We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location sucked but you get what you pay for”
Review of Spar Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spar Hotel Garda
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The location sucked but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Small rooms and crappy rules which means if you book a room for two adults and two children - you still only get three beds… This is a low budget hotel and it's situated in an area where there's nothing else but offices. There's one highlight though! The Dahls bakery outlet on the corner (open from 6AM-1PM on weekdays, not sure about weekends but they do stay open then also). Really delicious quality breads to outlet prices.

Fairly clean and not fantastic but reasonable price and a most mediocre hotel stay experience that you soon will forget. Be prepared to walk or go by pay transportation to everywhere since you'll be staying in nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangosteenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    229
    107
    15
    2
See reviews for
102
163
39
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a double room which had a good size. However the hotel is located near the highway and therefore it was not possible to open the window during the night as the traffic made to much noise. The windows did keep the sound outside the room though.
This was the first hotel we stayed in for 3 weeks which had lactose free products at breakfast, a big plus point.
The location of the hotel is kind of depressing though as it is in the middle of knowwere. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre which is ok and you can also take a bus or tram.

Overall it was a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.
We would choose a hotel in the centre next time though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Despite arriving at 9.30am, as our rooms were available they let us check in early. Rooms were small, but clean. Strolled into the city centre in about 20 minutes by following the tram lines. Taxis were around 150SEK (£15) from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Garda, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
When possible we always try to accomodate the rooms upon arrival, and I´m happy to learn we could help you this time. We have six different room types that varies in size so for your next visit maybe you can find a larger room to better suit your needs.
Once again thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived 5 hours before check in the hotel allowed us to store our bags until the room was ready. Room was not huge but more than adequate. Very clean with a comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast in the mornings went on until 12. The sauna was not available as it must be getting work done to it. Really nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night in June and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel: friendly staff, modern and comfortable decor, comfortable bed and fresh breakfast selection. I would stay here again if traveling through the region by car. However, the hotel itself is located along the highway, with a warehouse and stadium district separating it from the city of Goteborg. A taxi to the city costs roughly SEK 140 (€16), adding some cost to dinner.
W
I'm sure I could have found just as nice a place in town, but for less than SEK 1000 for a night, the Garda was a good bargain and a great place for one night. Just don't stay here if you're looking to spend a few days seeing sights.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Garda, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us, it is highly appreciated and helps us to better our work.
Spar Gårda is located very close to the Ullevi stadium and within walkin distance to the exhibition centre and 15min by walk from the central station, so just outside the very city centre. However arriving with a car we can offer our guests good parking facilites, and within walkin distance you can easily reach the city centre and different sights via bus or tram.
I´m very happy to learn that you are overall satisfied with your stay and would come again. we hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a nice hotel, situated close to E6, north of Gothenburg. It's about 20-25 minutes to walk to the railwaystation from the hotel. Soft & comfy beds, newly renovated, nice breakfast and helful, serviceminded staff. This is a bed & breakfast hotel, and I do not recommend to have dinner at the hotel. I am a frequent guest, because the hotel gives value for money when I am on business trips and only need a nice place to stay overnight. Nice terracce in the backyard on a sunny day. Free garage. Be aware that the rooms facing front could be a bit noisy, traffic on E6. The rooms facing the backyard is nice and calm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel approx 2km from the railway station. Easy to reach even with a nice walk in front of the stadium. Good rooms, not extremely big but sufficient for two people. very close to a road so it is not veeery quiet but I slept well. Good staff. Breakfast a little limited but good. Still slightly expensive compared to what I would have expected.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Garda, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.
We have six different room types in our hotel, so hopefully for your next visit you can find a larger roomtype that better suits your needs. I am sorry to read that you found the breakfastbuffét to be limited, we try to offer a wide variety of products and I would love to know what you missed. Spar Hotel is a 3-star hotel and we always try to offer the best rate to our guests compared to the market and our competitors.
The Spar in Gårda is indeed located next to a busy road, you can always request a room facing the court, and if possible we try to accomodate this.
We hope to welcome you as a guest in our hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Garda

Property: Spar Hotel Garda
Address: 15-17 Norra Kustbanegatan, Gothenburg 416 64, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#29 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Spar Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing