We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choise, but ok.”
Review of Apple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Hotel
Ranked #51 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Situated close to my customer, it served the purpose. The place could have been great, but as someone has written, its a roadside motel. lack of maintenance and a bit out of time.

But for a night sleep, it serves well. The food made me get in the car a find something else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

we just stayed at the hotel for one night. The buffet dinner is limited however of very good quality - home made food. I recommend this hotel - good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank CARTRAVELMALTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very run down, unkept building, rooms are very small and no clean, internet does not work in rooms, there is no cable tv. Hotel is surrounded by warehouses, this is more like a roadside motel than a hotel, please avoid it if you are expecting a hotel. The breakfast is terrible, the lobby is the only place where the internet works and the furniture and lighting is from the seventies. Even the sign outside the hotel is unpainted and rundown.

The reception staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maderpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Apple Hotel has something about it that doesn't try and make out it is something it isn't... The hotel is cheap and offers you a safe comfortable night stay with a basic evening meal and a ok buffet breakfast.. I have stayed here on business and on a free time stop overs... For the price I can't understand any one complaining. It is clean it is safe and it is comfortable... If you want a 5 star lux hotel, go stay there and pay an arm and a leg, but as I said value is what you get at the apple... My wife loves the 60's 70's feel of the place.....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 11 or 13 they had just but refitted..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myidea62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Everyone has their own tastes, and although the Apple was not really ours it is certainly not a terrible hotel.
My wife and I try to get to Sweden every year and we went for the Apple this year to save a bit of money - this is not exactly the way it worked out for us though. We like the city, trying the different bars and restaurants, and yes the tram stop is only 2 minutes away, but the amount we spent on trams going backwards and forwards to the hotel during the day and for our evening meal, we would have been better off spending the extra on a hotel within the city. We did however learn more about using the tram system this year. To be honest the evening 'meal' wasn't up to much and both of us were quite glad we had eaten out, which we continued to do for both nights of our 2-night stay. Breakfast was nice - especially the 'stripped from fat bacon' - but a real lack of variety.

Rooms are very basic but we found ours to be clean. Stained carpets in the hall - due to radiator problems by the looks of it - and dated design with a high degree of visual maintenance required don't help the image. It is easily fixable and this has the potential to be a great wee hotel in a quiet area!

Staff were very helpful; emailed in the morning while still in UK to ask about tram service and had a reply within the hour, and borrowed a brolly and a hair dryer with no problems.

Lots of workmen seemed to be staying at the hotel. If you're looking for a cheap hotel and not too worried about the class then fine. However if you're looking for a city break with a wee bit of finesse then go for a hotel in the city and pay the extra - especially if it's bucketing constantly!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Göteborg, Sverige
11
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Location of the hotel was ok. Close to highway, but not noisy. 5 min from center. The hotel was old, and could use a good overhaul. Basic evening-meal. Basic breakfast. Staff was ok. Cheap place to stay for a night or two, for a cheap price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stuck in the 1960s in terms of decor and possibly not cleaned since then, this hotel was the worst we've ever stayed in. The only saving graces were the free internet/computers and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank Agromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#48 of 67 in Gothenburg
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
58 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
667 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villan, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hotel

Address: 6 Torpavallsgatan, Gothenburg 416 73, Sweden (Formerly Apple Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $105 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hotel is a three star hotel close to the city of Göteborg! You get away from the city stress, but can still easily reach the city centre with the tram, which stops 200 meters from the hotel, in only ten minutes!Here you stay in single, double, twin, triple or family rooms, all equiped with TV, desk and own bathroom, and you wake up to a large breakfast buffet. All rooms are located towards the calm garden, which keeps the trafic noice away. There is a free evening buffet for all guests, a gym, sauna and outside pool for the warm summer days in the garden!Stay comfortably in Göteborg to a good price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hotel And Conference Centre
Apple Hotel Gothenburg
Apple Hotel Konferens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing