We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of First Hotel G

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel G
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is situated on top levels at Gothenburg Central Station. This means that the hotel is very easy to reach. Eventough it is very close to the trains, the hotel rooms are very silent. The hotel is in good conditions.

The breakfast buffet is a medium class, it could have been better. The staff in the breakfast room is not the quickest....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the First G hotel for 1 night in March. The hotel is fine and very comfortable. The room was reasonably spacious with a good sized bathroom and clean. It also had tea/coffee making facilities and an iron/ironing board (unusual for Europe). Breakfast was the usual fare with cold cuts/breads/fruit as well as eggs/bacon etc. Be warned it gets very busy so go early. The actual hotel is easy to find and is signposted if you arrive by train. It's actually in the train station. However, you need to exit the station and go through a separate entrance. My only complaint about the room is I felt it was a little warm as I couldn't get the air con to work. After mentioning this to reception I was given another room and it was slightly more comfortable. Overall, I don't have any complaints about the hotel, it was fine and I would stay in this chain again. However, Gothenburg is horrible! There is not one redeeming feature about the place. About from going to one of the musuems, I pretty much spent the rest of the time in the hotel. This was the one city I didn't feel safe in at all. Avoid this city as there really isn't anything to see. Stay the extra day in Stockholm. It was an aboslute waste of 2 days - days that could have been spent elsewhere. I am only rating this hotel as average because of the city not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesolotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We upgraded to a larger double room and got one great big room with a nice view.
Nice atmosphere and a delicious champagne bar!
They did not refilled soap and shampoo, it was a bit poor.
We stayed only two nights so we didnt thy the spa, but we will do it next time.

Room Tip: It was no noice from the train station, we stayed in level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVN54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed for the weekend with my son I found the hotel was very well located in a somewhat mediocre place ( the people where very nice) the rooms were clean and large and clean how ever the bathroom had a small toilet in it other than that it was just ok
The buffet breakfast was good and the staff where helpfull of sorts
The room did get quite hot at night even with the temp on low but it was a quite stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaykay786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having stayed at a handful of other Gothenburg city hotels some years ago we decided to test First G due to good ratings and an attractive Easter bargain offer. A mixed experience.

Location is central, in the middle of the shopping area which is convenient if you want to explore the huge and unpersonal Nordstan shopping centre. This area around Central Station has a cold and commercial atmosphere but you can easily reach older and more attractive parts of the city, such as Avenyn, Götastan and Haga by foot along the river park or by frequent trams from Central Station. A visit to the nearby Palm House is recommended. So is the attractive restaurant area around Järntorget, 10 min by tram.

Main attraction of First G is that you stay right above / in the middle of a busy railway station with a cosy, direct look from lobby area to station hall, shops and travellers. Warned by other reviewers we asked for - and got - an upper floor superior room on the outside of the building (beware of inside rooms!) with a view to the square. Room OK but no more. Not very big, a little worn, rather sterile and uninteresting with tasteless decor and very little storage space. Small but nice bathroom with bathtub. The nice view was disappointly blocked by a thick layer of filth on the window glass (photo). Probably a technical challenge to clean the windows due to difficult access from outside but we suggest the effort is made now and then, to avoid guests feeling claustrophobic.

Breakfast average. Selection OK, quality not impressive. Very crowded as the place is obviously not dimensioned for weekend rush-in. Front desk service OK, not very engaged.

A large tourist class hotel with no charm in a neighborhood with no charm. Next time we will go for a more atmospheric place in Vasastan.

Room Tip: Go for an outside room, upper floors, but be prepared for filthy windows blocking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were 2 adults and 3 children sharing 2 rooms. One standard double room and one de luxe room. The rooms were clean and large. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

I really recommend this hotel for families who want a reasonable priced hotel near shopping in gothenburg

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristofferNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We were 2 adults and three kids sharing two rooms. One standard double room and one deluxe room.

The rooms were greate. they looked new and clean. The staff where nice and the breakfast were good.

I really recommend this hotel if you wanna get greate value for money and live in the middle of Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#13 of 65 in Gothenburg
3,530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#37 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G

Address: 4 Nils Ericsonsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $121 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel g
First Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing