We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be here or not to be...”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“To be here or not to be...”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This three star hotel in Göteborg is very nice. The staff is also very nice, the room is clean. It has free fast Internet and breakfast is included, however not so rich as usual in Swedish hotels.

But to recommend this hotel is more difficult because it depends of why you are in Göteborg and also if you come to the town by train, flight, boat or car. I will here try to give you ideas so it will be easier for you to choose between the hotels in this town.

Spar hotel Majorna, is situated not far from the ferries to/from Denmark and Germany. So are you going by boat, this hotel can be a good choice. If you also are travelling by car, the hotel is a very good alternative as it’s easy to reach from the ferry-terminal but also if you come from the countryside in Sweden. The hotel offers free parking place in their own garage. They don’t guarantee any place but they have a lot of places in the garage so the probability to get a place there is high.

But if you come to Göteborg by train or flight, then it’s difficult to find the hotel so easiest is to take a taxi. When you have reached the hotel you can get information how to go to the city center by tram (takes about 10 min). Unfortunately the tram ticket is a little bit high, so you have to calculate with travel costs from and to the hotel which you have to add to your vacation budget.

My recommendation is for you, who would like to see the town, to look for another hotel in the city center. During summer time you can find very nice hotels with very special summer prices there. Unfortunately, Spar Hotel Majorna during the summer, can be more expensive than the cheapest four star hotel in the city!

If you come to Göteborg by car for a stop-over, or you are interested in to explore the surroundings of Göteborg, this hotel is perfect! That is: The hotel is nice but a little bit badly situated for the person who only has come to see the city. And to take your car to the city center is not to recommend as it can be difficult to find a parking place and it is also expensive to park there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    267
    98
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
196
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Very basic hotel, I would normally stay in the city but it seemed like everywhere was full or if not they were looking for £300 a night.
Found this place on the internet and seemed okay at £100 a night.
It is well out the way of where you would ideally want to be, although trams are adjacent to the hotel and you can get around easily enough.
Made mistake of booking a taxi for 5 minute ride into town and was charged £20?!
Hotel is clean enough and fairly comfortable but I would look nearer the centre if you can.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFoodLoverGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

While in Gothenburg for a major music festival, we stayed three nights at Spar Hotel Majorna in August 2010. For what you get - a tiny room far from the city centre - the rates are pretty high. There’s nothing of interest in the area around the hotel - apart from a tram stop, from where you can reach the city centre in 15-20 minutes. The rooms are clean, and the free breakfast is a plus, but all in all you would be happier by choosing another hotel in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Service ok, hotel and room ok. No minibar, so sewing kit or something like that (poor). Bed is small and hard. Wifi is ok, free. Breakfast is ok. the restaurant you should skip.
The bath tup and shower is a bit strange (not fixed to the wall, the whole water runs down the side). Overall it´s clean, but down´t look to much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear guest,

thank you for your review of our hotel.
Spar Hotel is a privately owned 3star hotel in the economy sector, with a variety of rooms on offer. We have some larger rooms where we offer fridge, microwave, and coffee&tea facilites and very spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. We do not offer sewing kits on the rooms as a standard, but we have them available for free at the reception, you just need to ask and we are happy to provide you with one.
I´m sorry to learn that you would not recommend our hotel and not stay here again, maybe we were not the correct choice for you.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Our family of five stayed in two rooms. The hotel has the traditional 70ies layout which equally sized rooms, but it has been totally renovated and we found it very nicely transformed even though rooms are quite small.
Good beds, but noise from the street trams also at night.
The location is far from central and the hotel parking is regretfully too small for the guest number. You can park in the street, but it is costly.
The breakfast is a bit noisy and cramped, but OK when it comes to choises even though without any inspiration. It works, though.
The best with the hotel is that the prices are OK and that it is clean and not yet worn.
(There is a small Greek/Turkish restaurant Effessos in the same street, can not be recommended enough! Such good food and rich portions for reasonable money)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizLeisureFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Be aware, the double bed in the standard room is only 140cm wide, which we at least considered to be too narrow. The standard room is also smallish.

We also had a superior twin room, which was larger.

Both rooms were to the side of the yard, appeared as clean and provided with a good sleep with some reservations to the double bed width already mentioned.

This hotel is a walking distance from Stena Line Germany terminal and 3 tram stops from Stena Line Danmark terminal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_chap_from_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This hotel was ok in many ways, but there were a few things that didn't make it any better than just ok, so i was surprised to see it ranked at 10th best in Göteborg when i booked!
Definitely make sure you ask for a room facing the backyard if you choose this hotel!!!

PROS
- Rooms were clean and upgraded with a good bathroom.
- Nice staff.
- Breakfast had the usual buffet offering, but from a Swedish hotel standard was disappointing.
- Free parking in garage!
- Wireless internet worked great in the room.

CONS
- Location of the hotel is 3-4km out the city center but the tram stop is quite close and takes about 15minutes.
- Rooms on the road/tram side are very noisy/not quiet at all, especially if you like the window open for some fresh air in the summer.
- The bar is literally in the reception so not really a bar at all, the drinks are served at the reception desk.
- Pillows are lumpy & worn out, very cheap IKEA product, but you can get 2 which helps a little if you ask.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Property: Spar Hotel Majorna
Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with bar and breakfast buffet is located near the ferry terminals; 3 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing