking wine/beer at the patio.
Small breakfast, but, felt like closed night club in the morning...

Room Tip: Don´t face the patio, to much noice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is quite nice and spacious hotel with a good breakfast.
I stayed here while attending meetings at the University.
I had a double room that was quite big, for what I am use to in Europe. the bathroom was decent size with a walk in shower and heater floor. I had a friend stay in a double room as well, her room and bathroom were bigger, however she had a tub and no heated floor.
The noise outside could be a bit bothersome, especially on weekend nights, so you may want to try for a room at the front of the building.
The staff was very friendly and knew the area quite well and gave some good recommendations for dinner.
The breakfast included a nice variety of meats, cheeses, breads and fruit. It was quite filling and plenty of options.
The downfall is that there is no gym and other hotels in the area included a gym and were priced comparably. I also found myself without shampoo/conditioner in the mornings because housekeeping has not replenished them.

Room Tip: Stay towards the front of the hotel, less outside noise Ask for a room with heated batroom floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFKent21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Flora is a special place- it is a family run hotel and it is the little extras and personal touches that make it so nice. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was wonderful, and the friendly staff made my stay just perfect. Had to leave very early and they made a special breakfast package for me to take along. I would not look anywhere else in Gothenburg! It is worth the little extra for a double room- and ask for a room facing the canal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good room, decent size, plain decor, bathroom typical Swedish sterile. Nice big windows that opened for ventilation, but occasionally noisy with trams and people. Comfortable bed with good pillows. Free water bottle and ironing board standard in room. Decent breakfast buffet choices. Very friendly staff and nice open recpetion/bar area for coffee or drink. Easily walkable to Haga, Avenyn, shopping. Great coffee shop, Da Matteo, 2 minute walk around corner. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sago180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Hotel Flora for three nights on a conference trip to Gothenburg. The hotel has a great location, modern (if a bit small) rooms, really nice breakfast and very friendly staff. If possible, ask for a room from higher floors. Mine was on the first floor facing the side street and it was at times a bit noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna_helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanilla
Hotel Vanilla
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: 2 Groensakstorget, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flora is a family owned four star hotel located in the center of Gothenburg. 67 rooms all designed for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing