We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,967 results
Traveler rating
466
836
438
159
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
466
836
438
159
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station shopping mall nice hotel perfect location decent size rooms are clean breakfast buffet is hotel is located the room was nice family room nice breakfast business trip city centre nordstan sauna laptop sweden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,967 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Great location, reasonable price for the area compared to other hotels. Excellent breakfast, lovely bar area and restaurant downstairs. Rooms were very average and plain, nothing wrong though, except no safe and fridge where we were. I liked it that there were recycling options in the room. Air conditioning was odd - only option was really for cold air, and couldn’t turn it off. We had warm weather so was not too much bother. Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean and fine. Staff was very helpful. Only real problem we had was that there was an open air concert on at the weekend and we could hear everything in the room we were first in, the music was really loud and went on at least until 1am. We asked to change rooms, which the hotel organised, and it was fine. I expect this was just unlucky and other hotels in city centre suffered from the same issue. Would stay again if I get a good deal, but didn’t like it so much to definitely want to stay there again at any cost.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank laurar32468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra-Europa, Kundansvarig at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you for your review, rating and for your time writing it.
We are very glad to you enjoyed the breakfast, bar and restaurant.
The open air concert was as you say unlucky, this was unfortunately something that we was not aware of before and it´s has never happend before.
I hope that we will see you here soon again!

Best regards,
Sandra, Scandic Europa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

The first thing that strikes you is the endless queue for check-in.The location in Nordstan is in good and bad, shopping mall with standard shops and a haunt for over-strumming young people.Hardly reason enough to choose this city hotel.Hardly reason enough to choose this city hotel.New cleaning routines are referred to as being of environmental concern, do not feel honest but more of a reason to maximize revenue.Here it is more about a night's overnight stay on a business trip, comfort and experience are left behind

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra-Europa, Kundansvarig at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you for your review and rating. I am sorry you feel this way about our new enviromental initiative.
As you say its a new routine that means, if you stay more than one night we will clean your room only if you say that you want us to, and of course it´s no extra charge.
But if you as our guest feel that it doesn't feel honest then we will have to evaluate how we communicate this, becuse our intention is good.
Thank you for giving us this feedback.

Best regards,
Sandra, Scandic Europa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EmmaA3806, Shift leader at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

I usually stay at the Scandic Rubinen ( have done for the last 15 years) but this time it was fully booked, so booked into the Scandic Europa. The staff were friendly and I was upgraded on my room (could be that they want my custom within the Scandic Group)... The breakfast was great, which I always need before an exhausting day of business. On the downside the lifts are a long way from the reception. Nevertheless, I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 539dunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaA3806, Shift leader at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hello
Thank you for your nice review, we are happy that you are inclined to visit us again, and not just Scandic Rubinen in the future. We always strive to greet our guests in a professional and friendly mannor, so we apprechiate that you took notice, and we are very proud of our breakfast too.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Emma, front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

A big, modern hotel, simple minimalistic style, big and impersonal. Although OK, they're give you the impression that it's just your money they're interested in, not you.

Although it looks quite new, broken bits and pieces in the bathroom and a wall in need of paint.

Wish also that the duvet covers would not have open corners (to make the cleaners serve more rooms, I presume). With these open corners, you sniff directly at the duvet where the previous guests sneezed during the night. At least, it feels unhealthy!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilipFrontOffice, Receptionschef at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Einarse
Thank you for your feedback and rating, it means a lot to us. If there is anything else we can do for you, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Hope to see you here again soon! Kind regards, Filip Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews