We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great ambiance for such a big hotel. Rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and very practical location, only 1 min to walk to the central stadion. Breakfast buffet had a good selection, but very crowd. The room service was 24/7 and the servings were enourmous! Very good food. Guest service was quick too. Overall a comfortable and nice stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Victoria,
Thank you for posting a great review on Tripadvisor. Happy to read that you like our breakfast buffet and apreciatde our food. A bit unfortunate though that you experienced a bit of a crowded restaurant. My advice is to visit the restaurant a little earlier when our hotel is fully booked. Might be at bit more roomy until 09:30 . Or rest in bed and then pay a visit to our delicious Norda Brunch starting at 12:00 Saturday and Sunday.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future,
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great location, central in Göteorg, 1 min from the train (where I usually arrive). The upper bar area has been the place for good informal meetings and drinks. I love the whole lobby and restaurant area and its decoration. The pool on top of the roof is OK though I only tried it when the weather hasn't been the best (which is not all that unusual in this region..) My first visit to the main restaurant was fantastic but the last time was a bit of a disappointment, whit serving staff not up to class. Rooms are spacious. I like the rooms in the old part best, preferably with windows facing Trädgårn, "the garden". If you like a view, opt for the new building. Best breakfast buffé.

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the old part best, preferably with windows facing Trädgårn, "the garden&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enskedemagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Enskedemagnus,
Happy to hear that you liked the Hotel lobby and restaurant. Your comments about our rooms and breakfast buffet are much appreciated. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely, Lars
lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our room was Ok, the location was Ok, the service was Ok, the value for money was Ok and the breakfast was more than Ok (in fact the food was great, but the restaurant was overcrowded and noisy!). Of course it is a big hotel, but nevertheless.... - there are better hotels in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRSUlefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Sir /Madame,
Thank you for your feedback . Nice to read about the great food. Still we apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post.

Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services

Sincerely,

Lars Olemyr
lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Det var ett tag sedan vi var där sa det kanske har blivit battra.
We stayed there months ago so perhaps it's better now. There was no place for the dresses and the floor was cold (it was winter).
The first night I couldn't sleep because of the noise; some party was going on. They promised to make us a discount but we never saw it !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014
Google Translation

Tack så mycket för din återkoppling, den är viktig för oss. Vi jobbar konstant med förbättringar, servicenivåer och utveckling av vår personal. Är det så att vi lovat rabatt på grund av att ni blivit störda under natten skall ni naturligtvis även få rabatt på boende.

Hör gärna av er om ni har fler detaljer kring ert boende eller nästa gång ni har vägarna förbi Göteborg.

Varma hälsningar

Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Have not been here for 6 month, but still the service and antastic food.
But not at lease, the furniture and lamps together with this fantastic old building.
The ovner must have invest in this for the guest.

Love it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms out in the old part and in the new part up in the high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerfiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Summerfiel.
Happy to read your nice comments on Tripadvisor. Please do not hesitate to contact us again should you pas by Gothenburg in the near future.

We would love to have you back at the Post soon again,
Warm regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I want to enjoy this hotel and give a glowing review, I really do. The hotel is welcoming, fresh and clean, has a great location, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly and the breakfast tastes great. However, the hotel is way too crowded, it just seems as the hotel not is adjusted to the vast number of guests. The bar is crowded, the breakfast restaurant is crowded and stressfull, the elevators are crowded, and there are long waiting lines in the reception to check in and out.

The last time I stayed at this hotel, in 2012, I encountered the same problems. However, as the hotel was new, I guessed this was because of start up problems. It was also in the middle of the summer with lot of tourists. However, 1,5 years on, in the middle of February, nothing had changed. It just seems as the hotel has more rooms and guests than it is build to handle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th0mas0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your long and comprehensive review. Thoughts like yours are important to us in order to continuously change and improve our service. It is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers with the highest quality of food and an outstanding service experience. Happy to hear that you that you liked our “rooms, staff and welcoming fresh, clean hotel”. But very unfortunate that we did not fully met your expectations during your last stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. I can assure you that the hotel is not as full all the time. At times we have large conventions and events in the hotel and thus full of guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and please contact me then . I will promise that we wil give you the best service we can provide.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I noticed this hotel when I stayed opposite in the Radisson Blu on a trip to Gothenburg a year ago, so thought I'd try it out this time. I wasn't disappointed.

They say the people of Gothenburg are straight-forward, uncomplicated and cheerful. These three words could be applied to the staff at this hotel. Everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful.

I had a sole occupancy room in a double standard on the 5th floor with a courtyard view. It was very comfortable.

The hotel and room were very stylish. Quiet and restful. Proper blackout curtains in my room. Contrary to previous reports, I didn't find the room small. By European standards is was a good size. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in.

The only surprise to me was the lack of a safe in my room, which I have found in most hotels of this standard across Europe. The room could have done with a few drawers as well, for socks and underwear etc. Check out was a bit early for a Sunday, at 11am.

The 13th floor pool looked excellent, but as not all rooms have robes, the sight of children shivering in the lifts in towels was not exactly ideal. Space is a premium, but a changing room near to the pool is needed I think, with clear instructions in each room to change there and not travel half naked in the lift.

Overall this hotel represents good value for money for the price paid. Breakfast was very good too. Relaxed and easy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Gordor,

Thank you for the valuable tips and taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay on tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure when our guests describe our staff with worlds like yours. Happy that we are able to meet the high expectation´s you should have when visiting Clarion Hotel Post. We are very proud to read that you consider Clarion Hotel Post as an example of “the people in Gothenburg being straight forward, uncomplicated and cheerful “.

Rest assured that your kind words about the service the quality of breakfast, pool and the style of our guest rooms are very much appreciated and have already been shared with the entire team.

We hope that we soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clarion Post. Hope that you contact me then so that I can ensure, late checkout, a room with a safe .

Yours sincerely,

lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $155 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing