We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Service”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located, offer great dining opportunities, the spa is well equipped and our room was just great. We were upgraded to a suite and had really good service during our stay. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbib09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,265)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I used to work for a 5* hotel group, staying in their hotels around the country (UK) and enjoying the pleasures of such rated hotels, then I stayed in the Clarion Post hotel in Gothenburg and my expectations of a high-quality hotel changed.

This hotel is stunning as you approach from the outside and even better once inside. The bar area and reception is perfectly designed, modern and elegant. The bar area even has a great atmosphere, rare for most hotels these days.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, brand new without a single point worth considering complaining about, they're all also very different and unique which shows that the designer has not simply put together a series of identical boxes.

The food is great too although I disagree with charging to bring food to the room when the prices are at the Swedish level (£25 for a steak and chips, despite being worth every Krona).

And then there is the roof-top pool, despite being the middle of winter and -15c this pool is heated and an absolute pleasure to dive into.

I stay here very often for work but would happily bring family, friends and my partner to this property, I simply cannot complain. It is in the center of Gothenburg and a stones throw away from virtually any destination nearby to which you might want to travel.

In my opinion, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at, its just a shame that its in Gothenburg, a city of few other treasures.

Room Tip: Signup for the Nordic Choice club and you'll get upgrades and other benefits.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergeant1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Sergeant Ash ,

Wow 5 stars ! Thank you for you long and extensive review. Realy nice of you to take your time sharing your experience from the Clairon Hotel Post. . Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about food and design are much appreciated. "Stunning as you approach " I will probably use that frase . Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.

Ash it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Post is a really classy hotel in the center of Gothenburg, with lovely interior and classy design. The beds are wonderful (as in most of the Choice hotels), and I had a really good night sleep in my soft bed. Delicious breakfast with good selection, I was especially impressed by the selection of bread.... And my daughter really loved the heated, rooftop pool. The location is perfect, as central as you can get in Gothenburg. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Nemi,
Great hearing from you. And we are so happy for all the stars you give us. Glad that we met your expectation and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please send me an e-mail when you are on your way to Göteborg next time.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Perfectly situated, near the traisstation, the trams and the city centre. Good and reasonably priced parking across the street. An impressive entrance with space and cool decorations. A friendly receptions staff that recognices you when you return weeks later. A fantastic restaurant Norda, with superb service even when you dine alone. The rooms are spacious and perfect for working. The room service can be recomended if you are working late and need a snack.
I think everyone, from vegetarians to beef eaters, can find something they like at the breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit and fresh juices. Perhaps a little dull on the meatproducts, but the pancakes are superb.
Definitely a superb business hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalbergH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear SalbergH
Thank you for a fabulous review . We have said it before and will say it again . Just love a five star review . We are especially happy to hear that you have recognized our friendly staff and our restaurant as fantastic . Also like to hear that our reception staff recognizes you when you arrive.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this is a really superior hotel with all amenities you may expect. breakfast was amazing, the rooms large and state of the art, a nice extra was the rooftop swimming pool on the 13th floor offering a great view over gothenburg. the entrance hall is really impressive and the hotel quite large, however you immediately feel comfortable. a perfect choice for private citytrips or business travels when a perfect accomodition is of importance for your.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ch_dominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Ch Dominic,
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel Post during your stay in Gothenburg . We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind remarks about our swimingpool and breakfast makes us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stylish and convenient, and the fact that its not a purpose built hotel makes for an interesting layout. Small room, but thats what I paid for, and although one of the two nights was very expensive it was because Robbie Williams was in town. One annoyance - we wanted to eat at the hotel, but bizarrely in the middle of tourist season, the main restaurant was close on Sunday evening. There was a lot of demand because guests were standing in line for the terrace restaurant which does not take bookings. I would change that rule, at least for staying guests. Recommendations on breakfast timings to avoid the crowds was spot on and very helpful. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Lambo,
Thank you for staying with us and your contribution to the many travelers who would like to find out more about the Clairon Hotel Post. Happy to hear that you like the layout and that your stay in general was up to expectations. Hope that we were able to find a table for you on the terrace.
We love to welcome you back soon again.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very good location just in the city center, amazing decor - lots of good modern design, but also well-kept details from the old days when the building served as post office. Generally very fancy venue ;-) We enjoyed a dip in a roof-top pool with a panoramic view of the city. Rooms brand new. Breakfast could be a bit better (e.g. rye bread was missing), but it's the same breakfast concept as in other Clarions even though this one is on slightly higher level than most of other hotels in the chain. But all in all the hotel feels luxury and stylish. Recommendable for travel and business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjaAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Sonja,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and thank you so much for the 5 stars.
Rest assured that we have passed on your feedback to our staff. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $160 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing