We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Benefits from its central location, however the central location is not the best. Sorting out the surrounding just in front of the hotel would make you feel more comfortable coming and going.
It also seems Scandic Europa was caught asleep still using traditional TV-sets - come on. Flooring in the breakfast area needs doing.
Ok for just staying but do not count on anything special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Excavator01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    565
    304
    101
    44
See reviews for
365
287
47
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed on points for one night. Arrived on late train from Oslo. Perfect location, just across from Central Station. Nice, typical Scandic room. Good Swedish breakfast (less lavish than at Norwegian Scandics, but fully acceptable). Short walk to down town and attractions. Well-nigh impossible to drive to by car when we picked up a car the next day. The free short term parking spots in front of the hotel were blocked by shoppers from the integrated huge mall, so we had to risk a fine just to pick up our luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treemonisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Scandic Europa right next to the Nordstan shopping mall is a pretty ordinary Scandic hotel. It can be a bit tricky to get there by car. There is nowhere to park near the hotel lobby, but there are room for a handful of cars as long as they don't stay there for long.
Rooms are clean, but a bit boring. I was a bit surprised to find an old CRT TV in my room. Also, by room (435) smelled of old cigarette smoke even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. There's a bar next to the lobby and a Pizza Hut in the basement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

First impressions are critical. Our taxi turned down a narrow street that was a dead end and had it been at night I would have been a little concerned to get out. Once in the lobby I felt a little more at ease and the check in process went pretty well with three people working the front desk. Took the elevator up to our room (a standard) which was quite small with a small desk, very small basic no frills bathroom. The bed wasn't the best but not the worst either. There was no place to put our suitcases so we had to set them on the window sill and in the only chair in the room. The breakfast was served in a large nice open room with lots of choices to choose from, no complaints there. We spent two nights and felt relieved to be checking out and moving on. I understand they are in the process of redecorating the rooms (good).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TravelingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My stay there did not start well as I had to wait in the hotel lobby for more than 15 minutes before the staff even started to notice I was waiting to check in. Afterwards when the staff did not even apologise which I found even more rude.
Then my bathroom was dirty and broken! The tap of the sink was broken, which is not practical at all! I told the staff but no one seemed to care...
For the same price I would recommend staying somewhere else (like the Clarion Post which is across the square).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamCandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Located as a part of a shopping mall close to the central station the outdoor facilities do not make you think, this is the place to stay. The entrance was like in a back yard. The check in went smooth but with no extra information and welcoming.

The room though were a pleasant experience. Got a good feeling at once and I really liked how they had done the interior. Quite cozy and at the same time very practical with a large desk and places around the bed making it very comfortable to sit in the bed and do some working on the laptop. The bathroom seemed as new.

The breakfast room/restaurant was nice, easy to find a table in different parts of the restaurant. The choice of food was good.

I did not use it but according to the hotel information, you have access to pool and gym.

Would recommend the hotel : Yes.

Room Tip: I was very satisfied with room 856.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyon2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, nc
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I traveled to Gothenburg for a two-week business trip in February 2013. Many of my co-workers travel to the city for travel, and I had a good bit of advice. I stayed at the Scandic Europa.

Service: Contrary to other reviews, I found the service to be excellent. Perhaps the other reviewer caught the staff on a bad day or there was a training issue, but in my two weeks, the staff was efficient, friendly, and eager to answer questions and provide any needed service.

Room: I had a standard king room. It was clean, and modern. There is not much decoration or personality, just clean Scandinavian design.

The room was rather small, with very little room for baggage (mine ended up on the floor). There is a narrow closet for hanging clothes. This worked for me alone, but would not if I were traveling with my wife and/or children.

Floors are wooden, and nice. I was a bit cold and found that the thermostat does not do make the room warmer. The work desk is rather small, and an old-style television took most of the desk. Signs indicate that these will be replaced by flat-screens on the wall by spring 2013, which will help quite a bit.

As has been indicated, the shower is not fully enclosed, leading to water running on the bathroom floor. Not a problem since it is cleaned, but be careful that you don't slip and fall. This seems like something that should be fixed.

Beds are European-style (a king is two doubles pushed together), but soft enough and comfortable for single travelers. There is a small chair an ottoman in the room. It is not a terribly comfortable room to lounge in, but okay. This is not a good place for a romantic weekend (unless you upgrade), but for a business traveler alone, it is enough.

Breakfast: The breakfast buffet is crowded, but that is because it is very good and no one would miss it. Again, the problem is space. When at full capacity, breakfast can be quite full, but food is kept replenished, and you will leave with a full stomach.

Lobby: The Scandic Europa does not have much in the way of meeting/lounging places besides the bar/restaurant. There are a few couches, but not the kind of social area you would get at other hotels.

Location: The location, as said before, is very convenient. It is attached to a mall with a Pharmacy, grocery, restaurants, and more. The train station and many bus stops are steps away. Many good restaurants are within a block.

Amenities: The gym is above-average with three treadmills, a cable weight machine, and dumbbells with a bench. There is also an indoor lap pool (a bit cold for me), and a spa for both men and women.

Summary: Although not a posh or romantic hotel, it provides the business traveler everything they need as a base in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.0 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Property: Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing