We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed three nights. As active,independent older travellers, we were impressed by location, ( 100 metres walk to train station and the bus station) ambience, interior decor, generous and extensive choice breakfast-wise.
One irritation during our stay was the repeated need to log on afresh to the Internet. Reception Issued preprinted cards with passwords and codes, all case sensitive of course. These last twelve or 24 hours, with the need to log on anew, and with different passwords for phones and devices such as iPads. This process, in 2013, seems clunky.

The other thing that did not impress, and this was evident on a busy Saturday evening was smokers clustered around the front entrance. You had to fight your way past them. The smoke was coming in the door.. Similarly, young men clad in wet bathing costumes were in the elevators, returning to rooms. ( From the roof top swim pool) We asked ourselves where was security? Where was management? This kind of activity lowers the tone of a good hotel.

These were our observations, and do not detract from our overall favourable impressions.

Room Tip: Our room faced internal courtyard. No problem for us. It is a large internal view and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandpeg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sandpeg,

Thank you for your long and extensive 5 star review. Opinions like yours are important to us. We are happy that you are impressed and that we met most of your expectation during your visit at the Clarion Post . We are currently looking for a better solution to take care of our smokers and we have a changing room at the 13th swimming pool area so that our bathers could change their clothes.

So we are hoping that you will soon be back to compare your experience.

Hoping to welcome you soon in the near future,

Best Regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    861
    314
    142
    44
See reviews for
458
1,025
63
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Compared to our last stay at this hotel in March, it was quite a different experience, though an altogether pleasant one. Due to the Swedish midsommar holiday, Gothenburg as a town was pretty much empty and not a little bit eerie. The hotel, though the wonderful restaurants we experienced in March were closed now, had come up with an alternative on the patio facing the square which we found quite satisfactory. A midsommar option on the menu (matjes herring) and a great white wine from Luberon made this a nice evening in not quite so nice weather. Under the awning and with heating lamps, no problem. That also goes - again - for the wonderful, heated rooftop pool, this time with bathrobes included (Thank you!). Midsommar also meant no crowds in the bar, which is nice if you prefer a more quiet atmosphere. We´ll definitely be back, and if you pick up one of their weekend deals it´s a reasonably priced hotel considering the amenities. Staff was as friendly and helpful as last time.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with the spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WomanRay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Womanray63
Thank you for your long and comprehensive review . We would also like to thank you for the five stars. We are always very happy to have lived up to your expectations and we will take your warm words and communicate them internally.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 22.-23. June 2013. Stayed in room 6104, on The 6th floor. Loved The interior throughout The entire hotel :) Great staff, delicious And huge breakfast! The hotel is located right next to The central station; perfect! The tram service is right outside The hotel :) liseberg amusementpark is 7 minutes away with The tram :) i Will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in The tower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liljapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Liljapus,
Great review and we are very happy for the 5 stars. It is also a great pleasure to see that our staff been taking care of you. When you will be back I will personally welcome you in the lobby. Please let me know,

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I really loved this hotel! The building is the old post office that has been converted into a hotel. It's full of character and has great ambiance. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. They gave me good suggestions for restaurants, directions, and gladly held my luggage for me on check-out day. The rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable, the shower has great water pressure (which you come to appreciate when you travel frequently), and the decor is clean and modern. The breakfast is amazing! Not to be missed! It's a huge breakfast buffet filled with anything you could hope to eat, regardless of what your traditional breakfast menu looks like in your home corner of the world. The lounge/bar area is a great place to unwind...it reminded me of a chic modern day Alice in Wonderland...with high wingback armchairs, oversized couches and light fixtures, and leaning topsy-turvy bookcases. The location was fantastic as well. I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Gothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildflower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy every time we receive a 5 Star review. Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about our breakfast and Bar area “ a chic moderna day Alice in Wonderland… “ Maybee we will use that frase. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lars Olemyr
GRM


Clarion Hotel Post
Mob: +46 709 839 100 | Tel: +46 31 61 90 00 | lars.olemyr@choice.se
Besöksadress: Drottningtorget 10 Postadress: Box 111 41 | SE-404 23 Göteborg
Fakturaadress: Serienr 15800998, R851 | SE-106 54 Stockholm
Web: clarionpost.se | Blog: thenewfaceofgothenburg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have probably stayed at 75% of all the business hotels in Gothenburg and decided to take a chance at the Clarion Hotel Post for a couple of stays. Neatly located in the 1920s post house, with lots of the stylish interior kept and then complemented with highly modern structures and details. The result is cool, but my couple of stays at the Post have been roller coaster rides. The ups are obvious: fantastic location in the middle of the city, cool and modern atmosphere, really good restaurants (Norma is worth visiting even if you are not staying here), well equipped gym and roof top (outdoor) pool and “lounge” area with an awesome view of the city. But as roller coasters have their ups, they also come down… In this case, do ensure you have reserved a room on the higher floors where you get an excellent view and avoid the room I had on the second floor facing the busiest street in Gothenburg (felt like staying at a car park). Also do not expect to have access to the popular restaurants – advance reservation may be needed. And finally the rooms, which unfortunately come on the “down” side – unless you are really into grey and black colors and you are not specifically needing a desk to work at. Of course everything is spick-and-spam modern, but the light is on the dark side and the desks are small, as are the rooms. Free internet provided via vouchers and all rooms seem to have a docking station for your iPhone (only 30-pin contact, so not for your iPhone5…). To conclude: unless you get a deluxe room or you are going to spend significant amount of time at the gym, on the town or in the bars, I would probably stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at the first coupld of floors on the back of the hotel as the face one of Gothenburgs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Abundance_of_miles ,

Thank you for your comprehensive and detailed review. Opinions like yours are important to us. We appreciate that you liked our interior design, pool central location and good restaurant.

Next time you visit us you should try our more colorful rooms on the 4th floor. Please contact me next time in Gothenburg and I make sure that you get the right one.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.e
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Clarion Post was right across the street from the train station. Very centrally located. It is a converted old Post Office and very nice. Again, this the Europe and the rooms are small, but clean and functional. Nice lobby, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet. The restaurant was nice, had great food, but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yodasmom1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Katy,
Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Clarion Postl on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that you particularly appreciated our location, our services and the restaurant. We have passed on your very kind words to our staff and hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next visit.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Clarion Post in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, this is more than I expect to get from a Clarion hotel. The reception, the kindness of the staff, the interior, the location, the lounge/bar, the knowledge of the staff - everything fulfilled my expectation. The one and only thing I did not enjoy was the lack of structure at the breakfast buffet - like being part of a herd of cattle. Please sort this out it reflects a makeshift low end hotel - this is not you. If the same next visit then I will not recommend.
For now, yes - stay here and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excavator01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sir/ Mme,
Thank you for your 5 stars comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to know that you liked the kindness knowledge of the staff, lounge bar .

Rest assured that we have passed on your feedback to our staff. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

Hoping to welcome you soon in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing