We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and reasonably priced”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and reasonably priced”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked a room on the hotel website, got a better rate than the search engines. The hotel is new, rooms are fairly spacious. Comfortable beds. Some noise from the hallway though not from neighbouring rooms.
Large breakfast buffet, but no butter(?) in this hotel.
All in all a good choice for business or leisure, with a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your recommendation and nice review. It is true that you always get the best prices on our own web site. Also happy to hear thet you did not get to disturberd . Breakfast Buffés should ofcource always include butter so we are a little concerned that you did not get any.

Please contact med should you have any further questions,

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    949
    356
    160
    51
See reviews for
508
1,130
72
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent two nights in two rooms at the Clarion Hotel Post, Gothenburg between 2/5/13 and 5/5/13.
Both rooms were well appointed and very quiet. The location right by the central station means both the Nostrum shopping centre and good nightlife are within walking distance.
the bar is really buzzy and decorated like a library with bookshelves and comfortable seats and sofas. The restaurant on the second floor is highly rated and the food was expensive but very good.
There is a lovely infinity pool and sun terrace on the roof with excellent views of the city.
I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed at the front on the fifth floor and at the side on the twelfth floor. both rooms were well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Warri66
Hi and thank you for your 5 star rewiew . . Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about our pool area are much appreciated. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.
Please contact med next time you´ll visit us.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really loved this hotel and I'm pretty picky! I stayed for two weeks last month and everything was just lovely. The location is very central, right next to the train station and the big shopping centre. The hotel staff are really nice and the rooms are nicely sized and clean. The beds are super comfortable. The breakfast buffet offers a lot of choice and the food served in the restaurant is well prepared and really good. The fitness room is equipped with new machines and there is even a Powerplate. What also helped to make it such a wonderful stay was the amazing heated rooftop pool - just great!

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the floor, the better the view. Also, if you would like to have a bathtub (vs j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG77LYON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi ,
Great review. Happy to hear that you liked Clarion Post . Expecially your comments about our breakfast . We have put a lot of effort into our breakfast experience , great variety of food and a breakfast chef preparing your omelettes etc.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in Gothenburg
The brunch is expensive but worth every penny...magical brunch, highly recommended!
The room are nice, ok bed.
Food in the restaurant excellent, friendly staff.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissykjarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Chrissykjarr

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a magical brunch and comfortable stay with us. Your kind words about the food and the excellent and friendly staff are very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Clarion Post / Lars Olemyr
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location was great, right across from the train station. It was a hype place,where the bar was usually filled with crowd after office hours. Breakfast was amazing, with a big selection. The room had nice decoration, clean and quiet, and the ipod dock was nice bonus to have.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank c1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi ,
And thank you for your review. So nice you hear your comments about our breakfast. This is one of the more important parts of a Hotel experience and we have put a lot of effort on improving the product making it just as you say amazing.

Hope to welcome you soon again,

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is first class and the rooms comfortable and quiet. Excellent gym (if not a little difficult to find first time) is great for a workout. Excellent central location right by the Central Station and very near the large Nordstan shopping mall where there are some good deals to be had. The bar in the hotel on the ground floor is quite big but is a very popular spot for locals to be seen so it gets very busy with non guests which is frustrating because service is appallingly slow both when it is busy and quieter. Remembers this is not a cheap place to drink so the service needs to be much better. Swedes seem to drink flash cocktails which take forever to make, only exacerbating the issue when all you want is a glass of beer or wine. If like me you choke on European morning coffee which you can stand our spoon up in, head over to the train station, in the front door and turn left. There's a Starbucks right there which isn't usually too busy (because the locals are drinking the bitumen equavilent, spoon standing up version) and the service is great. They remembered my 'not at all' Swedish name after just one visit and made the same drink each day I visited for the rest of the week.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ClivenMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
ClivenMel,
Thank you four your long and comprehensive review. Nice to hear that you liked our hotel and spa/gym . It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lars.Olemyr@choice.se
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great location, right across the train station. Breakfast was really good with a great choice of different food. The rooms are nice and well-decorated. I particularly like the iPhone deck :-) But I think the rooms are a bit too small...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamCandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
MamCandig
Thank you for feedback . Nice to hear that you liked our breakfast . You have to contact me next time in Gothenburg and I´ll make sure that you will get a bigger room .

Best regards,

Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing