We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was on a one-night business trip to Gothenburg and the hotel was recommended. The location is great and access to the bus station and trams is first class.

The hotel is very impressive with a large open space accommodating the bar and restaurant and surrounded by bedrooms.

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English. I was upgraded to a Club room on the fifth (top) floor. It was extremely well equipped. The bed was very comfortable.

I enjoyed the buffet dinner and breakfast the following morning. The food was very good with plenty of choice.

If you like a drink then Sweden is not an ideal location. The beer and wine is very expensive. That said the bar did offer a good selection including some 'craft' beers.

There were a few points which stopped me classing the hotel as excellent. But really nothing that would detract from the average stay. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Club rooms on fifth floor are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Nyamaropa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

How lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get the chance to welcome you again and hopefully get to make up for those missing points.

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want to go to Gotemburg, this hotel is a very good choice - excelent localisation, cosy rooms , an excelent breakfast and nice staff. There are other hotels in the neigborhood, but this one is better then teh others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Ana Luísa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Ana Luísa T,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Centrally located hotel very close to shopping areas and downtown restaurants as well as the main avenue, Kungsportavenyn. Also close the small and nice streets around the Cathedral. Rooms are nice, air quality in the room was however an issue during the warm days in July-August. Best is to ask for a room with street windows. Valet Parking is expensive (295 SEK per day) but it is sometimes difficult to get a good parking downtown Gothenburg. Parking house in Nordstan (300 meters away) is cheaper. Nice and service minded hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Per H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appologise for the warm temperature in the room, this summer has been extreamly warm.
Many guests appreciate our secure parking, but like you mentioned there are public parking available near by as well.

I hope we get to welcome you the next time you are visitng Gothenburg!

Best Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The perfect weekend with my love, got a cornor svit. Champange on the room with strawberrys ready when we came. Took a swim in the hotel swimming pool, jacuzzi. Took a walk in the city but desided that the hotel was so nice. We Went back and orderd room service. Love the service peolpe, room and Everything!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Isabelle A,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. Sounds like a very romantic weekend!
Warm welcome next time you visit Gothenburg.

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The room was very large with fantastic beds. Unfortunately, our room didn't have a view, but overlooked another building only a few meters away. The breakfast was the best I ever had, with scrambled eggs, bacon, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans and a lot of other stuff. The only downside was the really bad wi-fi, which was both slow and also very weak.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monika X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Monika X,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice feedback with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms.

Warm welcome back!

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in another hotel and changed to Radisson Blu. The location is great since its in the city centre. Ambiance is great and the breakfast has a wide range of items to choose from. The only downside is that we have to pay extra for use of the swimming pool. We thought it was included in the room price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Christine B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and warm welcome next time you visit Gothenburg.

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for two nights. We had booked a Standard Room that wasn't available so we were upgraded to a Business Room that overlooked the canal and central train station.

The room was large with plenty of amenities, including free on demand movies and access to the gym/pool that were included with the room's Business status. However, the bathroom was in need of maintenance. Overall, the hotel is in good condition despite the outdated decor and some obvious details pertaining to its age.

The highlights to this hotel were: 1) the location and 2) the breakfast buffet.
You can walk to shops, restaurants, public transit, parks, bars, you name it, from the hotel's front door. Including a large parkade adjacent to a mall (note that parking here is pricey and you cannot take your vehicle before 6am).
The breakfast buffet was amazing, so many choices, so much food, helpful staff. You will not be eating lunch after!

The major drawback was the internet connection. Not only because we couldn't check our emails, but when a family emergency arose in Canada, we could not hold a Skype call in the middle of the night when presumably the majority of guests were sleeping. It was extremely difficult to book emergency flights and cancel hotels when every time we tried to connect on our iPads/iPhones, the connection was cut and restarted the session.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone without a vehicle and for those who want to disconnect during their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Meeting & Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Maria A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry about the family emergency in Canada, and the problems with the wi fi connection.
I am however glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and breakfast.

Warm welcome next time you visit Gothenburg.

Kind Regards
Theresa Schedvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $127 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing