We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

City Museum (Goteborgs Stadsmuseum)
Ranked #13 of 118 things to do in Gothenburg
Attraction details
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Somewhat interesting but also disappointing at the same time. Viking "ship" is really just a few bits of wood. Very little information on Viking history or lifestyle. What there is rather disjointed. Other displays unremarkable but dated.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tui900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    111
    50
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I think this museum is as common as others but here you can have a look to the history of Gothenburg.

Helpful?
Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, simple introduction to the city”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you have some time in your hands, this is definitely a good place to go to in Gothenburg. For just 40SEK, you have access to an interesting exhibit about the history of the city, from pre-historic times to the modern day. This is a large, very complete museum in which you could spend up to a couple of hours in before getting bored. As a side note, it may be better to visit the City Museum after you have become acquainted with the city, since you will then know some of the areas and stories that the exhibit refers to at some points.

The staff at the City Museum - particularly the man at reception - was outstandingly helpful when I went there, which brought a smile to my face in an otherwise cold society like this. The descriptions of several pre-historic and Viking-era pieces often ended with a question. I felt that this was a good way of not sounding overly savvy, and instead admitting that, when dealing with items from so long ago, it might be hard to determine what they were used to. On the other hand, some parts of the museum -particularly the area dealing with the Middle Ages - lacked descriptions in English, and this can make non-Swedish speakers rather confused.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Gothenburg in a nutshell”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Paid 40Kr per person to get in, which is a bargain.
Wasn't so much impressed by the Viking exhibit as I've seen better in Norway, and was more happy with their other exhibits showcasing the history of the area and of Swedish culture.

Incidentally, the ticket you pay to get into this also covers 4 other locations around the city, so you are actually getting a better bargain if museums are your thing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vwh187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Worth the Time to Visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I were in Göteborg for the Easter weekend and thought we would be left with nothing to do, but fortunately, several museums were open, much to our delight!
The City Museum is a clean and modern museum in a beautiful old building. One of the delightful things about this museum is that all displays are in Swedish and English, so we were not left to just "look and go." We learned a lot about the city of Göteborg's history, and in doing so, were able to piece together some other history we had learned from a trip to India. This building facing the canal was originally owned by the Swedish East India Trading Company.
The city has done a good job of laying out the displays by time periods and displaying artifacts pictures or drawings that relate well to each period.
We purchased two tickets at the Natural History Museum for 40 crowns each (about $7), and they allowed us entrance into five museums, including the City Museum. Additionally, we have until the end of the year to use our tickets!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Museum (Goteborgs Stadsmuseum) also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to City Museum (Goteborgs Stadsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing