We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, aside from WIFI issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, aside from WIFI issue”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is nice, rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Bed is extraordinarily comfortable (could have slept the days away!). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Appreciated the soy milk at breakfast. Didn't check out the spa though, so can't comment on that. But I did have an issue with the WIFI - it doesn't work in all of the rooms! So the first night I had no internet connection. The next day I had to ask at reception and they had me take my laptop to two other rooms to see if it worked. it only worked in one. This indicates to me that their WIFI is totally unreliable in every room. I had to switch, which was a bit annoying. But this could be totally avoided if they ask their guests if they plan to use WIFI and put them in a room where there is a good connection. So I recommend that you ask for a room where the WIFI has a good reception when you check in to avoid this annoyance.

Room Tip: ask for one with good wifi reception if you plan to use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vingummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    339
    231
    75
    40
See reviews for
128
327
87
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is good and the lobby bar looks very modern and does good cocktails. However, once you pass that you realise this is an old building. The lifts must be from the 60s and seem to take ages to arrive and seem to get 'confused'. The routes to the fire exits are not clearly marked, so be sure to familiarise yourself with their locations straight away. Inside the room, trying to find a socket to charge your phone which does not require you to have the hallway light permanently on all night is impossible. I ended up having to unplug the TV on the wall and leave my phone dangling from that to get it charged. Finally, the soap in the shower was empty on arrival, which is basic stuff that this place failed to get right. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms towards the back of the hotel since these seem older
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_lewis_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the location. The tram stop is in front, the train station is across the street, the mall is around the corner, and the shopping area around the block. Everything is walking distance. We stayed in the new part of the hotel, facing the street, but it wasn't that noisy. The room was a bit small, but it wasn't much of a problem. The staff were friendly and allowed us an early check-in when we arrived at 11 am. The breakfast was very good, Wide assortment, although the dining area can get crowded fast. There is free wi-fi with a strong signal Over-all a very good stay, and I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Traveling in Scandinavia is very expensive, so when we found a good rate at a centrally located hotel we were excited. They stated that it was in the "old" section. In this case "old" meant small-room size & bed size on a lower floor. Did not work out too well for 2 adult children-ended up getting separate rooms for them. Parking was in the shopping mall next door-probably a + for families with teens. Easy to walk to everything from there.

Room Tip: "Old section" has small rooms & small beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TURing-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good location near the station so handy for airport bus etc. Had booked two nights in standard room (old part of building) followed by one night in business exec room in new wing. To my surprise they offered me 3 nights in business room to save me having to move - at no extra cost. The room was small but ideal for our needs. Free wifi, fridge, nice flat screen tv with BBC World news, iron, and wonderful wet room with a great power shower! Large patio style window with juliette balcony. Only suggestion would be some type of voile for privacy so as not to have to close curtains all the time. Trams outside a little noisy so maybe best to request room facing the rear of building? Breakfast included and plenty of choice including cooked, muesli (of course), toast, fruit, waffles, meat, breads etc etc.

Room Tip: Room in new wing towards rear to avoid tram noise (though not too bad really!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Gothenburg was the highlight of our trip on the west coast of Sweden and the Grand Opera probably the best hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, there is a children's playroom which we discovered all too late. Breakfast was very good. The only hotel I have been to where the reception desk is split in half between reception and bar. Great location although parking is horrendously expensive in the nearby shopping centre. No air-conditioning in summer was a bit warm in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

A very family friendly hotel. Unlike another hotel in Gothenburg (we checked at least 20) the hotel staff were very accommodating to our requests. Breakfast was very sumptuous and it's location is also ideal. In all a classic hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmrendraRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

Property: ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
Address: 23 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The hotel features a lobby bar and lounge, a wellness area with jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna. Wireless internet free of charge. The business, superior and deluxe rooms are located in the new building. The hotel also has a 3-star older part with comfortable accommodation at discounted rates. Public car-parking at reduced rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing