We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy life!”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Enjoy life!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Perfect in all ways! The best was the bed! If I should say one negativ thing it has to be the pillow. It was one too big and one to small! It should bee one in between. I will come back another time. I can recommend it further..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinerogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Stinerogn
Thankful for staying with us and your contribution to the many travelers who would like to find out more about the Clairon Hotel Post. Happy to hear that you liked the bed. Hope to see you back soon again and please contact med and I will provide you with a proper pillow.

Best regards,
Lars Olemyr lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    923
    344
    152
    49
See reviews for
490
1,092
68
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it is a nice hotel. Very big but still cozy. You can seriously get lost if you try to make your way to the rooftop and take the wrong elevator. This because there are 2 wings (I think). There is a swimming pool on the roof, not big but nice. For such a big hotel like this, the pool is always gonna be full. Think there was a max of roughly 20 person that were allowed at the same time.

We booked a specially a room with bath but luckily we checked if this was the case while checking inn because the the room he first offered didn't had a bath.

The rooms are nice and cozy, good size. Strange for a big hotel like this was that the don't have body lotion etc in the bathroom.

We had a early breakfast and that was amazing. Everything nice and fresh and an enormous choice. Fresh fruit, yoghurt/ musli, bread, different kind of breads, sweet stuff, bacon and eggs etc!

The hotel works together with a beauty salon. Nice and professional.

The hotel is not cheap but we would definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveForTravellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your long and wonderful evaluation. It is always fantastic when we get a full mark. I will promise to spread your warm words to the rest of the Clarion Post Team
Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This weekend my family (3 adults and 3 kids) stayed at the Post. We would love to come back. We especially liked the top-roof pool. We also liked the old post building, the rooms and the good atmosphere at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bettina123478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Bettina,

Thank you very much for this wonderful evaluation on tripadvisor. Clarion Post Loves a 5 star review. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The bed etc was good. Breakfast is excellent but room size is very small. Also for such big a hotel they should not charge for small things like toothbrush/paste kit or comb. They also put mini snacks on your table and it seems free but they charge for everything...No supplementary for anything you wnat...That's not expected from such a big hotel

Room Tip: Chhose instead Clarion Hotel-Odin in the same locality instead of Clarion Post
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohammadTKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Muhammad,
Thank you for your visit at the Clarion Hotel Post and your feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. Happy to hear that you liked our “excellent breakfast“. The Clarion is a big hotel with a vast variety of rooms different in size and shape. We truly hope to welcome you at the Clarion Hotel Post on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Clarion Hotel Post experience and service.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kungsbacka
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

a modern big and unfriendly hotel with a young and unexperienced staff. dark and big breakfast area in a chaotic state with a great deal of choice. got a big and not so good planned superior room, only with shampoo, no body lotion, no separate soap but good beds and quiet (no view at all) a shame that the old post office building did not been noticed more. good brunch but really expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tant_eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your visit at the Clarion Hotel Post and your feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor.

While personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities, it is very much to our regret you could not feel the service we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests.

We truly hope to welcome you at the Clarion Hotel Post on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Clarion Hotel Post experience and service.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location in Gothenburg.
You have everything around and in this hotel. The trams outside take you to all the major sights and places in town. You are smack in the middle of everything!

The hotel is large but cozy. The common areas are well divided and furnished. There are cozy sofas and chairs all around, so you can find a place to relax also outside of your room.
And the rooms are like most Clarion hotels, very well laid out, with super comfy beds, great lighting and good amenities.

The roof-top pool is just the icing on the cake! Start your day or end your day in the pool, and if you like me travel with kids...then they will love the place. So pack your swim-suit!

I will be back and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you Mimmi for taking the time to post a five star review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our pool and design whilst spending your time at our. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post .


Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
334 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is beautifull, and its said that they have world class bars and restaurants.
But the first contact with the front desk wasnt to god, but the other lady was good.

Got a superior room, its big. Nice beds and a lovely bathroom.

A bit dissapointed about the breakfast, but its the same in every Choice hotel.
Dry bread and powder scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Superior room is a good choice, it can easily fit 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Joacim
I can assure you that we are not using any powder egg. All our omelets etc are produced from environmental friendly “KRAV” egg nearby the hotel to avoid any longer transportation. Bread is freshly baked on premises early in the morning to ensure the best and quality . We are happy though that you posted a review on trip advisor to bring these matters to our attention. Please contact me should you have any further questions or if you pass by Göteborg again.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing