We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, friendly and helpful staff........”
Review of Hotel Lorensberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lorensberg
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at this hotel early September 2010 for a conference at the Svenska Massan, which is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is at the best possible location in Gothenburg, not smack in the city center (Avenyn, to be exact), but hidden just outside it... so in a short walk, you can get to the conference venue as well as the Avenyn. This way, you can avoid the hustle and bustle of the city center, especially the drunken clubbers in the middle of a Saturday night.
The breakfast is continental, (high fibre, I suppose) and excellent! The presentation was good and adequate top-ups available at all times. The breakfast starts at 6.30 am, but I need to make a special mention on Johann, who went out of his way to get us an early breakfast at 6.00 am, so that we could catch an early train. There is cake and coffee at all times at the lobby, and we found that to be a good change from the usual coffee-in-your-room-hotel. After a long day out, it was nice to come back and have a leisurely coffee or ice water free-flow at the lobby with some cake. (Believe me, you would rather have the water at the hotel and fill up a container full of it when you go out, as mineral water -small bottle costs a whopping 20SEK in Sweden.... I think it is atrocious!)
The hotel also provides laundry Mon-Fri, but it is not free. Again, a special mention needs to be made of a particular staff, Johanna, who allowed us to use the tumble dryer ourselves on a Saturday with supervision by herself.
The rooms were ok sized, and the bathroom was good. The flooring was wooden and there were enough hangers for all our clothing, as well as a TV with about 20 channels, mostly in English.
Internet- free wi-fi, but need to renew password every 6 hours, I think since it was free, that is acceptable.
The extensive tram system in Gothenburg is worthy of mention. I have traveled to many large cities in the world, but I think the tram services in this city is one of the best and most user friendly I have encountered. The hotel is easily accessible through the trams at three corners of the hotel. There is an abundance of restaurants around the vicinity, but be warned, they are expensive (as are most restaurants in Gothenburg)
All in all, a very nice stay indeed. Highly recommended to anyone who likes a simple city hotel and not extreme luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widespreadvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lorensberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a group for a conference - and it was just like coming home every night - but even better because I didn't have to cook or clean! Every single staffmember went above and beyond to make my stay in Gothenburg the best it could be. From recommending great restaurants, changing the towels, to serving coffee and treats every afternoon in the hotel lobby, the service was fabulous! The location was perfect, close enough to the convention center that I could swing by to drop shopping off or grab a sweater throughout the day. The only downside for someone may be if they are expecting a hotel room the size of American hotel rooms. These are smaller, but I never felt cramped for space. The historic charm and great continental breakfast were icing on the cake - I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellKitty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Maybe not one of the classiest hotels there, but moderately priced. The room was a tad small, but nice.

The location is great for Gothenburg, just a few minutes to walk from the city centre. There are also some nice restaurants nearby, in case you need that. Staff was friendly, the breakfast good average.

There was free wireless internet (you will need a new code each six hours, but they'll give you as many codes as you like), and they also have a nice "sitting" area where you'll get some free coffee and fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My colleague and i travelled to gothenburg for a conference, this hotel is very near to the conference centre only 5 minutes walk.Rooms average size but very clean and beds very comfortable, very quiet no noise at night at all.The breakfast was good with usual range of cereals, continental breakfast etc. They also provided a gluten free breakfast which was pre ordered at time of booking. Staff were very friendly and helpful, tea and coffee and cake free in the lobby. would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moore_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The room was small and basic but clean and the beds where comfy. There was no tea or coffee in the room but free fruit, cake and drinks in the hotel reception, which had comfy seats, tables and books for guests. The staff where friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. The location was very central, only a few minutes away from the convention centre and the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rvkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

In conference for a week in Goteborg, I decided to bring over the family (wife and kids of 3 and 12). I booked a "family room". It turned out to be an average size bedroom containing a king-size bed, a supplementary one-person bed, and a microscopic cot. The room was actually the weakest point of the stay. There are *no* wardrobe or cupboard, and we were forced to deal with on week's clothing by maintaining functional luggages! The bathroom did not contain a bath, but only a shower. Forget about the nice shampoo and other toiletries. Definitively not a 3* on that front.

However, not everything was negative. The hotel has really a familial atmosphere. Every day, the room was replenished with complementary mineral water, coke and a chocolate bar. At any time, one can fetch from the lobby coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruits, and (delicious) homemade cakes. The breakfast is very diverse and available in nice rooms.

A last annoyance was the free wireless. Only available for 6 hours at a time, and one has to get a new ID on a regular basis.

Altogether, it was a mild experience. Startled at first, we ended up appreciating the positive sides. But if you are looking for state of the art, international-grade hotel rooms, do not go to the Lorensberg Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Lorensberg while attending a conference. The hotel is right between the convention center and the "Avenyn" so it is a great location. Both places are just 2-3 short blocks away. The neighborhood is quiet and the breakfast plentiful. I appreciated the tea, coffee and afternoon treats in the lobby.

We stayed in room 501, which was on the top floor and quite spacious. According to the floor plan, it looked like we had one of the biggest rooms. The single rooms looked quite small and were confirmed by other guests as being rather tight on space, so if space is a big deal and you are not sharing a room, consider requesting a double. The amenities are basic but very clean; the hotel does sell toiletries like toothbrushes and toothpaste downstairs (along with sandwiches and snacks), in case you forget them.

There is a free computer in the lobby, along with for-fee wireless access in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reluctantflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#51 of 67 in Gothenburg
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#42 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Panorama
Quality Hotel Panorama
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lorensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lorensberg

Address: 15 Berzeliigatan, Gothenburg 412 53, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $117 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lorensberg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lorensberg is located in the middle of Gothenburg's cultural and entertainment centre. A large part of central Gothenburg is within walking distance from the hotel. As a family owned hotel we have made a point of having a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere combined with friendly and accommodating personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lorensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorensberg Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing