We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never met more helpful staff. GREAT place for the price!”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

First off, the only thing I found difficult was planning in advance our route from the airport to the hotel. What I recommend is what we figured out upon arrival. Take the "Flygbussarna" from Landvetter Airport to the city center. Get off at the last stop--Nils Ericson bus terminal. At the terminal, go to the "Vasttrafik" booth, draw a number to get your place in line, and when it's your turn at the window, purchase a pass for 1-3 days all-you-can-ride use of the local public transportation (including the ferries to the islands!). We purchased the type of pass that's just for transportation, although there's another type that gets you free entry into some of the local tourist attractions. From there, catch tram #9 heading toward "Kungssten." You'll get off at the stop "Chapmans Torg," from which it's a 1-minute walk to the Spar Hotel.
The hotel was GREAT! We stayed 4 nights for a combined business/pleasure trip. Staff were so helpful advising us on transportation to our conference, recommending places to see and things to do, answering every annoying touristy question we had with grace and cheer. The room was small but immaculately clean. No air conditioning, but the night air coming in through the windows made it cool enough to sleep. Breakfast was a fantastic, hearty spread of breads and toppings, those delicious waffles (go early to avoid a line for the waffle iron!), cereals, yogurt, fruit, eggs, etc. Yum! I had such a wonderful time in Gothenburg, and if I could go there again, I'd stay at Spar Hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyttipanna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your very positive review of our hotel. I will make sure to the let the team read your review. Our team at Spar Majorna has been with us for a long time and are very committed to their work and are also great collegues to work with!
As you mention the waffles are very popular and this can sometimes create a line, especially when the hotel is very busy with a lot of guests. We´ll try to work out a solution for this.
Once again, thank you for taking time writing your review. I hope we´ll see you in our hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Spar Hotel Majorna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 573 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

I just wished they where closer to the center.
Howvere the helpful staff had posted information on how to get to the fair and to center by tram.
I ate in the hotel once, and it was good, with good rates.
the breakfast was really good, and just what I needed for a long day at the fair.
The rooms are a little small but the tv is the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel, and a good selection of channels (most of them swedish, but with many international programs)
the bathroom was quite big though, especially the shower! :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greektraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2010

Dear Greektraveller,
thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I hope we´ll see you again next time you visit Göteborg.

Kind regards
T Wibeck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed in the Spar Majorna for 2 nights in October. Easily accessed by tram from city centre (No 9 or 3, get off at Chapmans Torg). Room was quite small but very clean and modern. Large LCD tv attached to the wall (most channels are in English, also 2 movie channels which showed relatively new films). Reviews of the breakfast were not wrong - cereals, breads, rolls, eggs(scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled), bacon, sausages, rollmops, cheeses and meats, waffles (with jam and cream mmmmm) fresh fruit, orange juice, yoghurt drinks, tea and coffee - i liked the breakfast :-)

We had a 'granlit' room which i was a little concerned about after reading reviews on other sites as the bed was reportably very small. Maybe a touch smaller than your normal double but not too small it caused any problems.

Staff were very helpful. We didn't go to the hotel bar or restaurant so cannot comment on those. Not a great selection on the menu. Hotel also has a fitness room and sauna but again did not use these.

Do visit Slottsskogen park and take a walk through Haga, the old town. Universeum is also worth a visit. October is not the best time of year to visit Gothenburg - no sightseeing tours or padden boat trips. We took the island ferry to Styrso though, a beautiful island but very cold in October - also everything was closed. Would be lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Hotel is situated a little out of the city centre but is easy to catch the tram into town. Taxi rides are very expensive and cost us £26.00 from the city back to the hotel.

Rooms are small and fairly spartan but OK for an overnight business stay. Reception staff were friendly and allowed us to check-in early. OK for business not for pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Senor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

A reasonable hotel in a quiet part of town just out from the central area. The room was what you would normally expect but the air-conditioning didn't appear to be working over the v.hot weekend we were there( 31-33 degrees) and the windows in our room did not open v .wide. Hotel is a short taxi ride from the ferry terminal for Denmark. The centre can be reached on two tram routes; the stop is 100 metres away from the hotel. Good breakfast selection.

JM Wycombe, England

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is not the best choice in Gothenburg. The view from a small budget-look-alike room was right at some wall in front, location not far from but still not romantic at all.
However, it is still cosy if you don't except extraordinary enviroment.
Lobby - the best place at that hotel) Thanks, Teresa)))

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_denys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The hotel was under renovation. The rooms were already done, but some areas were still under work. I don't know if it was because of the undergoing renovation, but in the corridors there was a weird smell. Fortunately, it didn't come into the rooms.

The room was quite small. You could hear the trams passing, but in the 8th floor it didn't disturb. As the rooms were recently renovated, they were clean. The rooms were supposed to have free wireless Internet, but at least to our room the coverage was so poor, that the connection didn't work in the practice (in the corridor it worked fine).

There is only one elevator going up to the 8th floor and it is quite old. When going up in the elevator for the first time, you might get a bad expectation about what the room is going to be like... Fortunately, the rooms are (a lot) better.

During the weekend, the breakfast room was packed at 8.30 am and the staff couldn't keep up with the amount of people there. They ran out of plates, glasses and mugs and it took a while for them to bring new ones - then having a bunch of people rushing to get them. Going early to the breakfast made it much more convenient.

There is a tram stop just a few hundred meters away from the hotel and it takes about 20 minutes to the city center. Parking is free in case you come by car.

Like the name says, this hotel has the basics for a cheap price. If that's what you want, then this hotel is ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing