We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely day out at any time of year

We visited in October using the number 11 tram from the city and the 281 ferry to Donso. We then... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
shatteredofsussex
,
england
Great day out

At the entrance to Gothenburg harbour there are two archipelagos: the southern and the northern... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
FrequentFlier756853
via mobile
Read all 1,038 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gothenburg
from $38.80
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $27.00
More Info
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
448
150
22
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
150
22
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip island hopping ferry terminal other islands bigger islands tram number travel card public transport small island beautiful scenery city life sunny day nature reserve central station during summer visiting gothenburg saltholmen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited in October using the number 11 tram from the city and the 281 ferry to Donso. We then walked to styrso and caught the ferry back to saltholmen and the number 11 tram back to the city. All included in our travel passes and very worth the money. The islands have a natural beauty and even in the late October weather have a charm and beauty worth seeing. The water clarity is wonderful and whilst it looked cold remained very clear. Very different to the Stockholm Archipeligo but equally worth seeing and easy to manage. We are really pleased we made the time to go.

Thank shatteredofsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At the entrance to Gothenburg harbour there are two archipelagos: the southern and the northern. The southern is the easiest to visit from downtown Gothenburg. Go to a 7/11 store and purchase a 24 hour transport ticket, this covers, buses, trams and ferries and costs 95 KR. In the centre of Gothenburg take Tram 11 to Saltholmen, the final stop. Here you will find three ferries to the Southern archipelagos - they go to different islands, the ferry numbers are 281, 282 and 283.
These ferries stop at several islands and with your 24 hour ticket you can hop off and hop on the ferries to see as many islands as you can.
We did 281 to Vrango one day and the next day we did 283 to Branno Rodstan - both were great days out. The 281 takes over an hour and stops at five different islands along the way. Whilst the 283 to Branno stops at one other island and only takes about 20 minutes.

3  Thank FrequentFlier756853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The islands are ccessible via ferries which are part of the Gothenburg tram and ferry transport system.

Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Very nice cruise from Saltholmen to different islands in the archipelago. Do not forget your swimsuit because there are plenty of occasions to take a bath...in the summer. The water is a bit chill but you get used quickly if you swim at once.

Thank Alexandra1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

South of Göteborg there are a lot of small Island with small village on the islands
You can take a ferry out there and stay in many islands during a day.
If you want and are a good swimmer then you car reach some of them.
It´s abolute a must if you are visiting the Lovely Town GÖTEBORG

Thank Leif N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Beautiful all year round! Out of the islands my choice is Brännö and Vrångö. Secluded beaches and beautiful nature as well as good food and friendly people. Come here and stay the weekend in Brännö Guesthouse - you will fall in love with the experience of a quaint village where cars are banned.

Thank AnnaT1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Took the ferry here and had a few hours going around.

The ferry was 12 mins.

Tea or coffee and cake was wonderful and saw a church where ww1 soldiers from both sides lay side by side.

The weather was lovely too.

Thank morgannwg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Taking the ferry (ies) around the archipelago is a perfect way to spend a day. We bought the city pass & just took a couple of different ferries so we could see more of the islands. Took a break in Vrango & walked the nature paths. Awesome. Of course we were there during the sunniest hottest summer on Swedish record! But it was awesome!

Thank pshurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

The boat experience is cool, but the archipelagos are a strange place to be. Surely very interesting, but also very touristic. Restaurants and cafes are very expensive.

Thank Leudi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

The trip to Branno Islands is a refreshing one day excursion to a virgin beautiful village community with cute and beautiful houses and nice trekking paths. One has to take a ferry from Santholmen to reach the islands which in itself is an experience, watching the frothy sea and seagulls flying about. If you have a one way ticket from the city (Gothenburg) it works to transport you by bus, tram and the ferry as well if you are within its 90 minute time limit. If you have a day pass then its no issue.
Santholmen itself it is a sight watching hundreds of boats moored on the jetty. At Branno you get down and take one of the paths where you can trek for whole or part of the day. If you have carried lunch with you its still better but there's also a restaurant and bar available on the island. We had a hearty lunch sitting on the rocks enjoying the breeze and watching the blue sea.

2  Thank Machotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews