We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in Gotenburg, Sweden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A night in Gotenburg, Sweden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were taken to this hotel as part of a week's touring different cities.
Our short stay in Goteborg, as the locals spell it, we arrived at this converted hotel.
It used to be the town's Post Office.
A very nice building, with a renovation, and a modern contemporary addition.
The building is very well appointed, with clean modern contemporary design.
Located in the plaza next to the Central Station, it seems to be a gathering point for the locals.
During summer, when the weather is pretty decent, you can have a drink or two on its outdoor bar, overlooking the plaza.

We stayed in the new tower, the rooms were a bit small, but they had all the toiletries that a 5 Star Hotel should have.
The rooms at the new tower do have paper thin walls, so you will be hearing your next room neighbor.

Breakfast is included, and it is one amazing breakfast bar, that includes cheeses, fruits, breads, coffee, omelets, etc.

Definitely a good option if you are in the land where Volvo's come from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taco_Connosieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Clarion Hotel Post. Thank you for taking your time to write this, its very appreciated.
The building is fantastic with a great history behind it.

Hope to see you in Goteborg again soon :)

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    866
    318
    142
    44
See reviews for
459
1,031
63
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I felt like I was on display checking into this hotel. Great kication nebtrain station. The building is impressive, the entrance flash and the concept unique by it didn't really work for me. The foyer was like a bar and there was a lineup for the bar at the hotel entrance. I had to trudge past people dolled up after long bus journey with luggage- felt wrong l. Luckily room was ultra modern and brekky good and I didn't hear bar noise but overall just wasn't cosy or welcoming for me. Check out line was a nightmare

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazpotato78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi, thank you for doing this review, it´s so important. Great that you liked the room and I hope that you got a good nights sleep. The design of the hotel is different and we wanted to make this building special considering the great history behind it.
Sorry about the problems you had coming in to the hotel and when checking out. I will take this with me and take it up for discussion on the next meeting.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in the heart of the city of Gothenburg, just next to the centralstation. Its just not a hotel but a very good resturant. The decoration inside is alittle bit "dark" for my taste but that should not affect the review imo, its a 5 points hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi Daniel, Thank you for this fantastic review and for taking your time to write this. It´s so nice to hear that you had a nice stay here at Clarion Hotel Post and that you also enjoyed the food.

Hope to see you here in Gothenburg again

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

New and very fancy for a Clarion. It has a very good looking lobby. Location was superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamTrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi DreamTrip2

We are happy to here from you and we are very grateful for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again and look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for a weekend at the new Clarions POst hotel. The rooms were fairly small but they had what you needed and very comforable bed and bed sheets which I appriciate.

There was the latest multimedia equipment and modern comforable furniture. Very relaxing dark fabrics.

Room service was a bit overpriced and nothing special.

Receptions staff was very service minded and did a great job with any kind of request.
However Bar personnel and espicially the ones working the late shift were a bit rude actually.

All in all me and a my wife had a great stay and I will come back next time I am in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi, it´s so nice that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here at Clarion Hotel Post. Thank you for writing this great review so we can improve on the things that you mentioned before you visit us the next time!

Hope to see you and your wife in Gothenburg again

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel for 100%! The room was nice and it was easy to fit in 2 adults and 2 kids. The bed was great and the TV-set was very modern with direct connection to internet. Room service was also fine and efficient. Breakfast was great, specially the omelet choice. Very healthy choice of food for breakfast! we also loved the heated pool on the 13th floor with a great view over the city! Highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi, this is just so nice to see and it´s just great that you and your family enjoyed your 3 days in Gothenburg. A big thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Hope to see you again

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our visit here was one I the best restaurant visits I ever made. I would have given the restaurant Excelent if just there was more whines on the winelist under SEK 1000:-. Service great, fast and accurate.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi Jonas, Thank you for taking your time to write this and Norda Bar & Grill will be so happy to see this. I will see if we can make some changes in the wine list for the future.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing