We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
“Efficient and welcoming hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed at the Clarion Collection Odin in a one-bedroom suite using reward points. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Railway Station, the reception is located on the 2nd floor.

We arrived early at the hotel and were warmly greeted at the reception, considering we were early checking-in the room was ready. The hotel was of internal atrium design, very comfortable and inviting.

The suite was extremely spacious and typical Scandinavian layout with large sitting room, fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar, bedroom and bathroom.

In the sitting room was a large sofa, coffee table together with a Bang and Olufsen CD Player and B&O TV with a large range of Domestic and International channels. The bedroom was simply laid out but ideal with a comfortable double bed, wall mounted TV and a writing desk.

The kitchen had a large Fridge/Freezer, microwave and came with a basic range of crockery and cutlery. Any extra items were available from reception. The bathroom was fine with toiletries provided and a good powerful shower.

The buffet breakfast was substantial with a large selection of bread, cold cuts and pastries also hot items available. The all day tea and coffee with fruit and cake in the afternoons was an excellent idea was well used by residents.

A free-gratis buffet dinner was included and was quite popular during our stay. There was a large selection of items including starters, main course including a hot dish also desserts available.

We would eagerly return to this excellent welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    338
    99
    21
    11
See reviews for
267
372
44
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Me and my girlfriend recived a gift voucher to use in the restaurant. We expected some sort of class as this was supposed to be a decent hotel. I can not comment on the hotel standard however, the restaurant was not good at all. There was a lot of food including fish as a maincourse. This was not the problem. The quality of the food however was. The fish was overcooked and brought back memories from my school days. The dessert had been made without any sense of innovation and was only filling food. Even the potatoes was overcooked. We went straight to the Max restaurant across the street after the "dinner" at the Clarion restaurant. As forementioned, I can not comment on the hotel but I would advise you not to eat in the restaurant. There are plenty of good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel, just check Tripadvisor :).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

If your in Gothenburg in business or pleasure, I can gladly recommend Clarion Odin.
Its only a couple of minutes away from the heart of the city.
Bus, tram and train options is only a stone throw away.
Their rooms are comfortable and you have excellent staff that will serve you 24/7.
I live in Gothenburg and always reserve a room in Odin when business people and friends comes to town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatsRuontti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed for two nights during the Way Out West musical festival in August 2011. Was a great, great hotel. Lovely, spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast was great, but the extra touch of coffee, tea and cakes available from the reception at all times was really special. We popped in for takeaway coffee before heading off to explore the city and enjoy the festival. Roof terrace had great views of the city. Was a great base to explore the city and all its charms. Would definitely stay again funds permitting!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamopiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Comfortable, spacious room. Service was excellent and we were very happy to discover that the hotel has a laundry guests can use. Complimentary dinner was a nice surprise and very good as was breakfast with options for people with food allergies. Close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gn0me0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

By the time we had found our way in the rain to the hotel, following the useless directions given on their website, I was wet, irritated and tired. The hotel is in fact less than five minutes walk from Central Station - simply head for the taxi rank, then towards the Scandic Hotel, clearly visible across the main thoroughfare, and you will find Odinsgatan immediately to the left of the Scandic. The Clarion is just a few yards in and on the left.

Entering the spacious yet warm, welcoming Reception of our hotel dispelled my bad mood immediately. The decor is modern and typically Swedish: furnishings in warm reds and oranges offset with black, natural wood, gleaming chrome, soft lighting. The Reception lounge leads to an attractive courtyard with plenty of seating under cover.

Our room was much larger than I had expected and included a small kitchen, with full size fridge, cooker and microwave. Although we didn't cook for ourselves during our stay, it was nice to be able to put in the fridge the fresh milk, which we brought from the Reception Lounge, where hot beverages, juice and water are provided free of charge around the clock.

Although our room looked out over the railway lines, there was no noise disturbance, as the windows are triple glazed. And there was an excellent view of the Eye and the Lipstick beyond the railway and into the harbour. We could even see the four masts of The Viking. Given the location of the hotel, I would say that this is the best aspect for a room there.

Comfortable bed(s) with good quality bedding and soft pillows. The television picture was slightly grainy but adequate and offered plenty of channels. Full sized sofa and coffee table - more of a bedsit than the standard double room we had booked.

The wet room, with its heated floor, was a delight. And what a pleasant change to have a shower that was not only powerful but easy to control - both temperature and flow. A full sized bathroom cabinet with great lighting, a normal hairdryer - not one where you have to keep your thumb pressing the 'on button'.

The standard of cleanliness at this hotel is impressive, from our room to the public areas, including corridors. As for refreshment, no guest need ever feel hungry or thirsty, with self service hot drinks, fruit juice and water available constantly, as well as the all day fruit bowl, excellent buffet breakfast, complimentary cakes mid afternoon and buffet dinner each evening. We availed ourselves of the buffet on Sunday evening, having eaten lunch in a restaurant. There was an excellent choice of salads and cold dishes, and one hot dish, a stroganoff, which was not particularly good. I had assumed from the reviews I read in advance of our visit that the evening buffet was for those who had paid for it when booking - not so; we had booked room and breakfast, yet all of these 'extras' were complimentary.

All in all, I would highly recommend The Clarion Odin. In addition to the features mentioned already, the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, which makes all the difference. Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The only thing that was not perfect was the weather - and we could hardly blame the hotel for that, could we?

Room Tip: Some rooms look 'inwards' over the Reception Lounge, so ask for one 'looking out' if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouzilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for two days, two grown-ups and a 1 1/2 year old. The room was beautiful, clean, bright. The window was facing inward, towards the restaurant and reception area, but we didn't hear any noise at all (and I usually can't sleep at hotels because of noises). Breakfast and warm supper buffet (served at 6pm) was included, so we didn't really have to go out for dinner, which is very practical when you travel with small children. There was also a playroom for kids in the reception area, and our daughter REALLY enjoyed being there, It was better than anything else we did the whole time in Gothenburg :) We had a really nice and very relaxing stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrethe-K-Johnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Odin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Odin

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Address: 6 Odinsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Odin)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Odin 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Odin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Odin Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing