We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good utilitarian facility”
Review of Apple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apple Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Apple Hotel is a somewhat tired, but certainly very functional facility located in a suburb of Goteborg. All in all a good value with comfortable beds and a welcoming staff who made our 6 day stay as comfortable as possible. The included breakfast and supper-snack was quite good and the included wireless internet and free parking was a welcome plus. We also took opportunity to enjoy the sauna which was also included.

Certainly NOT a "high-end" hotel, but very adequate for our needs. We would stay there again. There are ongoing renovations which should upgrade the facility markedly. We were in a pre-renovation room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 202 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

I was shocked by the site of the hotel from the road as it looked seedy but after we went to our room I could see that it had been modernised . The bathroom doesn't have the pipes chased into the wall the TV isn't the latest but that doesn't bother me . However I did want to use the hairdryer and there is no electric point in the bathroom or near the mirror so I couldn't see to dry my hair. The complimentary meal is basic and as a vegetarian I was offerred the cheese used for breafast to go with the salad.Fellow guests seem to be construction workkers or reps and it gave the feel of a motel especially as they were drinking and smoking outside wedging the fire door open allowing the smoke to drift into the hotel . Although the tram station is close by and runs frequently I wouldn't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This hotel is a hidden gem in Gothenburg. Especially good was the evening meal buffet included in the price - basic food but it saved a fortune in restaurant bills. The hotel is 8 tram stops out from the centre of town but the service is frequent and this never proved a problem.

We found the staff courteous & efficient. The refurbishment work is still a work in progress but the room was clean and comfortable. It was great to be able to borrow a DVD from reception one evening as well. With a large strong beer costing 49 Kr a drink wasnt too expensive (for Sweden) either. I have no hesitation in recommending Apple.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

If you are looking for somewhere cheap and within reasonable distance of the city centre (around 20 minutes by regular tram), this is a good option. Rooms are a bit spartan, but have all essentials, incuding bed, desk, TV, shower & WC. Breakfast buffet is fine - cereals, eggs, sausages, bread, cold meats and cheeses, tea/coffee, juices etc - and the included buffet dinner (typically a hot dish and salad) is an added bonus if you are watching the kroner.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Inzaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I was slightly worried prior to our visit, however there was no need. Yes, the place could do with a lick of paint and a bit of modernisation, however they are in the process of doing that by the looks of things. Rooms were small, however, we didn't come to Gothenburg to sit in our rooms! In fact we spent quite a bit of time in the reception which was great as there were 6 of us and there were some very comfy seats with TV which we could change over when we wanted. Shower looked quite dodgy, however it was actually very good. Sheets were clean. Breakfast and light evening meal were included and I REALLY didn't expect much, however yet again I was pleasently surprised! Breakfast was very adequate. Breads, rolls, ham, cheese, sausage, meatballs, eggs, fruit juice etc etc. Evening meal consisted of potatoes (which were yummy) and a chilli thing plus other options. More that enough to fill us. I was really going to just eat out and spend probably 60 quid but now so glad I didn't. Hot drinks available at all times too. Small bar area, but it sold what we needed. Staff very nice. Slightly out of town, but a decent tram service available. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Must admit to having some trepidation having read the reviews on here but was very pleasantly surprised. The whole place is currently undergoing a refurbishment through the winter season though the only effect this had on the stay was that the air-conditioning was out for three of the five nights with no explanation or warning.
Location wise bit of a pest to find as it is near the end of the tramline, about 15 minutes from Central Gothenburg, though the walk is not too bad. Seems to be a bit thin on car parking though. Staff friendly with excellent English, which seems to be the norm in this beautiful city.
Check in before 9.00 pm and you get a nice filling buffet supper (Soup, Salad, a main with potatoes or rice) which is included in the room rate. Decent breakfast too, if a little lacking in imagination!
Single room was not too tight and everything seemed to work though the lighting can be dim in parts of the room.
Bathroom no complaints, shower worked fine, water warmed up quickly.
Cleaning a bit erratic, towels not always changed, perhaps it is an environmental thing?
Weighting up everything I would recommend the Apple to someone on a budget who wants to avoid cramming into a hostel, this place could quite easily be renamed a Cubby Hole-tel, pint-sized but pocket-priced. Can also be a great stop off point for anyone touring by car, having the tram handy avoids the exorbitant parking charges that Gothenburg is infamous for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

To be fair, this hotel has its good points and its bad. The room we stayed in was clean, which is the main thing I want from a hotel. The staff are all very friendly and co-operative and the free breakfast is excellent with fresh bread, toast, meat, cereal etc. I get the impression that it was once a high quality establishment, but it is now very run down. The rooms are small and we experienced various issues with ours, no phone (which was mainly problematic as we wanted wake up calls rather than needing a phone to use), the shower head was broken and the cleaners failed to replenish the toilet paper. These issues were addressed by the staff, but very slowly! If I were to compare the price of this hotel to an American or British hotel I'd say it's overpriced, but everything in Sweden is so over-priced that by comparison to other Swedish hotels the rate is very reasonable. They also provide an evening meal but I couldn't even work out what it was! The location is good because the tram stop is just across the road and you can get a tram into the city centre every 10 minutes or so. Overall, I would recommend this hotel because of its rate, location and the friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#23 of 65 in Gothenburg
674 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#29 of 65 in Gothenburg
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#39 of 65 in Gothenburg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#46 of 65 in Gothenburg
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tidbloms Hotel
Best Western Tidbloms Hotel
#44 of 65 in Gothenburg
188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hotel

Address: 6 Torpavallsgatan, Gothenburg 416 73, Sweden (Formerly Apple Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $105 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hotel is a three star hotel close to the city of Göteborg! You get away from the city stress, but can still easily reach the city centre with the tram, which stops 200 meters from the hotel, in only ten minutes!Here you stay in single, double, twin, triple or family rooms, all equiped with TV, desk and own bathroom, and you wake up to a large breakfast buffet. All rooms are located towards the calm garden, which keeps the trafic noice away. There is a free evening buffet for all guests, a gym, sauna and outside pool for the warm summer days in the garden!Stay comfortably in Göteborg to a good price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hotel And Conference Centre
Apple Hotel Gothenburg
Apple Hotel Konferens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing