We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a bit different - in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just a bit different - in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stylish and convenient, and the fact that its not a purpose built hotel makes for an interesting layout. Small room, but thats what I paid for, and although one of the two nights was very expensive it was because Robbie Williams was in town. One annoyance - we wanted to eat at the hotel, but bizarrely in the middle of tourist season, the main restaurant was close on Sunday evening. There was a lot of demand because guests were standing in line for the terrace restaurant which does not take bookings. I would change that rule, at least for staying guests. Recommendations on breakfast timings to avoid the crowds was spot on and very helpful. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Lambo,
Thank you for staying with us and your contribution to the many travelers who would like to find out more about the Clairon Hotel Post. Happy to hear that you like the layout and that your stay in general was up to expectations. Hope that we were able to find a table for you on the terrace.
We love to welcome you back soon again.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    886
    325
    147
    45
See reviews for
472
1,052
65
778
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very good location just in the city center, amazing decor - lots of good modern design, but also well-kept details from the old days when the building served as post office. Generally very fancy venue ;-) We enjoyed a dip in a roof-top pool with a panoramic view of the city. Rooms brand new. Breakfast could be a bit better (e.g. rye bread was missing), but it's the same breakfast concept as in other Clarions even though this one is on slightly higher level than most of other hotels in the chain. But all in all the hotel feels luxury and stylish. Recommendable for travel and business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sonja,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and thank you so much for the 5 stars.
Rest assured that we have passed on your feedback to our staff. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fantastic experience! Perfect service, food and location. Quite expensive, but great value for money. Perfect both for family vacation and business. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! The old post office in the center of Gothenborg have been completely renovated in a perfect blend of old and new materials and buildings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Marcus,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are happy that we managed to meet your high expectations . Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice beach, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is what must've been on the front door of this hotel.

Normally, I wouldn't knit pick but at the price of this hotel, it should be immaculate.

The upside is that the front desk (Amanda) took care of my issues (of a dirty room) quickly.

There is a rooftop pool that was quite refreshing and the hotel is across the street from the main train station.

I hope the management gets it together here because I like this hotel and would return of they clean it up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ron K,
Thank you for the 4 stars. Glad to hear that Amanda took good care of you . Would be nice to be able to welcome you back to Clarion Post to demonstrate that we have improved so that we could earn the extra star.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you pass by Gothenburg again .

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is hotel from hell!

Ok, start with the good things,

Arrived 12.00 and they gave us a room thats nice because the check in is 15.00.

Staff at reception is nice and hotel overall is Clean.And roof top pool is very nice hot water and nice views over Town.

Bed was very nice maybe one of the best ever in a hotel.

But now starts the bad things.

Stayed in room 4063 and its not possible to sleep at all,,you here everything from the rooms around you and from corridor its not possible to have any privacy at all.

No safety box in the room,, you have to go to reception to leave your things.

And minibar is expensive as Always in a hotel,,This bar was filled with stuff that have had best Before date many month ago. Really disguisting!!!!!!!!!!!

Breakfast had many options but still we want too have bacon, eggs sausages HOT not Cold as they serve it.

And the staff here was not too alert,,never cleaned any table, it was total chaos in the breakfast area.,, and its so dark in there,,

Its not Worth the Money, there are hotels around and we hope that they are better! Dont know but will try next time to Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StockholmFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir /Madame,
Thank you for your feedback
Happy to hear that you liked the reception service our wonderful hotel beds and the fantastic top floor pool .

We do apologize however that we did not meet all your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services.
Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make a reservation or for any further information you might require.

Sincerely,

Lars Olemyr
GRM

Clarion Hotel Post
Tel: +46 31 61 90 00 | lars.olemyr@choice.se
Besöksadress: Drottningtorget 10 Postadress: Box 111 41 | SE-404 23 Göteborg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean and nice but they don't even give you soap or shampoo and the towels are black
The best thing is the location, next to the central train station.
Clerks were friendly and helpful, internet is a pain...had to re- connect several times.
Better than some others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Wrmf,
Thank you for your review. Opinions like your is important to us and we are happy that you liked the service and location. It is a little unfortunate however that we seem to have missed some of the bathroom amenities.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome back in the near future.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, arriving on a sweltering Saturday afternoon when the hotel was very quiet with no wait to check in. Our room was cool and quiet and the shower powerful and simple to operate (hurrah! none of that standing just out of range of the spray avoiding burning/freezing until you finally figure out the controls!)
When we returned in the evening the bar/lobby/outside space was VERY busy and buzzy (I mean this in a positive way, it was a hot summer Saturday night, after all!) however none of the noise transferred to our 5th floor, inward facing room - I'd been a little disappointed not to have a view but on balance preferred a guarantee of quiet.
I picked the Post mainly for the location, as we were arriving by train/leaving by bus and like to be in a neighborhood that's interesting and easy to walk around - it certainly more than met my expectations on that score.
With a rate that included breakfast I was prepared to be directed to a small plate of rolls/cheese and a pot of coffee - could not have been more wrong! The breakfast was almost TOO generous; Sunday morning was incredibly busy and a little bewildering, however staff kept the traffic (both food & people) moving without ever being intrusive - most impressive!
Even if you have no intention of swimming in the (very warm) 13th floor outdoor pool I would strongly recommend visiting it just for the incredible city views. As far as using the pool goes I think the signage could be clearer: the sign indicating that there is a changing room available isn't really noticeable until you are already on your way out, and it isn't clear where you're supposed to go, even then.
The only complaint I would have is that the wifi was temperamental and the constant need to re-sign in with different codes frustrating. Maybe this needs rethinking?
Hadn't really known what to expect from Gothenburg - certainly not that it would be as charming and attractive as it was: so many beautiful buildings to look at, lovely waterside walks and the gorgeous Horticultural Gardens opposite the hotel. Would visit again without hesitation, given the chance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatNameIsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ThatNamels Taken,
Thank you very much for sharing your insightful comments about your stay at the Clarion Post Hotel.

We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciated our breakfast, room and pool area. “A almost to generous breakfast “ I bight borrow that quotation thank you so much .

We have shared your feedback with the team members, for whom it will be a tremendous source of motivation.

It is great to hear that our effort to keep up the service level while constantly updating our product seems to be highly esteemed.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back Gothenburg in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.Olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing