We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base, central and friendly”
Review of First Hotel G

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel G
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good base, central and friendly”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is my favourite place to stay when I'm working in Gothenburg. Big enough to have a good restaurant and breakfast buffet, and a wide choice of rooms, small enough to care who you are, and welcome you back. Home from home !

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room if you want to look out over the city -- inner rooms just look at another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    594
    189
    56
    14
See reviews for
164
416
85
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and it is a nice hotel of good standard. It is located on top of the central station, which means the location is great. If you arrive by train or airport bus, you get immediate access to the hotel.
It is kind of a boutique hotel, and the rooms are of good standard with confy beds. The breakfast is good, they serve everything you need but it can get crowded during the weekends.
There is a champagne bar, which is quite small, but if you get there during happy hours you can get a glass of champagne for a very reasonable price.

The Nordstan shoppingmall is just a few minutes away and then you have easy access to the rest of the shopping streets in Gothenburg. Trams and buses are outside the hotel, so we find the location to be perfect.

We had some problem with our sink, the water filled up each time we turned the water on. We informed the reception about it but when we got back later on the problem had not been fixed. We don´t know if they have an engineer working during the weekend, but it would have been nice if they could have fixed it.

The staff in the bar was a bit slow and it made us leave and not have a pre-dinner drink there. Otherwise the staff were friendly and nice.

All in all, a good little place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona
Level Contributor
350 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The First Hotel G in Gothenberg has a perfect location if you arrive by train. The front desk is in fact located right above the waiting room of the railway station and rooms located over the tracks. This will not, however, disturb you the least! Should you arrive by car, the hotel works with Nordstan parking center and a day parking will cost about 200 SEK (22 euros).

Check in was very smooth and we walked across the bridge to the elevators to go to our rooms. We had superior room, with an extra sofa and big flat screen tv, but the standard room seemed to be of good standard as well and not tiny as I have seen elsewhere.

The big drawback was that the rooms do not have windows to the outside (so they cannot be opened), but are like arms going out and thereby you will have a good view into other rooms and what those guests might be doing. It might be adviseable to draw the blinds a little extra when getting out the shower etc. We were lucky, room 5031, as we had the end of the row room and could actually see a little of the outside. Most rooms did not have this view to the outside. As we had our visit in October and the weather was rather bad, it didn't matter that much, but had we been coming there in the summer, I guess I would have thought it a bit dull.

The beds were comfortabl, the TV selection ok, nice minibar, well stocked, safe, iron and iron board and a decent selection of shampoo and things like that. I liked the sofa, it was nice to be able to sit in a comfortable sofa instead of bunking up in bed, which is what you mostly do when you're in a hotel.

The breakfast selection was very good, I believe this is one of the signature marks of the First Hotel chain. Has been so at all my previous visit to First Hotels. The reception area was cosy to sit in, a dark and quiet, especially with a drink before going out. Friday evening between 16-20 they have "After work", with special offers.

The location of the hotel is good, as I mentioned, the arena, the opera, transportation. All just around the corner.

We wouldn't hesitate to come back, especially if it was for a winter visit - might even opt for the standard room. We didn't visit the fitness center, so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: A corner room towards the railway track will give you some contact with the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely hotel based at the rail/bus station. Modern decor, staff very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room, equipped with everything we needed on the top floor. Very peaceful.

Breakfast as extremely good - great choice and the quality of food was top notch.

The reception is a nice spot to have a glass of wine, sit back, relax and watch the world go by.

The hotel is opposite a large shopping centre and a 10-15min walk into the more central part of the city.

Perfect for a weekend city break

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and heard absolutely no noise plus it had lovely city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for a weekend and were happy with the hotel location and the very reasonable price (special offer). Friendly service at check-in and in the lobby bar for after-work drinks on Friday. We asked for a quiet room and were really happy with the one we got. Not a sound from outside or other rooms despite the fact that the hotel is located in the central station. The view was not great though; overlooking an indoor courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room; we did and slept in until 10 am!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is inside the central railway station in a very good position for visiting the city. The hotel is a standard four stars, the room are OK and the breakfast is good. The only thing you have to be aware of is that most of the rooms have windows that overlook internal courtyards. Of course this may not be a major problem during the winter but in summer if you fancy sunlight ask for a room with windows looking outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a very large deluxe room facing Gothenburg , but beware : most rooms face very small and dark interior courtyards.

Shower arrangement Inside a bathtub will never be our favorite !!!!
All Towels of very thin inferior quality and bed pillows very small with syntetic filling!!!

Apart from this everything worked perfectly and we had a very nice stay , right on top of the main railway station (no noise due to soundproof windows)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the outside world!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G

Property: First Hotel G
Address: 4 Nils Ericsonsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your First Hotel G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel g
First Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing