We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, comfy bed and amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located for shopping, public transport and business. I chose this location given that it is within 20-25 minutes walk from the convention centre where I was attending a conference for the week. The walk was very enjoyable, along the canals for part of the way.
This city is so stress-free in its ambience and very clean and green!! Its such a pleasure to see the gardens, trees and overall greenery in the European cities I've been to given that its simply not a priority for us back home in North American cities.
Sweden, of course, is on the expensive side, however I found the rate for this hotel, which included a continental breakfast that was the best I have had to date, and the very comfortable and pleasant room to be well worth the rate.
I have to say that what struck me the most about this hotel, and the room, was the design for optimal space efficiency. I have attached a few photos of the bathroom to show how well designed this 5' x 5' bathroom was. The shower glass doors that folded back were so very functional for ease of movement, and as well their curved shape provided an aesthetic that was appreciated.
The bed....hard to get out of...so comfortable.
There really is alot to be said about the form and function of Swedish design. I generally prefer a traditional english country/victorian decor, but I can now say that I have a real appreciation for the more contemporary/modern design that the Swedes are known for. Overall, a very pleasant stay
I must mention too, that it was the trip advisor review that made me decide on this hotel for my conference trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nammyohorengekyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
There are newer reviews for ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 953 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2009

Hotel location is very convenient, across the street from the train- and busstation. But didn't see the usual unpleasant people hanging around. Next to a shopping mall with supermarket etc. Streetcars leaving just in front of the hotel.
Lobby looked spotless, staff was very friendly. We had a room in the new part of the hotel, on the 5th floor (563), overlooking the busy streets. But with closed windows you didn't hear a thing, nothing. Room was a bit small, but okay for us. Very clean (every day), nice design, everything looked new. Flatscreen TV, complementary Wifi internet. Nice bathroom with half round shower doors.
Breakfast was included in the price. Eggs (scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled), fruit, cereals, differents kinds of bread, cheese, Swedish fish dishes...no need to stay hungry.
Found the best rate by making a reservation on the website of the hotel. That was an even better rate than the one they emailed me!
Didn't have a car, so don't know anything about parking facilities.
Great location, close to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I was fairly nervous heading to the Hotel Opera based on the mixed reviews here. For the price (under $125), it was by far the best deal on my recent vacation. I found the location across from the main rail station to be extremely convenient (without the usual train station vicinity issues) - and only about 10 minutes walk to the historic district.

It is currently being upgraded (likely the source of older unhappy reviews) but my room was clean, reasonably sized, was quiet and had a new plasma TV for late night viewing. The lack of a true shower "edge" in the bathroon does make it a bit messy the first time used but turning down the water pressure a little solved that problem.

The person commenting on the breakfast must be really picky or the selection has been recently upgraded. It was an amazing selection of hot & cold items from herring to meatballs to cheeses to fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices & hot drinks. A great selection that filled me up for most of the day.

My thought to anyone reading this is to book a room soon before the rates inevitably go up once all the upgrades are in place. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BananaSlugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Hotel Opera. Would I go back? No.

Good Points:

The location was ok. It was right next to the big shopping centre. It was about 15 minutes walk away from the main strip. There were much closer and nicer hotels nearer.

The rooms were clean.

The breakfast was alright.

The Staff, particularly the older lady, was nice.

Bad Points:

Oh my goodness the bathroom!!!!!!! It is the size of a cupboard!!! there is no bath, merely a drain in the floor that the water from the shower supposedly goes into. However, the bathroom floor regularly floods! It was dreadful!!

The whole room was very small and the paper thin walls were not great!

Overall, avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckymcewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I dont understand what the other folk on here were doing when they gave this hotel such a negative review, were they staying at the same hotel?

We were looking for a cheap holiday just before Christmas. Booking flights with Ryanair not only made the journey there incredibly cheap, but also provided a massive discount when booking directly with the hotel.

The room was very inexpensive so we weren't expecting much upon arrival, but we were pleasantly surprised!

The hotel entrance and lobby is very welcoming, nicely decorated and has a grand piano. This leads to the reception where we were met by a cheerful member of staff who immediately appologised for speaking Swedish and translated what she said into English (this happened a lot in Gothenburg, there was not a problem with the locals in any way whatsoever, especially in speaking English).

All the way to the room was well kept and immaculate condition, which followed through into the bedroom. It was quite small but more than adequate and well worth the money. It was extremely clean and the shower was so powerful, it was great!

This hotel couldn't be more central and is fantastic value for a short break in Gothenburg. You'll be hard pushed to find something at this price, of this quality and in this location.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank budd246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

This hotel is centrally location next to Nordstan (Sweden's Largest Mall) and near the Train station. The single room I booked was good and comfortable, nothing fancy. The breakfast was very good. A very affortable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank welena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Hotel Opera is in a great location. The hotel has a wide staircase and an elevator. The breakfast room is of moderate size, and offered a continental breakfast. Our room was smaller than we expected based on website photos, but it was very functional. We did notice larger rooms down the hall from our room. Our room had a trouser press, hairdryer and cable TV (with a number of English channels). Parking is plentiful at the shopping mall parking garage next door.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

Address: 23 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $137 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The hotel features a lobby bar and lounge, a wellness area with jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna. Wireless internet free of charge. The business, superior and deluxe rooms are located in the new building. The hotel also has a 3-star older part with comfortable accommodation at discounted rates. Public car-parking at reduced rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing