We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed & elegant hotel”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I noticed this hotel when I stayed opposite in the Radisson Blu on a trip to Gothenburg a year ago, so thought I'd try it out this time. I wasn't disappointed.

They say the people of Gothenburg are straight-forward, uncomplicated and cheerful. These three words could be applied to the staff at this hotel. Everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful.

I had a sole occupancy room in a double standard on the 5th floor with a courtyard view. It was very comfortable.

The hotel and room were very stylish. Quiet and restful. Proper blackout curtains in my room. Contrary to previous reports, I didn't find the room small. By European standards is was a good size. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in.

The only surprise to me was the lack of a safe in my room, which I have found in most hotels of this standard across Europe. The room could have done with a few drawers as well, for socks and underwear etc. Check out was a bit early for a Sunday, at 11am.

The 13th floor pool looked excellent, but as not all rooms have robes, the sight of children shivering in the lifts in towels was not exactly ideal. Space is a premium, but a changing room near to the pool is needed I think, with clear instructions in each room to change there and not travel half naked in the lift.

Overall this hotel represents good value for money for the price paid. Breakfast was very good too. Relaxed and easy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Gordor,

Thank you for the valuable tips and taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay on tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure when our guests describe our staff with worlds like yours. Happy that we are able to meet the high expectation´s you should have when visiting Clarion Hotel Post. We are very proud to read that you consider Clarion Hotel Post as an example of “the people in Gothenburg being straight forward, uncomplicated and cheerful “.

Rest assured that your kind words about the service the quality of breakfast, pool and the style of our guest rooms are very much appreciated and have already been shared with the entire team.

We hope that we soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clarion Post. Hope that you contact me then so that I can ensure, late checkout, a room with a safe .

Yours sincerely,

lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Pretty generic hotel, to be honest, albeit highly specced.

Shower was gorgeous, bed comfortable. Had two single quilts (which appears to be a European thing in general), and oddly one giant (very gorgeous) pillow with two smaller ones.

TV had full internet capability, and hotel provided free internet too, so that was nice.

Breakfast was wide-ranging and beautifully odd, with people scattered randomly throughout the ground floor.

The only complaint would be that we didn't have our room cleaned whilst we were there (only two nights), and whilst we had left quite late in the day (midday-ish), that was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear James,
Thank you for your review. Thoughts like yours are important to us in order to continuously change and improve our service. It is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers with the highest quality of food and an outstanding service experience. Happy to hear that you liked our beds, shower,very unfortunate that we did not fully met your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post.

Still we hope to welcome you back in the near future .
Please contact me then .
Best regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel is nice lobby area - rooms are nice but quite small in size. The sandwiches we bought in the bar was by far the worst and most expensive I have eaten in a long time. Not tasty, didn´t look tasty and to a price of 169:- - robbery!
69:- would have been the OK price for this.
Additionally the pulled pork wrap fro 135:- was if possible even worse. Tasted exactly like the ones you get at the air planes. Very disappointing.
I had a friend who stayed in the restaurant one floor up, and it was just as bad - she said. Pulled pork for 300:- that was uneatable

Breakfast however was excellent - except for that they had skipped the omelet during weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalbymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Dalbymon,
Thank you for posting you views on tripadvisor. Happy to read about our excellent breakfast . We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our food service in the Bar. Next time I suggest you try our Norda Restaurant . Delicious food composed by our master chef Marcus Samuelsson and Jesper Bogren . Or try Vrå our Japanese/ Swedish restaurant exotic Japanese flavours combined with Swedish rawmaterial.

And please contact me before you come visit us again . Would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room was comfortable and warm. A very recent renovation so all the fixtures and fittings work and are unmarked and undamaged.

The rooms are modern but still well lit. (Why do some modern hotels have such dark rooms with "artistic" ineffective lights - this one doesn't).

Great hot shower and good internet speed.
Perhaps a little expensive, but you are in Sweden !

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Clive G,
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel Post during your stay in Gothenburg . We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind remarks about our rooms makes us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a quite big hotel located next to the railway station. The building used to be the head quarters of the Gothenburg Post Office and has now been renovated and changed into a hotel.

It is a good hotel and meets the standards you could expect. Service was fine, clean rooms with a nice atmosphere, at least in the old part of the building where we stayed.

A popular bar with a nice outdoor terrace where you can hang if you are lucky enough to grab some afternoon sun like we did.

Good breakfast with anything you could ask for. Hot meals, fruits, anything.

Smooth check in/out.

In summary a very nice hotel, the only thing you could consider is, it is a big hotel.

Room Tip: We preferred the old, but renovated, part of the building that was very nice. We never saw the never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwartzenegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mr Schwatzenegger,
An honor having you at the Clarion Post and thank you for posting your comment on tripadvisor. Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about service, good breakfast , clean room and nice atmosphere are much appreciated. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.

To show our appreciation we would like to surprise you next time you visit our hotel. So please contact med next time you´ll visit us.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice hotel in a convenient location near everything (then again Gothenburg is a small city). Nice rooms, WiFi, great breakfast. Can recommend the bar, especially on Fridays and Saturdays, good music and atmosphere. Try their own beer, the Post Lager.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Sid Mme,
Thank you for your 5 stars comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to know that you liked the bar, atmosphere, great breakfast .

Rest assured that we have passed on your feedback to our staff. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

Hoping to welcome you soon in the near future.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed there alone, and it was okay. It looks good from the outside, but the rooms are small and the breakfast is boring and not worth it.
The hotel is more like a nightclub with rooms, than a hotel with a bar. And the bar is not great enough for thatm thats for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Michael J,
During your stay we had a big external event lots of "new year-party" guests . We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information you might require.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $155 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing