We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hotel for Snowy Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Warm Hotel for Snowy Christmas”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here a few extra nights after picking up our Volvo. Have been in Norway for Xmas years ago and must say Sweden is more festive, especially Gothenburg. Liseberg was a special treat, but even Centralstation, the local train/tram station just outside the hotel was decorated, clean and inviting.
The hotel buffet breakfast was very good with the typical variety of US, English, Asian and European stations, with attentive & friendly staff.
We had a standard room and saw no need to upgrade, plenty of room. It was their "Ocean" theme I think they called it.
Good central location although a walk to Haga would be a bit far.

Room Tip: Check which room type (decoration style) since you may prefer one over the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    701
    255
    85
    25
See reviews for
346
475
49
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

my friend and i stay in this hotel just before xmas, and we foung the staff really friendly and helpful, our room was on top floor 5th nice comfy beds clean, and quiet, mini bar and hairdryer, the hotel has a pool which you pay £5 for it had suana and jacuzzi also a gym which is another £5 i only went to pool which was nice and relaxing not crowded,it is opp station and thats where the shuttle from airport drops you £9 one way, the trams r good service, and you are near all clubs bars and resturants and opp the big shopping center, we went to the old town on the sunday to their xmas market hagen also the hotel has their xmas buffett on the sat night which you pay £ 50 and eat as much as you like it is a swedish trad but you can find some some a bit cheaper but you have to book as they are really popular, liseburg park was lovely the ice show was really good,also the dubliner pub had live music every night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairydust49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Having planned to only spend 2 nights in Gothenburg (due to crazy Swedish prices) we were pleasantly surprised at the cost and actually upgraded and stayed an additional night!

Hotel is right next to the main train station with good links to the rest of Skandinavia! It's also a short walk from the main areas where you will find multiple Michelin star restaurants.

The breakfast had one of the largest selections I'd seen outside of Asia, and was included in the price of the room.

We upgraded to a suite with a balcony, there was no view but the outdoor space is always a plus.

The only down side is there are no gym facilities included. You can use the Golds Gym which is attached but this comes at a cost.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Upgraded to a Junior Suite and so had a nice large room. Did find that they weren't generous with the toiletries and with 3 of us we kept having to chase them up for more. (I was cross that despite asking for the roll-a-way to be made up @ 4.30 p.m., it still wasn't done when we returned from our dinner @ 11.30 p.m.) The food (fare) laid out for the morning breakfasts were very generous. The hotel was selected as it is located opposite to the Central railway station. Nordstan shopping centre located diagonally across the square and trams just across the canal.

NOTE: Go:teborg is only available from Tourist Information offices.
In my enthusiasm to purchase the Go:teborg card, I visited the kiosk outside the central railway station & asked for 2 x Adult cards, @ 150SEK each. I ended up with "Vasttrafik" which are useless as! They only do central Goteborg which is the size of a postage stamp. Train travel to Liseberg was not even covered. If you do purchase the Vasttrafik cards, you must mention how far out of Goteborg you wish to travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After having stayed in other Radisson hotels, I was a bit disappointed in this one. It is clearly not new, and that is not a problem, I like old and cosy. Downside is that this hotel might have been experimental in the eighties, and is not cosy at all. Rooms are constructed around an immense indoor patio that does not reflect the nice and warm atmosphere Swedish people are normally very good at creating. Apart from that, cons are that you can't get any fresh air in your room, and during my stay there was a noisy concert (from a petty bad cover band :-) the whole evening, which disturbed a quiet evening of working in my room.

Nevertheless, this hotel has a lot of great plus sides, and lives up to the Radisson Blu quality label. It's in the city center, not far from a big shopping mall and the central train station. The rooms are big and the beds are excellent. All comfort is present: ironing material, water cooker, coffee and tea, minibar, sofa, nice desk, .. The breakfast buffet is really nice as well, and the staff is extremely friendly.

conclusion: price / quality wise there might be better hotels, but this is still an excellent hotel. I'm curious how the Radisson Blu Riverside hotel will look like they are constructing in Göteborg.

Room Tip: If you like fresh air and an outside view, ask for a room on the outside of the hotel, that does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet, close to the train & metro station, walking distance to a mall. Enjoyed our stay. The Dining Room is a bit pricey, downtown is easier on the pocket book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowell364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very good journey, very nice employees.
The hotel is in the center of the city. It permits to visit the city center very easily.
The decoration is nice and the inside of the hotel is wonderful.
The breakfast is well furnished with Swedish recipes and more common European ones.

Room Tip: Possible view on the channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merluracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing