We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good price.”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The second time I have stayed there, both on business. It seams the 8th floor has been recently renovated and the rooms are perfect.
Breakfast is good, the only small issue was not getting WiFi on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsb_champ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive remarks regarding your stay with us.
We´ve had some problems with the wifi during summer but I am happy to report that since two weeks the wifi is up and running perfectly in the whole house.
I am to see you soon again,

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 598 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are small (I'm a petite female, and I think the rooms are small) so make sure that you know that before you book a room. I was prepared for the small size because I'd stayed at a hotel in Copenhagen before checking into the Spar Hotel Majorna. I think the room size works for one person, but I can't imagine it working for more than one person.

Even though the rooms were smaller than what I would have liked, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly, nice and very professional. They helped me navigate the trams and recommended nice areas to go for lunch and dinner.

The room I had was tastefully decorated and quite pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotless. I have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as clean as this hotel. I also enjoyed the breakfast (except for the scrambled eggs) that was included in the room rate. Wireless was also included in the room rate and worked well.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and recommend it to any solo traveler. I's a great bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfpackgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.
We have six different roomtypes, so for your next visit we can hopefully offer you a larger room to better accomodate your needs.
We hope to see you soon again,

kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of a six week trip an DC four at the end.Rooms were big,spotless, cheerful friendly and helpful staff. Parking for fifty cars, first come first served.Buffet was gteat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am very please you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On transit in Gothenburg we stayed at the Spar Hotel Majorna. It is a budget hotel, but tidy, fine service, small but comfortable rooms. Non smoking. Good breakfast and parking facilities, as well as internet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013
Google Translation

Bäste gäst,

tack för ditt omdöme om din vistelse hos oss.
Det är glädjande att du är så nöjd med ditt besök, jag hoppas du återkommer snart igen, varmt välkommen tillbaka!
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very customer friendly hotel. The room was clean and fresh. The staff was very helful. Breakfast is served until 12 noon during summer! There's even an ice maker next to the dining room. The hotel's parking is free but it can get full during these high season days, but we were able to use the next door public parking for 12kr/hour day time. I would definitely choose to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013
Google Translation

Kära gäst,

tack för ditt fina omdöme om din vistels hos oss.
Det är väldigt glädjande att ni har haft en trevlig vistelse, och jag önskar er varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss.
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I just looked for a hotel to spend one night at during a cross-country trip. when I pulled up I doubt my choice, as the neighborhood did not look so great (though someone familiar with the area might disagree). But the hotel was great: renovated, modern, clean. The room and bathroom were good and comfortable. Breakfast was great! There is free parking available, unfortunately the garage was full when I checked in. all-in-all: good choice for a one night stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Majorna is a residencial area in the west areas of Göteborg, with a relaxed atmosphere, inhabited with many young couples and families, and very popular for it´s close location to the city center.
I am very happy to read that you are satisified with your stay with us, and hope that you will return soon again.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#22 of 65 in Gothenburg
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.1 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#37 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#18 of 65 in Gothenburg
776 reviews
4.5 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#29 of 65 in Gothenburg
625 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $96 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing