We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No value for money”
Review of Hotel Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Allen
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No value for money”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

At 1250 SEK a night this place is a no go. Seems like some people paid less, but I would give maximum 800 SEK for a double room there. Breakfast area is too small and got overcrowded. Not that it's a really bad hotel, but if you're looking right now, try another place ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
23
46
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Having just taken 14 guys there for a stag do I honestly could not find one fault with the place! Great location, great value, smart rooms, brilliant staff and the best of the lot- a superb breakfast- cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel was a bargain for the facilities and location. However I was there with a group of much younger people who were enjoying themselves to the early hours and thing that made this a special visit was the staff and their helpfulness against a background of high jinks. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Only stayed here for a night but I left feeling satisfied as it was fantastic value for the money. We rented a 3 bedroom private room for less than £30pp. The room was really spacious and reasonably clean. The bathroom was equipped with a large spa bath and I was surprised by the large LCD TV.

We arrived at the hotel for check in in around midday but the room was already available for us even though usual time was around 3pm. There is a desktop computer at reception for free internet where they also provide tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and cakes. There's even a shoe polishing machine across the reception desk! The staff were really friendly and helpful, they were more than happy to reprint our flight boarding passes for us. Checkout was at 11am but we left our baggage in their storeroom near reception.

The breakfast was adequate but I wasn't even aware that breakfast was included in the price we paid in the first place. They had a selection of bread, cheese, ham, fruits and juices. We came into the breakfast room at the last hour but people who arrived after us waited for tables.

Location wise it was great being 10 minutes walk away from Central Station/Nils Ericson Terminal where the airport bus (Flygbussarna) drop you off and pick you up from. The bus ride was only 25 mins from Gothenburg City Airport and we found that they are very punctual and leave the terminal on the dot so make sure you arrive on time! You can purchase your return airport transfer online (www.flygbussarna.se) for a little cheaper. Otherwise there's a newsagency inside the airport if you prefer to pay in cash or a machine at the bus stop which only takes credit card payments. The hotel was only 2 blocks away from the Kungsportsavenyen which is a strip of restaurants, pubs, shops and where the Poseidon statue was located but I recommend to go a little further to Linnégatan for a wider ranger of restaurants which we found a little cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhyalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The title is respectively for room, food and location.
A great value for money this hotel is.
You just cannot beat this location and the price you pay is quite reasonable.
We stayed for a week in this hotel and loved every bit of it. The breakfast spread was delicious and lot of options were there.

I used to take Bus#99 to office, which was a great convenience. Pressbyrån stayed open quite late and best of all the Avenyn was soooooo close.
Just 10 mins walk and you are in front of Nordstand.
I realize I can just go about the location :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riku27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in this Hotel October 2011 and found it to be a great find. Location was great, about 10 minutes from the Centeal Train Station and even less to local restaurants etc.
Rooms are very adequate with all hotel facilities. Room sizes due vary as we found out by asking to move to a larger room as our first room was quite small, really only suitable for 1 person rather than a couple. The female receptionist was very helpful and more than happy to move us to a larger room. The hotel at the moment is undergoing some room improvements but our stay wasn't disturbed by this at all.
Breakfast is simple but ok, although not many tables. If the hotel was full it may be a struggle to seat all guests. Free hot drinks are available 24 hours with the added bonus of free cake & fruit as well.
Overall a good 3* hotel, and one that I would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
888 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 863 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent a couple of nighs here in Sept 2011, having looked for a cheap hotel for a longweekend.

Firstly the location - a 10 min walk to the middle of the City it's ideal - very handy for the football ground and also v close to a bus station.

The young lady in reception was bubbly and friendly - happy to help out with various tourist questions too. Reception had a computer with free internet and free coffee / biscuits. A secure cupboard for left luggage a big plus.

No escaping the room is very basic - no wardrobe or drawers or ironing board or kettle or coffee or anything like that. But it was clen and the bed very soft and comfy. We had corner room which had big windows on 2 sides which semed odd ! The wifi was excellent - great to get free wifi as was the wall mounted lcd tv.

Breakfast was nice - hot bacon / meetballs and scrambled egg and all the usual cerials / bead / cheeses and cold meats.

Downsides ? Well on both nights there were periods of music coming from somewhere (Across a road ?), Also at breakfast there were more tables than dinners on Sunday morning - we waited 15 mins and went back - possinly just bad timing (Although some seasoned guests appeared to be getting their food on a tray and heading back to their rooms). As mentioned the rooms are basic (But comfortable and clean)

All these are small criticisms - concidering the costs of accomodation in Gothenberg the Allen is something of a godsend and for what we paid we were very happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#63 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#56 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allen

Property: Hotel Allen
Address: 10 Parkgatan, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Allen This good-value hotel is a 10-minute walk from Gothenburg Central Station and 300 yards from the main street, Avenyn. It features free Wi-Fi internet plus free tea, coffee and cake. Breakfast is always included in the price. Hotel Allen's rooms include flat-screen TVs with cable channels, hardwood floors and heated bathroom floors. A free internet computer can be found in the lobby, and front desk staff can offer local tips or book nearby restaurants. The Swedish Exhibition Centre and Liseberg Amusement Park are a 15-minute walk from Hotel Allen - Hotel Chain Sweden Hotels. Parking 150 SEK, please call Hotel Allen for reservation and availibility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing