We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new and beautiful, but no free spa.”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“brand new and beautiful, but no free spa.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed there for one night in May, on a business trip.
The room was quite big, with two single beds. Thick bathrobes in the closet - I very much appreciated this - but no slippers. Which was weird, since it seems to be branding itself as a luxurious hotel with spa-facilities. I hate wearing my out-door-shoes to go to the spa.

I think that the newness of the hotel was part of the good impression. Everything seemed so clean and fresh. It is a very charming building - an old post central, and charming details like old doors and windows are kept in the new interior.

The bathroom was big, with bathtub and shower - the shower a proper, separate shower, not a "shower in the bathtub solution" which i appreciate very much. But the floor was a bit cold, though - and I didn't find any thermostat for the floor heating. The room, too, was a bit cold - but I found the thermostat for that, albeit as I was leaving, so it was no use :) One thing i found disappointing, was the lack of small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel and lotion. I had expected that at a hotel like this, but there were only a soapdispenser in the shower. Is it part of the "green" branding that Peter Stordalen is going for?

Also, it seemed that the spa was not included for hotel guests. Hotel guests got some discount, but not free entrance. I never got around to check how much that was, though. It seemed strange to me that hotel guests should not be able to use the saunas for free.

But i loved the huge pillow on my bed! It was actually too big to sleep comfortably on, but I just love the fact that there was one there - perfect for when reading in bed or watching TV. AND they had also provided a smaller pillow that was great for sleeping - slept like a baby that night.

The breakfast was very nice, with an omelette-chef making omelette with filling of your own choice. But coffee came from one of those big coffee-machines - one of the better ones, for sure, but that never gets as good as really freshly brewed coffee.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the canal. 5th floor. very quiet and very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again soon

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    904
    336
    151
    47
See reviews for
480
1,075
65
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nice hotel with comfortable beds and a large breakfast with made-to-order omelets and eggs.
A bit expencive and not as good a location as Avalon etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familiemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again soon

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My room was comfortable. The restaurant was very good. Breakfast was abundant and beautiful. The location is central. Service was perfect. What could I for more? Or maybe... That the rooftop pool would be open until later in the day!..
Mikaela and Jessica at the reception are EXCELLENT hosts: I was in good hands

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lciani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. The pool area are open late during the summertime when we jave pool personal up there.

I will tell them how pleased you were with them.

Hope to see you in Gothenburg again soon

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

THE POSITIVES
-The hotel is brand new, a rebuilding project of the old central post office – a stone palace – in the central Gothenburg – close to shopping, restaurants and the central station.
-Most areas of the hotel are beautiful – the bar, restaurant, SPA, outdoor pool on the 13th floor, reception and entry hall!
-Food served is great – Restaurant Norda (owned? by Marcus that occasionally treats Barrack Obama to a meal) and the Bar (with great drinks and shrimp sandwiches) and the breakfast buffe (with most western morning food that you could ask for).
-Rooms are nice and clean and have great TV/Multimedia sets.
-The GYM – can’t tell you how nice and well equipped it is – three rooms full of space and machines.
-And ALL the staff was great – even though I first was in a bad mood (due to the bad first impression of the hotel – se improvement possibilities).
THE IMPROVEMENT POSSIBILITIES
-When we arrived at the hotel on the Friday afternoon we had to pass several barriers that the hotel had set up to keep local after-work visitors in order. People where standing line to be let in and as we stepped into the beautiful entry hall we where hit by loud music streaming out of the bar and had to cruise between minglers carrying a glas of beers in the entryhall/reception area. What a bad first impression! I would have wished for a harmonious oasis to relax in. At this point the hotel does not offer calm in the common areas. Later, we had to change rooms as the (live) music and beat from the restaurant would have kept us awake. Fortunately there was a room free to change to.
We had dinner in the Norda Restaurant and even though the food was fabulous it became a unharmonious dinner as the loud music from the bar mixed with the live music from the restaurant (no direct walls to keep them apart).
PLEASE TEND TO THESE IMPROVEMENTS, BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE TO COME BACK AND VISIT THE OASIS THAT THIS HOTEL COULD BE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi, thank you for this fantastic review and for taking your time to write it. This is so important for us at Clarion Hotel Post. It´s great that you like the hotel.
I will take that about the bar music with me, i am already discussing it so we will look into it!

Hope to see you here again!

Best regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Spent just one night at the hotel. The hotel is very stylish and new. The bar extremely trendy. Rooms a comfortable. Central location (across from station and 20mins from airport). It would be a 4/5 stars in my estimation if it had not been for their poor room service. I ordered just a salad for dinner and they messed it up totally and then refused to come back to sort it out claiming they were too busy....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review so we can get the information about your last visit and see what we can improve. It´s nice to hear that you liked the design and the rooms. We are so sorry about the problem you experienced and that shouldn´t happen to you.
I will do my best to make this better in the future!

Hope to see you here again!

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This beautifully renovated old post office makes an interesting hotel. It's huge and thus somewhat impersonal, but definitely fun & trendy. Our first room (in the old part) was really small and had very little space to put your clothes (typical for European hotels); we didn't love the view, so we asked for a different room. Our second room (also in the old part) was almost twice the size with a separate shower, double sinks & adjustable height make-up mirror in the bathroom, plus lots of storage space in the bedroom area. The front desk and housekeeping staff was awesome, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. We were always able to find a place to sit (I read some complaints on that). The location is great, right near the bus station, train stop & shopping mall. The bar is very popular, but there was virtually no wait staff and somewhat rude bartenders . . . I guess that's what you get when there is a huge line of people waiting to get in. If you like energy and a good vibe (and don't mind a long walk to your room), I would recommend this hotel. If not, opt for one of the smaller hotels in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Clarion Hotel Post. Thank you for taking your time to write this and this information is great for us and for other guests.
I´m glad that you got to change room so you got more space :)

Hope to see you here again!

Best Regards
Kim Wennerström
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As someone that stays in lots of Hotels I was a little underwhelmed by this offering. I know April's are cold in Gothenburg but was disappointed that the hotel pool was closed on my visit. We was told for a charge (which was fairly excessive) we could use the spa facilities. Additionally despite staying at the hotel the restaurant couldn't accommodate our dining needs which was poor, particularly with the snobbish service we received from the host. Other than that the rooms very clean and modern (if a tiny bit small) and breakfast hearty enough to get you through the cold winter weather this time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing