We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent some days here during easterholliday. Nice room,very Nice staff and great location. One step out the door and you are in Nordstad mall. Here u can find anything u wanna shop.
Only thing i missed in the room was either a coffee maker or a waterheater coz u have to buy yr coffee in the reception if u want a coffe during the day.
Very Nice breakfastbufet that had a lot of cold and warm options

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello AnjaHelene

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Europa and the we met your expectations. I hope that you are planning to return within the coming months to experience the new Scandic Europa, the entire renovation is finished in October, however, there's plenty of exciting things happening before then.

I wish you a great 17th of May and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Great location opposite Central Station & adjacent to a Mall with stores & fast food places but easy to get further afield. Clean on arrival but housekeeping very lax. No vacuuming or clean mugs for our entire 3 night say. The only service was emptying bin & clean towels.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lellycancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Lellycancan

Thank you very much for the time taken to review your stay at Scandic Europa. I am pleased that you find the location ideal, however it is apparent that we have failed in delivering an adequate service in regards to the cleaning of your room during your stay. I will look into this matter and discuss with my colleagues. I hope that you will be able to return to Scandic Europa in the near future so you may experience our new restaurant, bar and lobby.

Kind regards

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is on good Location. Thay have category 4* but this hotel is Just good 3* hotel. Thay dont have bar, thay dont have mini bar In the room. I Travel a lot but this is first time that i dont have towel to put on the floor In bathroom. This is my first and the last time In this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank TOMISLAV F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Tomislav

Thank you very much for your time taken to revert to us with feedback regarding your last stay with us. It is apparent that have failed to meet your expectations which is highly unfortunate.

We will bring your valuable comments with us as areas of improvement and hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa in the near future so you may experience our new bar and restaurant that will open during early autumn 2014.

Kind regards

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you want to be close to the mall and dont need public transportation to go to main restaurants, this is a good option.
The lobby and restaurant needs some updates, since it is quite old. SOme of the rooms (I dont know if all) had been improved/renewed.
Breakfast with many options

Room Tip: Wnat a good view, ask for a room in front of Cental Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eromir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about Scandic Europa.

With regards to the restaurant and lobby area I am pleased to inform that we will unveil the new Scandic Europa shortly that will most definetely contribute to a very positive impresison once you return.

I hope that you have continued faith in our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you back shortly so you may experience our great hotel.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked this hotel for a 1 night stay in Gothenburg on Expedia, based on the hotel and flights being £150 (my budget), the reviews were all ok for it, but based on it being at the lower end of the price range I did not really have very high expectations.
It was opposite the train terminal (which I did know), so it is in an ideal location, also is attached to the shopping centre. Lovely fresh clean room, comfy bed, tea and coffee making and a view of the city. Really nice breakfast.
My only slightly negative comment was that the pool and sauna was due to close at 10pm on a Saturday, I got ready and went down at 9pm to find it shut. Not a massive problem really.
So all in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review of Scandic Europa.

It is always a pleasure to receive encouraging feedback which we proudly take with us for the future. I am sure that you will be even more positively surprised when you return and experience the new and refurbished Scandic Europa.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice hotel with a good location close to the central train station and inside the heart of Gothenburg. I hotel is being renovated in parts although this did not really cause an issue and I feel the hotel looked after the guests well during this time. The room was a good size with everything you need. I felt the room and the corridor to the room to be dirty, I noticed a French fry under the lounge from the previous guest and it remained there for the duration of my stay which was 3 days even though the room was "apparently" cleaned daily, the corridor leading from the lift to the room was also very dirty and it looked like it had not been cleaned during my entire stay. Generally a good hotel although Management need to work with the house keeping team to increase the standards. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and time taken to highlight some obvious mistakes on our part.
It is unfortunate to read that we have been lacking in attention with regards to the cleanliness. However, i am pleased to also learn that you found the hotel pleasant from other perspectives. Nevertheless, we have adressed the issues and are following up with our routines and i am certain that we will be able to avoid similar embarrasing flaws in the future.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back within the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Strange room cleaning. Glasses not change, tower not well put on the support again, bed badly redo. I have alerted the reception but they explain it was the new standard. Never see that in an hotel.
The good point is that the Quality responsible has wrote me and will discuss with the direction about this new standard.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank laurentnathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for highlighting the issues during your last stay with us.

It appears as if we have faulted in our communication regarding the cleaning standards, kindly rest assured that our procedures are according to Scandic policies. I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and i hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa within the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $134 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing