We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but basic”
Review of Hotel Lorensberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lorensberg
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed May 25, 2011

On the positive side centrally located and a block and half from convention centre. Also friendly reception staff all of whom speak English. The breakfast is very reasonable and a good variety of dishes.

The negatives - the room as a single was extremely small. Bathroom tiny with no bath or formal shower cubicle. The tv failed to work throughout my stay. Also faced onto the main road which was incredibly noisy on a saturday night due to two bars opposite. The curtains also did not shut completely.
If you're looking for a relatively close 2/3 star hotel ( definitely not 4 star as the hotel claims) near conference for business then consider.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyMagicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Lorensberg last week while attending a conference at the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre. It was one of the least expensive options but I'm sure it was nicer than many of the pricier hotels. I reserved a double room after reading that some of the singles were pretty small. My room had plenty of space and included a double bed, a desk, a table and chair, an ample closet, and a bathroom. It was spotless and had up-to-date furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. The TV has several English language channels -- I found some BBC shows as well as some current American shows.

The hotel has a very cheery feel with pictures of flowers painted on the walls in the hallway. The breakfast was quite good and had a variety of items to suit different tastes. I loved having cakes/cookies and coffee available in the lobby -- fruit too! The hotel staff were quite friendly, and there was free wi-fi. (They recently changed the system so that access now lasts for 24 hours and after that you just have to click to renew.)

The hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk to the Congress Center. It's also just a block and a half away from the "Avenyn" -- Gothenburg's main shopping/dining street. Nearby are several good restaurants and a couple of grocery stores. Just a few doors away is a very nice chocolate shop (Berzelii Chocolates) for your chocolate fix or for gifts. And the airport bus stop is also just 5-10 minutes away, outside the Congress Center -- I definitely recommend the bus for getting to and from the airport.

I would happily stay at this hotel if I ever find myself in Gothenburg again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at this hotel early September 2010 for a conference at the Svenska Massan, which is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is at the best possible location in Gothenburg, not smack in the city center (Avenyn, to be exact), but hidden just outside it... so in a short walk, you can get to the conference venue as well as the Avenyn. This way, you can avoid the hustle and bustle of the city center, especially the drunken clubbers in the middle of a Saturday night.
The breakfast is continental, (high fibre, I suppose) and excellent! The presentation was good and adequate top-ups available at all times. The breakfast starts at 6.30 am, but I need to make a special mention on Johann, who went out of his way to get us an early breakfast at 6.00 am, so that we could catch an early train. There is cake and coffee at all times at the lobby, and we found that to be a good change from the usual coffee-in-your-room-hotel. After a long day out, it was nice to come back and have a leisurely coffee or ice water free-flow at the lobby with some cake. (Believe me, you would rather have the water at the hotel and fill up a container full of it when you go out, as mineral water -small bottle costs a whopping 20SEK in Sweden.... I think it is atrocious!)
The hotel also provides laundry Mon-Fri, but it is not free. Again, a special mention needs to be made of a particular staff, Johanna, who allowed us to use the tumble dryer ourselves on a Saturday with supervision by herself.
The rooms were ok sized, and the bathroom was good. The flooring was wooden and there were enough hangers for all our clothing, as well as a TV with about 20 channels, mostly in English.
Internet- free wi-fi, but need to renew password every 6 hours, I think since it was free, that is acceptable.
The extensive tram system in Gothenburg is worthy of mention. I have traveled to many large cities in the world, but I think the tram services in this city is one of the best and most user friendly I have encountered. The hotel is easily accessible through the trams at three corners of the hotel. There is an abundance of restaurants around the vicinity, but be warned, they are expensive (as are most restaurants in Gothenburg)
All in all, a very nice stay indeed. Highly recommended to anyone who likes a simple city hotel and not extreme luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widespreadvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a group for a conference - and it was just like coming home every night - but even better because I didn't have to cook or clean! Every single staffmember went above and beyond to make my stay in Gothenburg the best it could be. From recommending great restaurants, changing the towels, to serving coffee and treats every afternoon in the hotel lobby, the service was fabulous! The location was perfect, close enough to the convention center that I could swing by to drop shopping off or grab a sweater throughout the day. The only downside for someone may be if they are expecting a hotel room the size of American hotel rooms. These are smaller, but I never felt cramped for space. The historic charm and great continental breakfast were icing on the cake - I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellKitty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Maybe not one of the classiest hotels there, but moderately priced. The room was a tad small, but nice.

The location is great for Gothenburg, just a few minutes to walk from the city centre. There are also some nice restaurants nearby, in case you need that. Staff was friendly, the breakfast good average.

There was free wireless internet (you will need a new code each six hours, but they'll give you as many codes as you like), and they also have a nice "sitting" area where you'll get some free coffee and fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My colleague and i travelled to gothenburg for a conference, this hotel is very near to the conference centre only 5 minutes walk.Rooms average size but very clean and beds very comfortable, very quiet no noise at night at all.The breakfast was good with usual range of cereals, continental breakfast etc. They also provided a gluten free breakfast which was pre ordered at time of booking. Staff were very friendly and helpful, tea and coffee and cake free in the lobby. would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moore_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The room was small and basic but clean and the beds where comfy. There was no tea or coffee in the room but free fruit, cake and drinks in the hotel reception, which had comfy seats, tables and books for guests. The staff where friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. The location was very central, only a few minutes away from the convention centre and the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rvkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lorensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lorensberg

Address: Berzeliigatan 15, Gothenburg 412 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $111 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lorensberg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lorensberg is located in the middle of Gothenburg's cultural and entertainment centre. A large part of central Gothenburg is within walking distance from the hotel. As a family owned hotel we have made a point of having a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere combined with friendly and accommodating personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lorensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorensberg Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing