We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a wonderfully designed property. This is a great example for all Interior designers to follow. From checking in through to checking out, everything was exceptional. The team are very professional. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The beds are very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife was invited to speak at a design conference in town and naturally our hosts put us up at a cool place. The rooms are individualized and big, the lobby space is fun and happening, everything reaked of coolness! A lot of fun. And it was only a short walk to the train station

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Could not get enough of this hotel.
The service from check in to check out is excellent. The atmosphere all over the hotel is fantastic.
The rooms, the restaurant, the bar, everything is special. If you are interested in interior design you will love this place!

Room Tip: Every room is the same. The beds are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels in Gothenburg I was mistaken into believing that ' Swedish Luxury' was measured by how much laminate you can build into a single room. In fact one hotel I stayed in when asked what made them 5 star responded 'we put bathrobes on the bed' another simply pointed to a dishevelled looking certificate on the wall sating its award in 1903.

The Dorsia has been ' created' from a mind verging on insanity. I have seem him, the owner, sitting quietly in the corner of this quite extraordinary hotel, smiling with an assumed confidence that knows your mind is going to be challenged by everything you see and experience. He is not flamboyant nor does he exude confidence or find the need to boast about his achievements. Instead he sits and watches taking in your every reaction.

The Dorsia defies conventionality - it is one of the most unusual hotels I have ever experienced not just in Sweden but anywhere - every detail of every single item of decor and furniture comes with a story of quality and design. It's a range of comforting colours, each room designed with thought , each with it's own story to tell.

The food and service of course matches the decor and is delivered by discerning but discreet staff who forever hover in the back ground anticipating you every move and needs.

If you never stay in another hotel again ..... Do visit and stay in his one.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great staff, great location, and looks amazing! But no bar - just a restaurant - if that doesn't concern you then the Dorsia is an excellent choice. Plenty of nice bars nearby, and the lively "Avenue" is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was so relieved to find this hotel after researching lodging in Gothenburg. The pictures on the website are an exact representation of the hotel... It's gorgeous! Very comfortable and inviting with a delicious breakfast. The hotel just opened a few months ago, so it seems they might still be perfecting the operations (which I anticipated). Only a few very minor recommendations for improvement. First, there was no tea kettle in the room. The bathroom amenities were great, but the lighting could have been better. Also, there is no shelf or ledge in the shower for your soap and/or shampoo. It would have been nice to have a room service menu and telephone directory in the room, but I would anticipate they will be adding those. One other thing worth mentioning... Someone walked in my room and immediately closed the door upon realizing the room was occupied. I know this happens in hotels from time to time, but it was a bit unsettling. I could not identify if it was hotel employee or another guest, but there no knocking prior to entry.

The lava TV was great and had Internet, music channels, YouTube, and Facebook. Robe and slippers were very comfy. If you're traveling alone, a standard room should be spacious enough. However, if you're traveling with someone else, I would recommend upgrading to a "medium" or "large" room category.

Overall, service was good, but I think there is room for improvement. The breakfast staff was wonderful, but the reception staff was not very warm or sincere... This might just be a training issue with being a new hotel.

If I return to Gothenburg, I will definitely return to Dorsia.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GEmusic1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Trying out the brand new restaurant sleeping in the wonderful decorated rooms
Thanks to the management for a perfect organized evening

This boutique hotel has to be seen - great bar - food was excellent - wine perfect.
Rooms are decorated in wallpaper and curtains from the Designers Guild company.
Shampoo and soaps are the Hermès. All top notch

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.8 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Tradgardsgatan 6, Gothenburg 411 08, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $303 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
welcome inside It can happen that a guest walks in and thinks they have taken a wrong turn. There he stands, somewhat baffled by the absence of a reception desk which usually marks a kind of limit. He might even think that he has ended up in the wrong era and in the home of an eccentric lady from the previous century. A patron of the arts maybe, given that the place is teeming with artwork. However, he soon realises that this is quite real and now, maybe after catching sight of the business-suited men in the restaurant. Either that or the young people at the bar deep in conversation. Sometimes a guest, like the film director, falls so in love with a room (room 412) that he immediately decides to shoot his next film there. Or simply move in for good. Take the example of the entrepreneur who very seriously suggested that his company buy a part of the hotel to give their clients a special and completely unique experience. When asked what he meant by “special”, he answered: just like Thousand And One Nights, only for real. Allow us to introduce our hotel manager: Thomas Petersen. The best way to get to know him and his ideas, including those about the restaurant, is to read the information under the "Legacy" tab. In the course of his many trips through Europe with his father, Thomas Petersen grew to love their both serious and playful approach to fine dining. Also, at the most renowned restaurants there was an unpretentious joie de vivre based on the understanding that it is the guests who are all important! Not to mention the guests’ conversation. Drawn-out food presentations are not always essential. An unforgettable meal consists in equal measure of interesting conversation, joyful laughter, beautiful presentation and surprising ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing