We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”
Review of Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Upper House
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Probably Scandinavias best hotell. Quiet, nice, not crowded spa with panorama windows all over inclufing sauna. Outdoor hanging glass pool. Extremely nice rooms with view including from the bathtub. Excellent breakfast with local and healthy food. Perfect oasis for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    63
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
45
511
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at the Upper House two nights in April and I must say I was very impressed of the hotel and its concept. As a frequent traveller with many nights a year in hotels around the globe, it is not often a hotel makes such a positive impression on me!

The theme throughout the stay was tranquillity and excellent service in a relaxing but elegant ambiance. The staff in the hotel was very professional and especially Ebru working in the reception as she offered an exceptional good and knowledgeable service with a smile on her face throughout my whole stay :-)

The room and the general areas were decorated in a contemporary design with a feel of Sweden and its west coast with the best view in town as a bonus. The bed was of top quality and all amenities you could ask for could be found in the room. The breakfast which included mainly locally produced products were very carefully selected and the idea with a tasting menu of different small hot breakfast dishes was like a top Swedish smörgasbord!

As a hotel guest, I was also offered free entrance to the spa and that was an extraordinary experience to swim in the outdoor pool "hanging out" from the 20th floor. The variety of different pools, saunas and relaxing areas were something extra that you do not often find in one single spa. Just wished I had had more time to spend there .....

For me, it is not if but when I can return to this very special gem in the heart of Gothenburg!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiJa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Upper House is a superb hotel, full stop. As you walk by the masses waiting to check in to the Gothia Hotel, you bask in the pleasure of being whisked up to the 25th floor to your own private check-in experience, glass of bubbly in hand, and a guided introduction to your room. The rooms are wonderful. Although we only booked a superior room, it was spacious, well planned, comfortable, luxurious, and quiet. The floor to ceiling windows looking over the city were wonderful and added total privacy. The bathroom was of very high quality with many products for use and luxurious towels. The bed was heavenly. The air conditioning perfect. The Upper House, is just that - a small hotel on top of the larger one. You are made to feel special. You, of course, pay for that pleasure but rest assured there is quality gained in the price you pay.

The na,esake restaurant is superb. Simply put, we had one of our top five meals of our lives on Saturday night. Four hours of absolutely stupendous food creations, perfectly paired with wine, served in an extremely comfortable and private table environment with a view of the city below. The 15-ish course meal was stunning and certainly rivals the best of any in the Nordic countries (yes - NOMA included).

The spa was nice but represented the only mediocre moment in our stay. Although well equipped, the whole spa experience was confusing and somewhat poorly laid out. There are no lockers for example. You need to come from your room in your bathing suit (required unfortunately), your flipflops and your robe. Upon arrival you are given towels and a tour. For Upper House guests, you get a spa amenity kit which was a nice touch, although somewhat difficult to use in the setting. The spa is open to all hotel guests, not just for Upper House and thus tends to be well attended. Privacy and quiet are difficult to find here, but the hot pool cantilevered outside of the building on the 20th floor is worth the effort.

All in all, this is an extremely expensive but absolutely wonderful hotel. If you are searching for that romantic, quiet getaway with your significant other, look no further. And please get a reservation for dinner.

Room Tip: Any. Even the lowest level superior rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelguruoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A 5 star experience through and through! From an exclusive, professional and friendly checkin we started with a complimentary drink at the bar with a fantastic view over the city. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet with again a fantastic view. Really comfortable beds and quiet rooms made for a great night sleep. We started the next day at the spa before breakfast. Also exclusive with several saunas, hamman, and pools ( the outside pool is a real experience) . Plus for the classy robe . I even enjoyed the "cold bucket" experience after the sauna. A frequent hotel guest , hotel breakfasts sometimes stress me out even at 5 stars. This was a great experience with a small exclusive restaurant where you can choose from a cold buffet and then order warm smaller dishes straight from the kitchen. The scrambled eggs, omelette and American pancake where all delicious. Overall a proper 5 star experience with a personal yet professional twist. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After the initial confusion about where exactly to check in (there are quite a few 'Upperhouse' signs in the main lobby - just ignore them and visit the main service desk from where they escort you to the Upperhouse reception on the 25th floor), the entire stay was in one word; superb!

The staff, from the professional and welcoming reception, to the smiling, well dressed and superbly professional housekeepers (a great big 'thank you' to you guys for what must have been the cleanest hotel-room I've ever seen), to the amazingly calm and sweet hostess in the Spa area, truly made me feel like home.

I was lucky enough to have time to try out both the spa and the a la carte breakfast - serving some of the best Eggs Benedict I've ever tasted. Both, on their own, were good enough to start planning a second trip to Gothenburg.

One of the earlier reviews mentioned a complaint about the beds... I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel, because I have probably never slept better in a hotel than I did at Upperhouse.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Spent 2 nights there in a superior room early week. I absolutely loved it. First of all the very friendly and helpful staff. Also very knowledgeable about the town and got great advice regarding restaurants. Secondly, I am not normally a spa lover, but really enjoyed this spa as it was very clean, fresh and new with again great staff. The rooms we had had fantastic views, great beds and fantastic bath rooms. All new and very clean. Breakfast was included in our deal, and loved it. Buffet with warm meals we could order for free. Again, very friendly and helpful staff. It's about a 10 minute tram ride from downtown, but this was not a problem at all. It also gives fantastic value as in our package, spa and breakfast was all included. I would totally go back to this hotel. It is the first time I have given any place an excellent review, but this one certainly deserved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariannetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife surprised me with a visit to this hotel, including spa package. We stayed on the 22nd floor with a fantastic view over Gothenburg, which is really nice (at least if you're a local). We sleep on an old IKEA bed at home, so the one in the hotel was quite a revelation. I usually like firmer beds, however this was great for both me and my wife (who likes softer).
The media system in the TV was quite nice too with a lot of (all?) free movies. I use xbmc at home, and this worked similarly. The bathroom was also nice, however it's missing floor heating so it's a little cold to walk around without slippers. Great tub too.
The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast however. I've been in many five star hotels with nice breakfasts, none have had an a la carte menu with around 10 mini-dishes you can order like at Upper House. Really impressed. The cold buffet is also great, nothing really disappoints. Maybe the apple pie could have a note like "feel free to request me heated", because then it'd be even more tasty.
We also tried the spa. My previous experience is mostly Japanese Onsen and Swedish saunas, so this spa was really a great mix. Especially the outdoor pool on the 19th floor. On a cold winters day it's perfect.
We have also tried Avalon, and Clarion Post Hotel. However, Upper House is in another league. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to get away for a day, or more...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
949 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper House

Property: Upper House
Address: 25th Floor Maessans Gata 24, Gothenburg 412 51, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper House is Gothenburg's newest 5 star hotel with spacious guestrooms and suites located in the city centre. Guests will enjoy excellent service and gourmet dining experience. The hotel includes three floors of Spa & Relax, Turkish Haman and outdoor pool, all included for the Upper House guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing