We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great hotel. Everybody who works there is extremely helpful :-) Lot´s of people visiting the hotel every day. Very popular. Great breakfast and great restaurant. Very quiet rooms with lovely views. Great location in the middle of everything. If you`re in Gothenburg, this is where you should be staying :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas A, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review Silje! Have a great day and welcome back! Kind regards Andreas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

Clean, modern hotel. The check in was ok, good, fast service. The rooms were ok, no safe, but everything else you might need. A very nice touch was the his and hers towels (grey and white towels), free wifi. We stayed from friday to sunday, on saturday morning we drank one cup of coffee and one cup of tea each, so when we arrived back in the evening we expected it to be restocked. It wasn't so we asked in reception if we could have som sugar, tea and coffee for our room. Ofcourse, but since it was in the evening we had to pay a 95SEK room service charge. For instant coffe, two teabags and some sugar?!!! Oh, no but ofcourse if we thought that was a bit much we could order some coffee in the bar, in the very overcrowded, very popular bar. At a charge ofcourse. That's also a drawback, during saturday evening the backenterance was closed for a while due to a private party and the front enterance is crowded due to the popular bar. You can walk right past the kew if you're a hotelguest, but still, if you have children it's not very nice. We had a nice quiet room in the back, I am very happy we didn't have a room above the bar.

All in all, because they wanted to charge us 95SEK for teabags, because they put their barguests above their hotelguests and a few other small details that annoyed me I would recommend you choose another hotel in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not above the bar I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear "EGHT",

Thank you so much for your good review of us.
I'm glad to hear that you liked the grey/ white towels but I'm very sad to read your comments regarding the other things.

You should of course not have to pay for us restocking the Tea- and coffee buffet.
Your case has now been flagged with highest priority and this should never again happen!

Our bar is really popular on weekends, from both hotel guests and the locals. This has been one of our goals but we are trying to optimize the flow to the both bars and the second entrance.

We would really like to hear from you. Would you be so kind contacting us so that we can offer you the money back for the room service charge etc. Please refer to me, Andreas.

I really hope that we can sort everything out and that could welcome you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Andreas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed there 14 days after opening. The building is Gothenburg*s old Post office, nicely converted into a veeeeery large hotel. The reception and "public" areas are spacious, at least my room was standard size with a rather small bathroom. . Check-in was very friendly and effective ; checkout not. My bill was not correct, but they were unable to correct it even after coming back to the reception, and as of today my credit card is still charged with the incorrect balance. The rooms are nice but dark, and the windows cannot be opened for fresh air - not good when the minimum temperature for the vent system is 19c. I am sure that the TV system is very sophisticated. I fount it complicated and very slow.
Breakfast was very good, and this being a Friday morning not crowded at all. The much advertised outdoor terrace with swimmingpool was closed during my whole stay - they had even made the lifts stop one floor early. But all in all - when the initial weaknesses are cleared away - this will be a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aimar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas A, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear "Aimar45",

Thank you so much for review and great feedback. Your feedback means everything for us!
First of all we would really like you to contact us so that we can adjust the incorrect bill for you.

I'm sad to hear that you find our rooms dark. Could it have been something with the lightning or maybe shadow to the hotel building that mad your room dark maybe. Anyway we are going to check the lightning on the rooms.

All windows are locked due to safety and to protect the original windows from the 1920's. Our provider of the worlds first Google Android TV, People of Lava is now trying to speed up the system.

The outdoor terrace will open late April this year and the rooftop terrace with swimming pool is now open.

We really hope that we would have the honor welcoming you again.

Please don't hesitate contacting me personally if you have any further questions or comments.

Ps. don’t forget to contact us so that can fix the incorrect bill.

Kind regards,
Andreas Antonsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed three nights thursday-sunday at Clarion Hotel Post one week after the opening of the hotel that had been in end january. The location is good close to the central railway station and a few blocks from all the shopping. The square in front is also a big junction for the tram lines. Its a very large hotel and they also have large reception rooms and banquet and conference rooms so there are always a lot of people around entering or leaving conferences or just having some kind of party. This means that the single guests are a bit forgotten among all these conference guests. That was the impression we got anyway. There is a very nice lobby bar on the entrance floor with high qualified bartenders. They play music all night which is nice if youre in the bar but the sound from the beat was heard also on floor 6 where we had our room until 2 am at night. We just wonder how bad it is on the lower floors. We were upgraded from standard to a superior I believe. It had a separate bedroom and livingroom section. The room had a nespresso machine but no coffee to go with it. After having complained we got some the second night. There were two large flat tv screens one of them worked also as a kind of computer. Wifi is free of charge and worked well. Bathroom had a tiny bathtub and a separeate shower and two hand baisins. Its very easy to overhear every word from your neighbours in the bathroom because of thin walls so beware what you say in there. The room was extremely dark in coulours and had no accent colors at all and no paintings or art. Well kept and clean ofcourse since it was new. The breakfast buffet is a nightmare worst we have ever experienced at any hotel and we have been to many. The hotel is gigantic but the breakfast room is sooo tiny. So it was obvious that it got overcrowded during the weekend. People walked around with their food without finding any place to sit. The adjacent bar was also crowded with people having breakfast in all kind of available seast or sitting on tables. Despite the breakfast being obviously overcrowded the staff let new people in at the entrance cashier that hadnt prepaid the breakfast. We tried to tell the staff that this was a bit peculiar to let new guests in into an already overcrowded room without getting much response. There were plates missing, coffe machines empty of coffee, chaotic crowds trying to get what ever was left and worst of all empty plates and coffe cups everywhere in loads. So disgusting. We even complained at the spot to some staff during the breakfast and at check out. We were told their customer officer would mail us, we havent heard a thing. So its a big hotel, dark rooms, chaotic breakfast and with pricelevel higher than other hotels of the same standard and class in the same area. We do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

In he centre of Town the old post office start as hotel ,Light shining approch .Small rooms.
Gentle service . Nice bar ,acceptable food. But in any case minimal must have a limit .

Room Tip: Asked rooms to be near the elevator ,if you don't want to walk.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikos1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Superb hotel, fantastic exterior, interior and staff. one tip is to order taxies in the reception, do not take the ones park on the street they are not all that serius.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG-Marienlyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank FlashPackerSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $157 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing