We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensionat Styrso Skaret
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant, traditional hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant one night stay here.
Food was good, and the dining room is really lovely.
Room was small, but perfectly suitable and as I would have expected for a traditional, old-style building (a little more water pressure would have been good though!)
Very friendly staff and owners.
Good location, just a short walk from the ferry quay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Macca07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for two nights at this traditional style hotel. It was easy to reach from the mainland and once there, the hotel had a bank of bicycles that you could pick up and use to cycle over the car free islands. We were attending a friends wedding celebration so our weekend was very full and the hotel made a perfect retreat. Even though you are so close to the mainland, it feels incredibly different and an easy way to see another part of Swedish idyllic outdoor life.

Our room was a garden view on the top floor. Decor is traditional - light wooden rooms (no air con so sleeping with windows open which gave a delightful breeze and was so fresh). Apart from some noise earlier in the night, it was very peaceful (some locals now get around on motorised cycles). Furniture is dark wood and antique - cabinets, dressing tables - and there are many blankets and throws provided.

The evening food was very good - we ate fresh fish - and breakfast had a good selection of foods. Eating out on the terrace made everything taste even better.

In short this isn't a boutique hotel and it is expensive but it's unique location and commitment to reflecting traditional swedish styles makes the stay special. Great for couples who can relax.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose to pay Styrsö a visit during our stay in Gothenburg. The boat ride takes 15 min from Saltholmen on the mainland. The ride is a scenic experience in a beautiful coastal landscape.
On arrival, we were greeted by a helpful and friendly staff. The dining room was set in the best of old fashioned style with tablecloths and cutlery from days bygone.
The lunch was top-notch and fairly priced (175 SEK for two courses and coffee). On this beautiful summer day, coffee was enjoyed in the garden.
The place was well worth a detour from Gothenburg, and we would like to go there again.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Norseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

dreadful hotel, no longer fit for purpose

despite the willing young staff, this hotel is truely dreadul. I am writing this in our room, on a hot evening at 10.45 p.m. There is no aircon, of course, so the windows have to be open. There has been incessant noise for the last three hours from 4 racing motorbikes speeding round and round the road in front of us, and then over the nearby bridge and back again. This with the traffic to the recycle dump along the road and the industrial site on the island in the middle of the inlet together with noise from neighbouring rooms make the noise levels intolerable in what is marketed as an idyllic peaceful location.  Management explains that the racing happens regularly and they complain to the police, but nothing happens. Their solution - offer the guests, paying £160 per night, earplugs!!! This on top of being told, when booking 5 months in advance, that we had the owners 'absolute favourite room' for my wife's 65th birthday, and finding, on arrival, a dingy, small, substandard room and miserable bathroom which she immediately rejected. we were then offered another slightly more acceptable room but told yesterday that we had to quit it as some regulars wanted to take it!!! We have at least found out they will do some washing for us, as there are no facilities at all for guests to use themselves, but that is hardly compensation for this hopeless set up. This hotel is well past its useful life. it is not fit for purpose. It should be closed down.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a worn, overpriced, basic -no more than two star - hotel asking four star prices. A friend booked us in here while we are visiting the islands on the basis of her recollections some years ago of good food and a pretty dining room. However, on arrival we were all disappointed to find the rooms have worn lino floors, sagging matresses, scuffed paint, poor showers, worn and dirty chair covers and there are no room facitilies, not even bottled water, let alone staff to ask for help in the. evenings as they seem to abandon the guests and leave each evening on the last ferry back to the mainland. The breakfast is no more than average while the restaurant evening meals, while decent, dont merit the hefty prices charged. We had expected to stay a week, but the facilties are quite inadequate to sustain a lengthy stay - there is no hotel laundry service, but there is also no iron, the sink is too tiny even to wash your smalls, and there is not even a wardrobe to hang up your clothes. Best viewed as a restaurant with a few low-grade rooms for people to stay overnight if they miss the last ferry back to Gothenburg, at £160 just for room and breakfast, not dinner, that's a pretty expensive last drink. One other disappointment. The hotel is close to the road serving the Skaret quay and the road bridge to Donnso island. While it is true there are no cars on the island, what they dont say is that there are lots and lots of very noisy motorbikes and two-stroke three wheel vehicles, so dont expect peace and quiet.

Room Tip: sea view doesnt mean quiet. if you want to sleep, ask for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgecirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This Inn is special. Housed in a former "hospital" for tuberculosis patients from the 19th century when people travelled to the archipelago for the air, they have decorated every room individually. This is a remit place, but close to amazing walks and the quaint village of Donsö, just across the bridge.

The real attraction is the food. If you like fresh fish or seafood this will be your heaven! They also serve one of the best Xmas buffets in West Sweden!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We spent one night there. It takes a bit to get out there, but it is all public transportation and the tram ticket (line 11) is good for the boat ride as well.
We booked the Friday Gourmet Dinner with one night accommodation. The four course dinner was outstanding in a very nice atmosphere (newly built veranda) with good service. One could tell that the owners have a great love for good food with an focus on near produced and ecological ingredients. In the lobby there is a nice open fire where you can sit and relax afterwards. The rooms are simple, but clean.
We will definitely be back in summer when the island has also more to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fere0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
6.3 mi away
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dockyard Hotel
Dockyard Hotel
#47 of 67 in Gothenburg
223 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Villan, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
229 reviews
20.7 mi away
Marstrands Havshotell
Marstrands Havshotell
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
494 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensionat Styrso Skaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensionat Styrso Skaret

Property: Pensionat Styrso Skaret
Address: Skaretvagen 53 | Styrsö, Gothenburg 430 84, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensionat Styrso Skaret 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can still discover genuine, unspoilt places. It takes just 15 minutes on the ferry from Saltholmen in Gothenburg to arrive at an island without cars. An island with boat huts, shoreline meadows and old-fashioned houses. Incredibly close to the metropolis, yet secluded enough to be completely different. Our guest house on Styrsö is open all year round and guests are always given a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Pensionat Styrso Skaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing