We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent stay!”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Magnificent stay!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Amazing decor and atmosphere! Dark, stylish and cozy. Lots of nice areas to sit and have a drink and relax. I felt so at home!
The room was very well appointed and clean. The bedcover even felt clean which is rare. Loved the huge pillows! We only had a standard room, but it was far better than most hotels we had stayed at. Even luxury hotels. The only negative is that there is no heating in the bathroom.
Breakfast was by far the best we have had. Huge selection, great quality and well presented. As previous reviewers have mentioned they have had sine logistic problems with breakfast, but this seems to have been solved as we had breakfast at peak hours and didn't experience any problems.
Very good service from everyone from front desk to room service.
Keep up the good work, we'll definately will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaprifol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    906
    338
    151
    47
See reviews for
481
1,075
66
804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed in November and was impressed with the layout making a large hotel seem a little more relaxing than other chain hotels. They really have tried with the decor and it makes a difference; if a little hard to find somewhere to site downstairs due to all the 'areas' that they have made.

The rooms: compact. The envy of our groups was the person who had TWO chairs in theirs. They are small... so don't expect a cat to want to join you...

Food expensive - don't bother and go to the great choice of restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was busy, but a good layout making it easy to get what you needed.

A good stay - recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The check in staff are nice. The bar in the evenings is buzzy. The walk to the rooms is along a long empty hall. The lifts are all mirrored and the room is sparse.  The shower has a soap dispenser which says for hands hair face it reminds me of that cheap stuff at my local gym. However, waste not. It nice and clean and the room service steak was top notch, massive upside surprise I kid you not.  However, try watch a paid for movie and you have to use there keyboard and input your credit card details as it is separate from the hotel. What a mission, the keyboard is fiddly and errors are punished with a kinda start again routine.  However the cab that I ordered came on time and the next cab that the receptionist got to pick me up from a strange location all worked well.  I blow hot and cold about this hotel. It blows particularly cold in the bathroom due to a massive gap at the bottom of the door, but reception and room servive is hot. The strangest concept is that they talk about the Clarion it as if it were human.  Clarion likes coffee clarion likes this clarion likes this clarion likes that, so a little quirky and I would go back.  

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very well designed, nicely decorated hotel bang opposite to the central station and Nordstand mall. The hotel is tastefully decorated, actually the old post references are used nicely. THe new tower offers modern rooms as well. Could not use the pool but they have a warm pool on 13th floor of the new tower. The breakfast buffet is just sufficient but unfortunately the space is pretty cramped and when the hotel is full actually you may not be able to walk freely with plates full in your hand during peak breakfast hours. There are some good restaurants around this place and even this hotel has nice restaurants. The place is quite popular in local crowd as you can see lots of people in lobby even in late hours of night.
The hotel will be convenient if you are travelling in a train as the airport could be little far

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vichavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business trip. Friendly and nice staff, nice clean rooms. Excellent decorations for christmas. The restaurant in the hotel is popular and it can be difficult to get a table. Had a room towards the central station, so bit noise, but ok

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Got a good deal and stayed 2 nights. Everything is brilliant; rooms, location, breakfast and interior decoration. We didn't try the spa or the rooftop terrace but I assume their just as good. Flawless is all I can say really.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAD035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your nice review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you like the rooms, breakfast and interior decoration. And next time do not forget our rooftop pool terrace.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Lars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December 2012. As others have said, the exterior, lobby and communal areas are all very nice. The bar downstairs is particularly welcoming. The rooms are fairly small, but adequate. The big problem is that the hotel is very, very busy. Breakfast is of a good standard, but there are hundreds of people all trying to eat at the same time. Checkout is similarly hectic. This is a difficult issue for management - perhaps breakfast should not be included in the room rate. Overall, a good hotel - a cosy downstairs area once the crowd has died down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndPulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
AndPull thank you for your review.

Happy to hear that you liked our lobby & downstairs area. Weekends in December has been one of our busiest over the year and it is around 10:00 am when most of our guests will have there breakfast. We will however keep breakfast included in the room price. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you pass by Göteborg .

Best regards,

Lars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing