We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel, superb location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel, superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Situated very close to the Central Station, this modern hotel is perfect for anyone travelling by train or by air. There are frequent 'Flygbussarna', airport buses, to both local airports from the Central Station. The hotel has friendly staff, a nice restaurant and bar area in the central atrium. The rooms are well appointed, and the breakfast is great. The Nordstan shopping arena is also very close, as are several great restaurants.
The down side:
The exercise room, spa and pool are extra, and the WiFi signal can be weak in some rooms. In the late afternoon and evening, when everyone arrives back at the hotel, too many people go on-line and the internet response time slows down to a snali's pace.
The up-side:
The hotel says there will be an internet upgrade by Christmas 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    653
    237
    73
    22
See reviews for
303
435
49
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I will always do my best to stay at a Radisson Blu, not just because of getting more Club Carlsson points but because of the high service levels I can expect. I certainly was not disappointed here. From an amazing breakfast to a good restaurant and bar staff, WiFi is fast and doesn't drop out and the view from the 5th floor is great too.
Just one thing, my business class room did feel dated and the shower would have been nice if I was 5' but forget the face value as it has all the mod-cons and is sound-proofed.
All in all, a well placed hotel for everything you would ever need on Gothenburg!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a weekend on business and was thoroughly impressed with the staff from check-in to departure. Taxis were booked quickly, questions answered helpfully and all with a friendly smile.

I was given a disabled access room which generally had seen better days. The bathroom and bedroom furniture were worn (broken tiles/marble in the shower, worn seats and table) but the room was reasonably comfortable.

The buffet breakfast looked excellent but this was not included in my room rate so I didn't partake.

The hotel is located in a convenient location near to the bus and train stations and is within walking distance of many bars and restaurants, as well as other local attractions (sadly I didn't visit the fairground as I was working from 8-7).

Opposite, there's an excellent bar/grill with open air area and a fantastic DJ that played an excellent, eclectic mix (Friday 31st August 2012). This is part of another hotel but I liked the atmosphere and music so plumped for this over the more reserved Radisson bar.

You could do far worse in Gothenburg for a base than the Radisson, I just wish I'd been given a refurbished room or business upgrade as a Club Carlson member as, based on other users' photos, I lucked out with my room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPlainsDrifter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at the modern Radisson Blu Scandinavia at Gothenburg, Sweden, in early September 2012, while on a trip to take Overseas Delivery for our new Volvo. The hotel stay was excellent! The reception desk staff was extremely helpful and almost eager to speak English for us. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The rooms also had hair dryers and free WiFi. Note that in many of the rooms the room key (credit card style) needed to be inserted into a slot for the electricity to work in the room. The breakfast buffet was spectacular. There was a wide variety of cheeses, cold meats, smoked salmon, and pickled herring. Scrambled eggs and hard and soft boiled eggs were available. Also, on the buffet were several cold cereals, juices, hard rolls, croissants, breads, fruits, hot bacon and sausages, as well as hash brown potatoes. I’m sure there was much more that I have forgotten to mention. For guests on the run, there were “take away” items such as hot coffee and tea and breakfast sandwiches on a table near the entrance/exit of the breakfast buffet area in the lobby. The location of the hotel was a block away from Nordstan, a large indoor shopping mall in the center of the city. Three blocks away was the pier for cruise ship departure. Directly across the square from the hotel was the train station. Street cars ran within a block from the hotel, as well. All in all, Location, Amenities, and Service were outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Really great location, fantastic restaurant, brilliant staff.
Only shame is that you have to pay to use the swimming pool and the gym.
A fantastic base while staying in Gothenburg, the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Very clean rooms and massive beds.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were guests of Volvo for 2 nights in August. Upon arrival I was taken aback by the weird "Brazilian?" decor; red walls, beaded curtains, striped wood desk and headboard overlooking the atrium. However, the reception and concierge staff were most helpful with dinner reservations (try to get into Sjo Barren in Haga, it is fantastic seafood) and directions and the breakfast was very comprehensive. So, we returned for another 2 nights when we dropped the car off ( the decor " grows" on you.)

The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the train station and a short walk from the other sights in this lovely town. The harbor area is particularly interesting, especially the eye popping opera building.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glenbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Göteborg for one night on a business trip. The rooms were not new but functional, reasonably comfortable beds, ok staff - perfectly average.

Location is central, breakfast was ok, room service was ok.
Any time again for a business trip, privately I would probably look for something a bit smaller and more private with a bit more character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing