We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European volvo pickup hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“European volvo pickup hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the hotel that Volvo sends you for a free night when you pick up your car at the factory. It is located right by the central train station. The room was comfortable but in the European fashion of two twin beds placed together each with their own duvet. A nice concept but cuddling is a tad awkward. The beds however were comfy, the people at reception were friendly and cheerful and the breakfast was superb. I tried pickled herring and it was better than expected, but perhaps it won't be showing up on my table too often. Gothenburg is pretty and one day is sufficient before moving on. We were sorry that the local Swedish Elite Hockey league team was not playing in town, but we watched the game on tv and enjoyed ourselves none the less.
Picking up our new XC60 was great fun and after the factory tour and Swedish meatball lunch (no Swedish chef to be seen) we took our new ride on the road to Copenhagen....bye bye Sweden...hello Denmark :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
How lovely to read your reveiw on your stay here at Radisson in Gothenburg. We fully understand the problem om cuddling in twin beds but always remember to contact our staff if you prefer double beds or any other requests you might have while staying at the hotel.

Good to hear you like the new car and we hope it will not be too long before you come pick up another one. We will do what we can to locate that woozy chef until then.

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    661
    245
    75
    22
See reviews for
308
439
49
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had stayed at the Radisson in Gothenburg many years ago and was pleased to have the opportunity to stay there again.
The hotel is very much biased towards the business traveller and the level of service, both from the staff and the facilities, shows that bias.
One of the first things I noiced was how friendly and relaxed the staff were. They were good at their job but did not appear to be trying too hard (as some up-market places do). They just went about doing their job and doing it well.
The restaurant was very good with a nice selection of food and wines. Service was just right.
The bar area was quite busy in the evenings and, while I stayed there, there was also a big book fair taking place in the auditorium. But that just seemed to give the place a "buzz".
The room was large and well appointed. The bed was comfy and I couldn't fault anything about my stay there.
To top it all off, the weather was nice, too!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor and higher will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiffTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review of your stay here with us. Especially to hear that you enjoyed the staff and their level of service. We did of course book the lovely weather for your stay ;)

Much welcome back soon.

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good location, very clean, although not cheap (like most hotels in town).
Had an outside facing "business" room facing the station, but no noise issues at all.
As a regular (business) visitor to the area i will probably stay here in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Lovely to hear that you appreciated your stay here and we are much looking forward to hosting you soon again.

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Located 2 minutes from the main train station and easy walking distance to city center, pedestrian zone. Very clean, great staff [ especially very helpful concierge ], good breakfast. This is the 2nd tome we have stayed at this hotel and we'd certainly return again. By the way, this is where Volvo houses their buyers from the overseas delivery program.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc1sanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
How lovely you enjoyed your stay here with us when picking up your new car. Especially nice to hear that you enjoy our staff so much.

I hope you enjoy the new car and we are looking foward to seeing you back here soon again (perhaps a car for the country house as well...).

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehl
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Parking is a bit of a hassle. The booked me into a room facing the atrium and did not have a regular room available facing the outside, which I preferred.
Got a junior suite at little extra cost. Great service! Unless you like fully climatized rooms facing the inside, I recommend rooms facing the street, where you can open the windows. Beds are very comfortable and the triple glassed windows make the street facing rooms very quiet. Certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Unless you like fully climatized rooms facing the inside, I recommend rooms facing the street, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josgreet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Lovely to hear you had a good stay with us and appreciated the service. Glad to hear you thought the added money gave good extra value and that you enjoyed the junior suite.

Very much looking forward to hosting you here again.

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed four nights on business, had a business class room on the fifth floor overlooking the main square. Like most other hotels in Gothenburg, it's expensive, but I felt it was good value for money.

Location is very good, just off the main train station and a five-minute walk to Avenyn, the main avenue. Several food and shopping options within a ten-minute walking radius.

My room was very comfortable. Spacious and clean, I enjoyed the view of the city and the windows sealed all outside noise. Breakfast was included in my rate, and was a little disappointing (felt a bit short of the standard Radisson selection), although it still had tons of items to choose from. It also gets crowded at times, but the staff seemed to handle it. Very friendly staff, all of them.

I would certainly go back if I could snatch the same rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
How lovely to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the room and the view. Please never hesitate to tell us if there is anything you miss at the "Super Breakfast". We do have the same standard throughout Radisson so you should be able to find the samt favorites here as you do anywhere else in the world.

Very much hoping you will be able to make it here again soon.

Regards

Henric Zethelius, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel for meetings in the bar. Good food, nice rooms and I would like to give a special credit to the personnel at check-in and concierge. Location is also very good, with a short walk to Gothenburg centre.
Great experience. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluGbg, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello

How very lovely of you to share this nice review of your stay with us here in Gotheburg.

We are much looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Henric Zethelius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing